Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-05, 12:50 PM   #25
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by kev13dd
Anyone who says "well the game wasn't dark before" is crazy

Practically NO games that came out early ever used really dark atmospheres. Why? Because there practically was NO lighting in those games either. There were no real good shadows, lights never went out, they kept the whole thing lit up so everyone could see what they were doing.
K
Unreal was very dark. In fact, part of the game was collecting flares so you could use them to see. One of my favorite gaming moments was going down the dimly lit corridor and the lights going out one by one until it was pitch black. Then one of the creatures attacks.

OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 01:18 PM   #26
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
Game had many light and dark areas but it was no where on the level of that screenshot...

Outdoor area, nice and bright


Indoor area, has Bright area and under the platform its dark.
man...that game has NOT aged well.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 01:26 PM   #27
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quake 2 looks great at 2048x1536 with 16xAF, -1.5LOD and 8xSAA
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 01:27 PM   #28
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
man...that game has NOT aged well.
Tell me about it, Screenshots are with 8xS/16xAF aswell...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 01:42 PM   #29
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
Tell me about it, Screenshots are with 8xS/16xAF aswell...
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 01:56 PM   #30
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Quake 2 looks great at 2048x1536 with 16xAF, -1.5LOD and 8xSAA
r_shadows 1 is pretty nice..
(think its r_shadows atleast..)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
EDIT: You edited, nevermind
If you refer to me, then I prolly did..
Tend to edit a post atleast 1 time, almost always hehe.. I just did btw on this post.. ish bin der editulator..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 02:04 PM   #31
Seoulstriker
Registered User
 
Seoulstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 281
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

It looked f***ing insane under Glide.

Is there a way to get the binaries for the PC version? I have the data files for the mac version...
Seoulstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 02:36 PM   #32
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolle
r_shadows 1 is pretty nice..
(think its r_shadows atleast..)
gl_shadows 1
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-05, 03:48 PM   #33
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

there we go, forgot what it was, havent played the game in ages hehe..
pretty neat shadows for such a old game really.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 03:57 PM   #34
vX
 
vX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 508
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

any word on when quake 4 is supposed to be out?
vX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 04:12 PM   #35
Seoulstriker
Registered User
 
Seoulstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 281
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

Quote:
Originally Posted by fxgamer
any word on when quake 4 is supposed to be out?
E3 will let us know. However, it has been revealed that Quake 4 multiplayer will have already been available prior to QuakeCon2005, so that means either: Quake 4 will be released before then, or that there will be a multiplayer test similar to that for Quake 3.

Unless something BIG is happening at E3 (as in the development of Q4 is complete, and they're revealing its glory to the masses), I'm predicting a multiplayer test for Quake 4.
Seoulstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-05, 06:33 PM   #36
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: New Quake 4 Screenshot

I still think it looks too much like Doom 3. I think Quake 4 should've been a little more off the beaten path if you know what I mean.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 = FPS drops in Quake Live Lamieur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-18-12 01:13 PM
[DirectX, C#]Capture screenshot kriko Software Development 0 05-20-12 05:19 AM
Point release 1.32 for Quake 3 is out styles-T Gaming Central 16 10-10-02 12:42 PM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM
The case of the disappearing shadows legion88 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-23-02 07:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.