Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-05, 11:18 AM   #1
McCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default TV-Out switches from colour to black&white

I've got some strange behaviour. I use a Leadtek Geforce 3 Ti500. My tv is connected via a svideo -> Scart converter. I specified Composite in my XFree86 config file (when I use SVIDEO I always get black & white).

When I'm watching my tv-out, first I get a colour screen, but after a minute or so, it switches to black & white. When I switch back to my CRT monitor (I use 2 xservers to enable tv-out) and I switch back to tv-out again, tv-out is in colour again. When I then watch for another minute is switches back to black and white.

I'm using the latest nvidia drivers (I've used the original installer) on a Debian GNU/Linux system with kernel 2.6.8 (custom compiled it myself).

Does anyone know what is going on and how I can fix this ???
McCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-05, 12:29 PM   #2
brain0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: TV-Out switches from colour to black&white

Similar problem here: When I start tv with Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO" I get a black&white screen. With Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE" my tv stays blank, since nvidia >6111.

Until version 6111 (linux 2.6.8.1), I had a perfect picture on TV using "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE".

The issue is exactly the same using the newer windows drivers with WinXP SP2.

I have a noname fx5200 board with svideo output and a svideo<->scart cable.
brain0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-05, 09:48 AM   #3
exalik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Etienne / France
Posts: 10
Default Re: TV-Out switches from colour to black&white

Hello,

When i connect a svideo cable my TV picture is with colors but when i connect a svideo-composite adaptor (to use with my video transmetor) it's in black and white.

I tried to force composite in the XF86Config file but it doesn't work (no picture like this)

Here is my XF86Config file :

# File generated by XFdrake.

# ************************************************** ********************
# Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Files"
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
#DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Generic"
ModelName "1024x768 @ 70 Hz"
HorizSync 31.5-57.0
VertRefresh 50-70
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "TV"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "nVidia Corp."
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
BusID "PCI:1:00:0"
Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600;640x480,640x480 "
#;320x200,NULL"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-N"
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
#Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
#Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 1024 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Virtual 1024 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Virtual 1024 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1024 768
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "TVscreen"
Device "device1"
Monitor "TV"
DefaultDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
#"320x200"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection


I use the last driver update.


Thanks for your help


Exalik
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe / GEFORCE 6600 / 1Go DDR400 / Mandriva Linux 2006 x86 64

What about less microsoft in our world ? Better !!!
exalik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird colour effects Stefan.W NVIDIA Linux 3 11-24-02 03:56 PM
Lots of mode switches when starting X megajocke NVIDIA Linux 4 08-08-02 02:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.