Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-05, 01:54 PM   #205
protoNium
Registered User
 
protoNium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via ICQ to protoNium Send a message via Yahoo to protoNium
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

oh.. thanks.. now it work right..
__________________
AMD64 3200+ 2.0 Ghz (Venice)
DFi Lanparty Ultra-D Nforce III
512x2MB PC3200 2.3.3.6 Mushkin BlueLine 2CH
iNNo 3D 256MB DDR3 Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT
WindowsXP SP-2 Professional
protoNium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:04 PM   #206
NiukNiuk
The one and only
 
NiukNiuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: France
Posts: 301
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madman
Those glitches look like usual fp16 precision issues... Just uncheck first 3 options, (precision hint, short temps, fp16ALU).

AFAIK, there is not THAT much difference in performance when droping to fp16 on GF6x.

I wonder why those options are on by default on Ultra quality...

Anyway, awesome mod...
I've deleted my interaction.vfp file in my doom3/base/glprogs folder
Then I launched the mod (so I have a "clean" config file), choosed "ultra quality", then I unchecked the first 3 options as you said...
And here's the result:

All the textures are gone !

Ok, now I'm going back using the same config as the picture posted by Rbej...
With this config I don't have any texture bug when the offset mapping is on.
__________________
Motherboard: MSI X48C Platinum
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
CPU Fan: Xigmatek HDT-S1283 Red Scorpion (what a pain to install on this motherboard...)
Ram: G.Skill Kit Extreme2 2 x 2 Go PC6400 PK
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 512 Mo
Sound Card: Asus Xonar D2 sound card
Monitor: Iiyama ProLite B2403WS -B1
NiukNiuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:06 PM   #207
Ice =A=
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Yeah, I had those missing textures (or missing light or whatever that is), too. I changed some options on the left side of the 3mood window and the textures were back...
Ice =A= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:14 PM   #208
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Gah, stuck at work until 5. Oh well, gives me something to look forward to when I get home!

Would've been nice if Tertsi made a mention of the low precision hints or whatever it is that's causing the pixelation, or simply greyed out the option for it when Offset mapping is enabled. But hey, beggers can't be choosers

Nice that you can actually adjust the offset mapping depth and intensity, it's nice that the effect can be changed in this mod . Hmm, wonder what happens if you set it all the way up to 1.0...
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:19 PM   #209
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Imo, this issue sounds more like that 3mood's default configs are wrong setup or something but not because of FP16 precision or short temps etc. I will look at this issue later ....

I have used always precision hint, short temps and FP16 without issues what so ever. Also FX12 precision doesn't give any problems when it is enabled (this option will be enabled later releases).
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:22 PM   #210
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Nice that you can actually adjust the offset mapping depth and intensity, it's nice that the effect can be changed in this mod . Hmm, wonder what happens if you set it all the way up to 1.0...
Your character will fall through the floor grating
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:34 PM   #211
NiukNiuk
The one and only
 
NiukNiuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: France
Posts: 301
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Gah, stuck at work until 5. Oh well, gives me something to look forward to when I get home!

Would've been nice if Tertsi made a mention of the low precision hints or whatever it is that's causing the pixelation, or simply greyed out the option for it when Offset mapping is enabled. But hey, beggers can't be choosers

Nice that you can actually adjust the offset mapping depth and intensity, it's nice that the effect can be changed in this mod . Hmm, wonder what happens if you set it all the way up to 1.0...
This :

__________________
Motherboard: MSI X48C Platinum
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
CPU Fan: Xigmatek HDT-S1283 Red Scorpion (what a pain to install on this motherboard...)
Ram: G.Skill Kit Extreme2 2 x 2 Go PC6400 PK
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 512 Mo
Sound Card: Asus Xonar D2 sound card
Monitor: Iiyama ProLite B2403WS -B1
NiukNiuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 02:55 PM   #212
GamerGuyX
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Holy **** am I having bad luck with this new version of 3mood. The previous versions worked perfect for me.

For some reason the first time I tried this new version this is what I got:



It turns out that the glitch was caused by me unchecking the FP16 ALU Operations box in 3mood. So I restarted DOOM 3 (this time with the FP16 ALU Operations box checked) and everything works. The thing is, everything is a jagged mess! Enabling any of the AA modes does nothing to smooth out the jagged edges. Is that how its suppose to look?
__________________
[COLOR="Red"][SIZE="4"]People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people. -[B] V[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]


[url="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_list.php?s=&t=35216"]Folding for Team# 35216 : NvNews + OSNN + SP[/URL]
GamerGuyX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-25-05, 03:41 PM   #213
protoNium
Registered User
 
protoNium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Send a message via ICQ to protoNium Send a message via Yahoo to protoNium
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

yeah.. i'm also facing a lot of jaggies.. and when I'm moving the jaggies keep on waving too..
__________________
AMD64 3200+ 2.0 Ghz (Venice)
DFi Lanparty Ultra-D Nforce III
512x2MB PC3200 2.3.3.6 Mushkin BlueLine 2CH
iNNo 3D 256MB DDR3 Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT
WindowsXP SP-2 Professional
protoNium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 04:41 PM   #214
Madman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Parallax mapping can cause weired sparkling at sharp angles, as there is no physically corect offset limit formula AFAIK. Decreasing ofsets might help...

Basically think about scale as object depth, and bias as a way to move bumps into/out_of real geometry (zero lvl).

AFAIK, Doom used different lenght units than Half life 2. So it might be sorta metric representation, or might be not.

If its metric approx, then scale 0.02 would mean all objects with parallax applied are 2cm thick, bias of -0.01 would mean if current texels depth is at zero lvl, it is deepened by 1 cm. That's sorta what those params are... If I'm not mistaken

More here: http://www.infiscape.com/doc/parallax_mapping.pdf
Madman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 05:41 PM   #215
sjchmura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

IS there a link to a "config for dummies" - I just want to set the highest quality and see how it looks

steve
sjchmura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-05, 05:56 PM   #216
tertsi
www.fornvidiots.net
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 340
Default Re: Doom 3 quality mod (3rd party) for NV4x and NV3x

Okey Here is 3mood 1.2.2b release and it will fix some 1.2.1b issues (jaggies was caused by renormalizing normal - This method usually gives better and more detailed specular but it doesn't work very well with normal map offset (high) - Renormalizing Normal option is added to 1.3.0b featurelist) ....

Download 3mood v1.2.2b - Doom 3 tuning tool for NV40/NV30 gpu's (300KB)

Last edited by tertsi; 04-26-05 at 02:44 AM.
tertsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Valve to release its trailer-making tool: Source Filmmaker dikinher Gaming Central 2 06-28-12 12:28 PM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.