Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-05, 03:47 PM   #13
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: CoD2 info

I'm sorry, but you're spreading complete bull****. In my current Doom 3 map, with extremely high geometry counts, I have 12+ enemies on the screen at the same time with little slowdown.

Textures have nothing to do with an engine, you can plug in any textures you'd like.

Models are also an art thing...you can put any models you want.

I think the Doom 3 Engine would have been a good choice...I mean look at the jaggies on the shadowmaps! Stencils are still the better choice until NV40+ hardware is mainstream.
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-05, 03:59 PM   #14
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: CoD2 info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagrant Zero
Meh, they should have used the D3 engine.

An thats its awesome , that it looks so good without using the D3 engine. As a matter of fact if it were the Doom3 engine people will complain even more about the pitch black shadows everywhere and plastic look of many things. Those things can be hidden easily in the dark corridors of the doom world ,but in outdoors illuminated areas it not that simple.

THere is also complains about the "low resolution textures". for comparison Doom3 original use 128x128 resolution textures in most of it places ,and thats very very low even by the times when QUake3 was the latest thing.. since QUake3 use 512x512. Sure ..More graphics is always welcome ,problem is that later gamers complain because the game doesnt play at 100fps at maximun settings in their 2 year old cards. THEy want Photorealistic graphics , but they dont want to pay for it ,or doesnt have the money to upgrade their machines for top of the line computers with SLI. So there will be always something for what to complain ,either because it doesnt look like LOrd of the RIngs movie and if it looks that good ,then because it doesnt play well in their machines.WHat most people ignore is that Developers need to find a balance between graphics and FPS.THey need to sell their games to a big audience where the averge gamers still use 3 years old cards And something will need to be traded somewhere.

I have no problems with ultraextreme graphics ,like SLI SM3.0 only games..i will upgrade my PC if my favorite games are pushed by developers to its limits to the hardware you have .. (like it happens with consoles ) and require *as minimun* SLI setups ,that take advantage of all my money ,but Enthusiast gamers are a very small percent of the community. YOu pay for what you get.So its not going to happen ,more when the most popular FPS games online are using 10 years old quake2 graphics ->counterstrike. Things will be far diferent if people cared to support more the latest games.

Last edited by Nv40; 04-11-05 at 05:07 PM.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-05, 08:08 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: CoD2 info

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW
Anyway, it was the game-play that made CoD not the graphics.
Agreed.

man from details , the game looks solid as the original .. i like the idea of choosing different paths & multiple missions .
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-05, 08:21 PM   #16
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: CoD2 info

CoD was never about the graphics. The gameplay in the game rules and was even more so with the expansions. The maps for online just totally rule and so do the modes and everything...

Whoever says "meh they should've used the d3 engine" obviously never got into the original game or bothered playing it online. In fact, I don't get what the problem is with some of you. These graphics look amazing. Go play Brothers in Arms and see how AWESOME that looks, yea right. These graphics are totally awesome and it'll be even more awesome playing it online.

Man I can't wait. And to that guy, don't even start with the controllable AI thing. That kind of setup just plain sucks. I mean talk about playing BiA online 2v2 with like everyone controlling 3 squadmates. So damn boooooooring. I'll take United Offensive with tanks and jeeps and 40 people online over BiA or whatever other games compete with CoD ANY day.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 04:51 AM   #17
FraGTastiK
'
 
FraGTastiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 612
Default Re: CoD2 info

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangSVT

... And to that guy, don't even start with the controllable AI thing...
I guess he is refering to me---> |White|Mute|.

Actually I was wishing for single player squad control not MP.On second thought that wont happen in CoD2 or 3 cuz thats the nature of CoD that you are not the leader,but part of the squad that has been given instructions.
FraGTastiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 07:34 AM   #18
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: CoD2 info

It looks fun and all, but they should've updated the graphics engine. That's half the fun! I bought the original CoD and it was ok, nothing real special. It was really just another WW2 shooter to me. MP was alright.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 08:07 AM   #19
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: CoD2 info

also this game online should be immense. COD is my favourite online game by far. cant wait
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 05:11 PM   #20
DEaD_IRiS
Registered User
 
DEaD_IRiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 99
Default Re: CoD2 info

Infinity Ward = great customer support

They listen and they deliver. Their patches come quick and are not merely problem fixes, they are also gameplay improvements and most of their patches also included additional MP maps.

I can't wait for COD2 as well.
DEaD_IRiS is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-12-05, 05:20 PM   #21
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: CoD2 info

Personally, I don't like the decision to use their own engine. EA tried that with MoH:PA and the results were less than pleasing. The game was still pretty fun, but the engine performed miserably.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 06:17 PM   #22
Vagrant Zero
I'm a Back Door Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,750
Send a message via AIM to Vagrant Zero
Default Re: CoD2 info

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908
Personally, I don't like the decision to use their own engine. EA tried that with MoH:PA and the results were less than pleasing. The game was still pretty fun, but the engine performed miserably.
Bingo. Somebody got it finally. That's why I wanted CoD2 to be on the D3 engine. The D3 engine is to this date one of the most bug-free engines I've ever seen. EA is known for making sh|t engines *cough* PA *cough*.

It also doesn't hurt that it's one of the most technically advanced engines out there either...

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
Honestly, Im glad they didn't. It would probably have lowered the amount of characters available on screen at once. Main draw about COD is being swarmed by Nazis... not fighting 5 or 6 like in BIA. Doom 3 engine in its current form with the current hardware can't create a playable game with that much going on at once...
The Next-Gen cards should be out by then.

Quote:
Heck, They would have lower res'd textures if they were using the Doom 3 engine... I mean Doom 3 didn't have that good of textures... plus the models in thier engine look better then Doom 3's.
RoE "fixed" that. It has the same amount of lower textures as I saw in HL2.

Well, guess I'm going to have to wait it out for Quake 4. I want to see some horror-themed RPGs use the D3 engine. That would be pimp.

"You were scarred sh|tless you candyass, you take 3 points of damage."
__________________
o <---- Dev
|\_o <---- Paladin
// \
Vagrant Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 06:59 PM   #23
FierceDeityLink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to FierceDeityLink Send a message via MSN to FierceDeityLink Send a message via Yahoo to FierceDeityLink
Default Re: CoD2 info

Bombsite A: http://premium1.uploadit.org/beanzz//79_1110581534.jpg
T Spawn: http://premium1.uploadit.org/beanzz//79_1110581652.jpg
Anyone else see it?
__________________
P4 3.2C|Asus P4C800-E DX|2GB Corsair DDR400|BFG Geforce 6800 Ultra|Antec TrueControl 550
Koolance EXOS 2|PolarFLO TT CPU|Danger Den NV-68|Danger Den MAZE4 chipset
FierceDeityLink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-05, 07:20 PM   #24
thenerdguy
 
thenerdguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 216
Default Re: CoD2 info

The guys that are in sunlight when they should be in shadows?
__________________
[IMG]http://img234.imageshack.us/img234/1210/whitecathavingfunnd7.gif[/IMG]
thenerdguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia GT640 pics, specs and launch info News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-31-12 01:10 PM
UT2003 Demo Benchmark info Gargr Gaming Central 28 09-21-02 07:48 PM
DET 40 info for WIN98 users here! VoodooNinja NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 33 09-09-02 10:16 AM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.