Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-05, 07:45 AM   #25
hamsta
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilboa
Smells like a GPU BIOS - GPU - driver problem to me.
Can it be a power related bug? I have changed the powercable leading to the card and now, the pc is not freezing any longer, but rebooting. Maybe, the switching process consumes to much power for a piece of a second and that's why it sometimes works and sometimes not.

My power supply is at 350W, has anybody with the problem here a much bigger/stronger one?



Cu,

Jens
hamsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 08:14 AM   #26
gilboa
Linux addict...
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 540
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Post your complete hardware listing... it may be a PSU (power supply unit) problem in your case.
My case is different... the machine has a 450w PSU... should be enough. (Even though it's a dual CPU machine.)
__________________
DEV-NG: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711.
DEV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 5x320GB, GTX550, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711 (^).
SRV: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 4x2TB, 9800GTX, F19/x86-64, Dell U2412.
LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F19/x86_64.
gilboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 08:21 AM   #27
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Post Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamsta
My power supply is at 350W, has anybody with the problem here a much bigger/stronger one?
Mine's a 535W Enermax

I'm running it with a uni-processor A64, uni-GPU setup. I doubt it's a PSU issue.

Angshuman
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 10:41 AM   #28
hamsta
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilboa
Post your complete hardware listing... it may be a PSU (power supply unit) problem in your case.
My case is different... the machine has a 450w PSU... should be enough. (Even though it's a dual CPU machine.)
My 350W PSU should be enough, too, as there is nothing special in my pc, that would consume much power. Anyway, it is rebooting and not freezing now... Well, at least I have not to use the reset switch any longer for booting up :-)



CU,

Jens
hamsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 11:38 AM   #29
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

the card must be attached to a unused cable ... don't attach disks etc on the same cable as your graphics card.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 12:15 PM   #30
gilboa
Linux addict...
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 540
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
the card must be attached to a unused cable ... don't attach disks etc on the same cable as your graphics card.

My 5900 was connected to the same cable (using the same CPU)
I assume that the 5900's power usage is higher then the 6600, right?
__________________
DEV-NG: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711.
DEV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 5x320GB, GTX550, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711 (^).
SRV: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 4x2TB, 9800GTX, F19/x86-64, Dell U2412.
LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F19/x86_64.
gilboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 12:52 PM   #31
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

yes...
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 01:27 PM   #32
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran
the card must be attached to a unused cable ... don't attach disks etc on the same cable as your graphics card.
My PCIe card doesn't even have a cable plug... I guess it's able to draw enough power from the bus... or it thinks it does.

Angshuman
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-05, 09:51 PM   #33
StevenCVAL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamsta
Can it be a power related bug?
I don't think so. because My system is No problem with windows.
I'm using win/linux at the same system. but problem occuars ONLY in linux.

and.. I think 7174Ver. crash much more than 7167Ver.
7167 crashes about 40~50% times, 7174 is 70~80% at my system.
so... I can't use computer. It's Booting all of time..
__________________
... Call me Steven.
StevenCVAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-05, 08:39 AM   #34
rfboehme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

I'm using:
- DVI output to Dell 1905FP monitor
- A PCI-Express card (XFX 6200TC)
Dell Dimension 4700

I freeze when I go into games about 80% of the time (World of Warcraft on Cedega 4.3.1)
rfboehme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-05, 04:25 AM   #35
gilboa
Linux addict...
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 540
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Can you define freeze:
Can you access the machine over ssh?
__________________
DEV-NG: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711.
DEV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 5x320GB, GTX550, F19/x86_64, Dell U2711 (^).
SRV: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 4x2TB, 9800GTX, F19/x86-64, Dell U2412.
LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F19/x86_64.
gilboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-05, 06:18 PM   #36
angshuman
Pink GBA
 
angshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 207
Default Re: 6600GT, 7174, MSI Neo4SLI, 2.6.11.4-i386 Hang/Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by gilboa
Can you define freeze:
Can you access the machine over ssh?
Nope, can't ssh. It responds to a ping, though, but that could mean nothing.

Angshuman
angshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.