Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-02, 09:17 PM   #13
gokickrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 409
Default

i dont believe the chaintechs will allow you to go over 200fsb
gokickrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 11:13 PM   #14
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
As seen on Chaintech's site:
System clock supports 200/266/333MHz
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 11:40 PM   #15
gokickrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 409
Default

again, those are marketing terms (they double the # cause of the "double data rate")...

if you look in bios it will say 100/133/166

when i say 200FSB, it equates to 400 in marketing terms

if you dont believe me, take the board you have now, go into bios, and crank it up to 266FSB...you will notice that it wont go that high, and anywhere near it will probably crash your comp

another example would be intel...they have a "quad-pumped data rate", so 533mhz is actually 133FSB, 400mhz is 100FSB, and so on...

Last edited by gokickrocks; 12-09-02 at 11:50 PM.
gokickrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 12:39 AM   #16
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

so? "200" is the maximum official FSB anyway, why would you expect to be able to go higher, especially since DDR400 still hasn't been standardized, to my knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 01:45 AM   #17
gokickrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 409
Default

for overclockers like myself that like to push the limits...200fsb aint gonna cut it...

just cause ddr has to be standardized, does not mean that the rated speed is the max it could run
gokickrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 02:35 AM   #18
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Tom's Hardware:
All of today's chipsets support both DDR266 and DDR333. DDR400 is no longer supported by the chipset manufacturers due to the lack of performance: DDR333 at CL2 is at least equally fast or even faster. nVIDIA still supports DDR400, as there are some (few!) applications that still benefit from the higher clock speed - in defiance of overhead.
Quote:
Tom's Hardware:
Last but not least, there is the "main feature" of nForce2, its dual-channel memory interface. In contrast to VIA and SiS, nVIDIA is able to bundle two DIMMs in order to double the bandwidth.

Last edited by Nephilim; 12-10-02 at 02:39 AM.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 02:51 AM   #19
anxdiety
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ontario
Posts: 116
Send a message via Yahoo to anxdiety
Default

When i first saw the chaintech board i loved the bundle that came with it. But the idea that it doesn't have a real nforce sound on it just ruins the whole package. The reason i am looking at the nforce is to replace this sblive i currently have. I figure buying new ram and motherboard and getting an better sound card in the end for free basically is completely worth it.
__________________
And all those voices in my head have every right to be there.
anxdiety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 02:55 AM   #20
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

That's why I got the Asus A7N8X deluxe instead.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-02, 03:08 AM   #21
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gokickrocks
for overclockers like myself that like to push the limits...200fsb aint gonna cut it...

just cause ddr has to be standardized, does not mean that the rated speed is the max it could run
Just found out that the Asus A7N8X will go over 200mhz FSB.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 03:28 AM   #22
gokickrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 409
Default

it goes up to 211, which is still not enough for me...plus once you hit 200fsb, they do not have 1mhz increments
gokickrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 03:37 AM   #23
Nephilim
Slacker extraordinaire
 
Nephilim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Nashvegas, TN
Posts: 502
Default

Again, to which, I say:

Quote:
Tom's Hardware:
All of today's chipsets support both DDR266 and DDR333. DDR400 is no longer supported by the chipset manufacturers due to the lack of performance: DDR333 at CL2 is at least equally fast or even faster. nVIDIA still supports DDR400, as there are some (few!) applications that still benefit from the higher clock speed - in defiance of overhead.
Nephilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 07:04 AM   #24
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

If you're going to do it, I'd get the Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 512MB (2x256) of Corsair XMS PC2700 (or 3200 for future considerations), and an Athlon XP 1600+. Then you can unlock that **** and turn down the multiplier and up the FSB, wham, performance up the arse.

Or you could even go with a cheaper board like they said, and cheaper mem.

The Asus setup would run you about $400, but if you went with an epox board and say kingmax RAM, you could cut that down to around $320.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |

Last edited by stncttr908; 12-10-02 at 07:08 AM.
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ivy Bridge worth upgrading from I7-980X EE? haloeighty8 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 07-12-12 05:42 PM
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:40 PM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM
AthlonXP 1700 to 2200: is it worth it? Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-06-02 02:45 PM
Is AGP 8x worth the wait? nvnews-reader CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-11-02 03:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.