Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-02, 10:27 AM   #1
undrwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cerritos
Posts: 17
Default Unwanted Resolutions

Hello!
I've got Gentoo running with the nv accellerated drivers working properly, with one caveat:

In the XF86Config file i specified 1152x864 resolution (which I use for my M$ resolution); but when i startx i get 1024x768.

Using the CTRL+ALT+'+/-' key combos takes me through 800x600 and 640x480....but never 1152x864.

Now when i say i specified that resolution, i mean that i eliminated all other resolutions in the Config file.

Where is X getting these other resolutions?

TIA

Russell
undrwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 11:40 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Does Gentoo use XF86Config, or XF86Config-4? In other words, are you sure you changed the right config file?

</dumb questions>

There might be the equivalent of a hardwired list of resolutions in the XFree86 binary, but I kind of doubt that... maybe there are clues in the X log file? /var/log/XFree86.0.log
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 11:49 AM   #3
undrwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cerritos
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for the response...

Gentoo doesn't use XF86Config-4 (i checked), but i will definately check the log.

I've done a lot of googling about this but it's hard to find an answer (kind of hard to describe the problem so that google returns valid responses, too).

I'll post once i check my log.

Russell
undrwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 12:03 AM   #4
undrwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cerritos
Posts: 17
Default

OK...checked the log and found some problems...
here's some of the text from the log:
(II) Loading sub module "ddc"
(II) LoadModule: "ddc"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libddc.a
(II) Module ddc: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.2.1, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.5
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Failure reading EDID parameters for display device 0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): optiquest q71: Using hsync range of 31.50-64.30 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): optiquest q71: Using vrefresh range of 50.00-90.00 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Clock range: 12.00 to 350.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1024x768" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "512x384" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1024x768" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "512x384" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1152x864" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "576x432" (hsync out of range)........
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "700x525" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1152x864" (no mode of this name)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for Display Device 0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1024x768": 78.8 MHz, 60.1 kHz, 75.1 Hz
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "800x600": 56.3 MHz, 53.7 kHz, 85.1 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1024 x 768
(==) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75)

There it is...not sure what exactly is happening there....but i hope someone can help...

Thanks,
Russell
undrwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 08:14 AM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1152x864" (hsync out of range)
And then later,

Quote:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1152x864" (no mode of this name)
I'm not sure why it recognizes the mode once (when it says hsync out of range), then doesn't later, but I think you can fix it if you can generate a modeline for that resolution. I know there are programs to help with that, but I don't know where to find them -- they've been posted here a couple of times before, though, so maybe if you search around a bit for "modeline generator" or something? I guess I don't know that that would help, but it seems likely that it would.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 08:45 AM   #6
mtrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to mtrr
Default

Modeline "1152x864" 77.55 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 871 902
Modeline "1152x864" 90.48 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 873 902
Modeline "1152x864" 103.40 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 874 902
Modeline "1152x864" 116.33 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 876 902
Modeline "1152x864" 129.25 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 879 902
Modeline "1152x864" 143.62 1152 1168 1384 1568 864 864 879 902


maybe you can use one of them.....

hth


bwkaz: IIRC the impossible modes are deleted from the internal list,
and thus are unknown....
mtrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 11:17 AM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtrr
bwkaz: IIRC the impossible modes are deleted from the internal list,
and thus are unknown....
Ah, that would explain it.

Yeah, try the modeline, I guess.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 07:33 PM   #8
Forge
X to the 64th power
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 56
Default

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Failure reading EDID parameters for display device 0.
(II) NVIDIA(0): optiquest q71: Using hsync range of 31.50-64.30 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): optiquest q71: Using vrefresh range of 50.00-90.00 Hz

These are not correct. 30-60 and 50-90 would be sensible sync ranges for a 14" monitor, maybe a 15".

According to:

http://www.viewsonic.com/support/crt_q75.htm

Your settings should be:

Frequency Fh:30-86kHz, Fv:50-160Hz

Open up your XF86Config and make sure there are HorizSync and VertRefresh lines in your monitor info, and make sure they match the info from Viewsonic. You will then find that max refresh rates for the resolution you indicate will automagically be selected. No modelines needed.
Forge is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-02, 09:22 PM   #9
undrwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cerritos
Posts: 17
Default That Did IT!!

"Your settings should be:

Frequency Fh:30-86kHz, Fv:50-160Hz"

Inserted this into XF86Config and now i'm looking at you through 1152x864 resolution.

Thanks!!

bwkaz
mtrr
forge
undrwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview with different resolutions? ocgltd NVIDIA Linux 7 11-04-12 02:07 PM
Modelines/Metamodes/Screen Resolutions trouble with NVIDIA drivers 302 and up Ixmucane3001 NVIDIA Linux 1 08-12-12 07:14 PM
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
Changing resolutions thekrebster NVIDIA Linux 1 08-08-02 11:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.