Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-02, 07:17 AM   #1
Walt Dizzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Default Boot problem

After installing SuSE 8.1 on my nForce system, I get all the way to the end of the install, and a screen pops up that tells me to reboot the system. I press enter to reboot, and the initial screen pops up for boot. The bars on the left turn white one by one until the process stops with this error message:

kernel (hd 0,1)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 hdc=ide-scsi vga 791 3

[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1400, size=0x10aab8]

Error 28: Selected item cannot fit into memory.

Grub version 0.92 (512K lower/523184K upper memory)

My system has an ASUS A77N266-C motherboard, a Leadtek Geforce 3 Ti 200 videocard, Maxtor 60 GB disk, Escalade 6200 RAID controller, and Siemans NIC.

Things I've tried so far:

Reinstalled SuSE without RAID and modem.
Reinstalled SuSE on RAID.
Used Manual install option in order to leave out drivers for a smaller kernel. No change in kernel size.
Reinstalled with APIC.
Tried booting from a tested floppy rescue disk set. Locks up with caps and numlock light flashing. Can't check boot log!

This set of SuSE install disks has been used successfully on another machine.

My next idea is to try Red Hat. Any other ideas?
Walt Dizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 11:38 AM   #2
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Are you sure root is on the right partition? My root is on hda7, but Im also dual booting...
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 01:24 PM   #3
Walt Dizzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Default

I think so. The error message is the same whether I install to a single disk with nothing else on it but Linux, or if I set up a dual boot system with Win2K. If I recall correctly, the root partition was on hda(1) before my last install attempt to the RAID array.

Thanks anyway.

I think that the error message is misleading. It indicates the kernel is just over 1 MB in size, and is too big for the system memory. There is 500 MB of memory in this computer, and if I recall correctly, Linux is not limited to low 20 bit-first 1MB?) memory. Can anyone confirm this?

Walt
Walt Dizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 12:02 AM   #4
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

I had this problem too, but selecting LILO as the boot manager seems to work great. Haven't bothered to further troubleshoot the problem...
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-02, 03:35 PM   #5
Walt Dizzy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks, I will give this a try as soon as I can figure out how to do so.
Walt Dizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 03:34 AM   #6
algida
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default :-(

I have same problem,
I try to install RH 8.0 and there was same error.
I cant use LILO, because i linux on disk where are Win on first partiton. :-(
I'm instaling it two weeks.
Can you help me?
Ales
algida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 03:41 AM   #7
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Well, all I did was placed a 32MB boot partition at the front of the drive so I could use LILO just fine with my Linux partition after the first 8GB of space.

But, I had heard that that 8GB limitation was fixed in more recent versions. Have you tried it with RH 8.0, or did it just fail on previous versions?
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 03:53 AM   #8
algida
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default Suse 8.1 and Redhat 8.0

I tied to install Redhat 8.0 and Suse 8.1.
I cant do anything with firs partition, because there are Win Xp with many programs and data:-(.
Sorry for my English
Ales
algida is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-02, 03:57 AM   #9
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

See if you can get your hands on Partition Magic. You should be able to do just about anything you want with that.

Barring that, if you really want Linux, you can just backup your essential data on a second partition, then wipe the Windows partition and put that little boot partition at the front of the drive. It's a big hassle, and not something I'd be willing to do right now, but it is an option.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 04:01 AM   #10
algida
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default :-(

There are no other ways?
Only to use Lilo??
Sorry for stupid question.
ales
algida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 10:57 AM   #11
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Well, there probably is. I don't know it, though.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-02, 09:52 AM   #12
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

" There are no other ways?
Only to use Lilo??"

Install the linux package "loadlin" under win or dos from your linux CD.
and do also copy a linux standard kernel image in the appropriate
windows directory
Then modify your "config.sys" file and the loadlin config file "linux.par"
and you will get a windows-linux startmenu whenever your computer boots.
Later you can also copy other linux kernels to the same place.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FSF criticizes secure boot, raises concerns about distro implementations News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 07-03-12 02:30 AM
Nvidia driver stopped working after X restart and Kernel taint msgs during boot mikejuni NVIDIA Linux 10 05-21-12 08:30 PM
Install MDK9.0 on Asus a7n266-vm succeds but won't boot fierywizard NVIDIA Linux 2 10-06-02 05:53 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 08:13 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.