Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-05, 09:24 AM   #1
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default dualhead settings fedora core 3

hi, i have a whole load of problems that i've been struggling with, and can't find the answers directly, so i thought i'd lump them all into one post.
first off, my system details:
Fedora core 3 2.6.10-1.770_FC3, freshly installed and updated
I have a Quadro4 750 XGL with nvidia driver 7167
Attached is an SGI 1600SW LCD to the digital out socket, and a standard Dell CRT on the analogue.
Now the problems.
After a lot of messing around, I have been able to get the two monitors to display an image, and have the desktop split across the two.
But:
1. the resolution of the SGI is wrong, nothing I've tried lets me set the correct resolution (1600x1024). I have tried to use the display applet in the systems menu to set it to the listed SGI/1600SW monitor, but the screen goes into a loop on shutdown, and then a hard reset causes it to revert to a crt monitor.
2. The SGI is positioned to the left of the CRT, but linux acts like it's the other way round; i haven't found a way to change it
3. The SGI display seems very bright. I can change this from the nvidia control panel, but I'm somewhat suspicious as to why this might be.

I'm sure these are all connected, and everything I've read so far points to the xorg.conf file, which i've pasted below.
Any help would be appreciated.

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "Multihead layout"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
	Screen      1  "Screen1" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
	Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
	Option	    "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the 
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
	ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/nvidia"
	ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Monitor 1024x768"
	HorizSync    31.5 - 57.0
	VertRefresh  50.0 - 70.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor1"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "LCD Panel 1024x768"
	HorizSync    31.5 - 48.5
	VertRefresh  40.0 - 70.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA Quadro 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard1"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard Vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA Quadro 4 (generic)"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1600x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen1"
	Device     "Videocard1"
	Monitor    "Monitor1"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1024x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 10:10 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxxx
1. the resolution of the SGI is wrong, nothing I've tried lets me set the correct resolution (1600x1024). I have tried to use the display applet in the systems menu to set it to the listed SGI/1600SW monitor, but the screen goes into a loop on shutdown, and then a hard reset causes it to revert to a crt monitor.
sound like you "must" use a custom modeline... so add this little piece of "code" into "Section" "Monitor" of your SGI...
Code:
  
# 1600x1024 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 63.60 kHz; pclk: 136.36 MHz
  Modeline "1600x1024"  136.36  1600 1704 1872 2144  1024 1025 1028 1060 -HSync +Vsync
and don't forget to change HorizSync to something like 31.5 - 65.0...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxxx
2. The SGI is positioned to the left of the CRT, but linux acts like it's the other way round; i haven't found a way to change it
this should "theoretically" work(couldn't test it... my old monitor died)

Code:
	Screen      0  "Screen0"
	Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 11:11 AM   #3
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

okay, did all that.
the sgi now appears to the left of the crt which is good.
However, i still cannot get the sgi to go into 1600x1024

follows is my updated xorg.conf, in case that provides any clues

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "Multihead layout"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
	Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
	Option	    "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the 
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
	ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/nvidia"
	ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "SGI LCD (probably)"
	HorizSync    31.5 - 65.0
	VertRefresh  50.0 - 70.0
	ModeLine     "1600x1024" 136.4 1600 1704 1872 2144 1024 1025 1028 1060 -hsync +vsync
	Option	    "dpms"
# 1600x1024 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 63.60 kHz; pclk: 136.36 MHz
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor1"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Dell CRT (probably)"
	HorizSync    31.5 - 48.5
	VertRefresh  40.0 - 70.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA Quadro 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard1"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard Vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA Quadro 4 (generic)"
	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1600x1024" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen1"
	Device     "Videocard1"
	Monitor    "Monitor1"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 11:15 AM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

hmm, can you please post your xorg.log (should be in /var/log).
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 11:42 AM   #5
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

attached
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (33.4 KB, 169 views)
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 12:10 PM   #6
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

Just a question... do you exactly know what resolution your SGI now have?
(Since it could be that your monitor settings got mixed up...
and we currently try to get your DELL run @ 1600x1024)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 12:41 PM   #7
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

yes, both monitors are showing up as 1024x768, regardless of what i set them to -- it's almost as though it won't let me set different resolutions for each monitor. but i don't think that can be the case?
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 01:01 PM   #8
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

as another thought, how can i set it up so that i get picture on the SGI only? Though that still doesn't solve the problem, it's better than nothing. The only problem is, i want to avoid disconnecting the dell, because I have a dual boot with windows, which uses both monitors without problems.
at the moment, if i turn off dualhead in the monitor settings, i get picture on the dell only. that's not altogether helpful, as the picture quality (and the resolution) on the dell is not very good-- i normally use the sgi for image editing and the dell for emails etc.
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-05, 01:14 PM   #9
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxxx
yes, both monitors are showing up as 1024x768, regardless of what i set them to -- it's almost as though it won't let me set different resolutions for each monitor. but i don't think that can be the case?
Hmm, two questions:
Do you have the specs of your CRT?
(I only need the Horizontal & Vertical Frequencies)
(Or what "modell" is it)

second:
Do you really need a desktop on each monitor... ?

Last edited by chunkey; 04-06-05 at 01:36 PM.
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-05, 01:24 PM   #10
jaxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: dualhead settings fedora core 3

CRT: Dell E770p
LCD: SGI 1600SW

And if I understand your second question correctly, a virtual desktop is no good because I need to work with images. I'm happy to disable the dell if need be (and if possible), but I don't want to have to unplug it from the system
jaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.