Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-02, 08:18 PM   #1
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default Quadro4 750

I'm having problem with getting the Quadro4 750 to set at 1280x1024 resolution.

My setup

supermicro p4dce+ MB, 2 GB RDRAM, Quadro4 750, dual Xeon 2.20GHZ. I'm running SMP kernel.

I did compiled and re-edit my XF86Config file for the NVIDIA driver -3123.
Here are the problems. 1st: The resultion would not go beyond 1280x1024 and the depth would not go beyond 16. 2nd: If I edit the XF86Config file to go 1280x1024 @ depth 24, X server would crash.
Any help from this forum would be greatly appreciated.
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 08:25 AM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

"the X server would crash"

Well, I sort of doubt that, though it is possible. Maybe it would exit with an error message? In that case, posting the error message (and/or attaching the /var/log/XFree86.0.log file that gets generated after such a failed attempt) would be more helpful...

It could be one of a small number of things -- either the Quadro card doesn't have enough video memory (unlikely but possible), or the refresh rates (and therefore pixel clock) are too high for the card's reported RAMDAC speed, or something else. In any case, the log file should help narrow it down.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 03:06 PM   #3
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default

The Log File is TOO TOO big to be copy and paste here. Is there a way that I can email the log files to you?

Thank you
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 04:45 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Rename it something like xfree86.0.log.txt (like most people do), and then attach it to your post. You're right, it is too big to put in a post (or even, realistically, to spread over several posts) -- it's much easier to just let those who are interested download it and read it offline.

There's a browse button below the place where you type in your reply. Hit it and find the file.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 05:11 PM   #5
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default Log and XFConfig File

here is my XF86 log file and XFConfig file. You can see that I forced X server to start X with 1280x1024 resolution @ 24 bit. But The log file said it is an invalid resolution and forced X to 1024x768 @ 60. And that's one of the resolution which is not available as an option in my XFConfig file.
My system is a dual boot system consists of win2000 and redhat 8. in Window, my resolution is 1280x1024@70 depth 32bit.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (26.9 KB, 112 views)
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 05:16 PM   #6
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default XFConfig

here is my XFConfig file. I couldn't attached both files.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.0 KB, 116 views)
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 06:04 PM   #7
Forge
X to the 64th power
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 56
Default

Your monitor ranges look wrong.

NVIDIA(0): Monitor0: Using hsync range of 31.50-48.50 kHz
(II)
NVIDIA(0): Monitor0: Using vrefresh range of 50.00-70.00 Hz

The vertical refresh, in particular, looks low.

You'll probably need to contact your laptop's support department to check those ranges.
Forge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 07:20 PM   #8
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default Monitor

No The ranges are correct. It's an 18.1" SUN FLAT PANEL. I have an older version which does not have a DVI-D input but instead has SUN's 13w3 connector, yes and it's ANALOG. I don't know why SUN uses that instead of the 15 pins. I have no problem of getting 1280x1024x70 @ 24bit with my SUN workstation or my Window 2000 box. ONLY in LINUX is where the problem is. The max refresh rate this monitor can handle is 70. Thanks for your input Forge.
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-02, 08:23 PM   #9
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: Monitor

Quote:
Originally posted by NVLinux
I don't know why SUN uses that instead of the 15 pins.
The same reason everyone uses proprietary connections -- to make sure you can't use another vendor's hardware with theirs. It's just one more iteration of the Big Connector Conspiracy. What's really interesting is why they moved away from that to a DVI connector...

Quote:
I have no problem of getting 1280x1024x70 @ 24bit with my SUN workstation or my Window 2000 box. Only in Linux is where the problem is. The max refresh rate this monitor can handle is 70. Thanks for your input Forge.
What about the horizontal sync? That seems a bit low as well (though I could be wrong)...

HorizSync = (num_of_lines) * VertRefresh, so number of lines (which is approx. equal to vert. resolution) is horizsync / vertrefresh. The highest vertical resolution that that refresh rate range supports is therefore 48500 / 50 = 4850 / 5 = 485*2 = 970 pixels. To get 1024, you'll have to raise the horizsync range to at least 1024*50 = 51 kHz, but preferably 1024*70 = 72 kHz. Make absolutely sure that this range doesn't go above what the monitor's maximum rates are.

This, too, looks interesting:

Quote:
(--) PCI:*(1:0:0) NVidia unknown chipset (0x0259) rev 163, Mem @ 0xf8000000/24, 0xe8000000/27, 0xf0000000/19
Your kernel doesn't understand your video card. However, I have a feeling that this doesn't matter -- see below, where it says "quadro detected". So I don't think that's the problem...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692

Last edited by bwkaz; 12-10-02 at 08:29 PM.
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 09:22 PM   #10
NVLinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8
Default Take a look at this

This log file was created when I was using VESA as the driver for the Quadro card. Everything works fine. The resolution was correct and so was the refresh rate. Desktop was PERFECT. The only drawback was NO hardware accel in 3D. Therefore openGL was slow. Chromium (game) was doing about 5 frames a second.
Well, Vsync is a bit lower than the max. But it is the safest setting. I did tried increasing both V and H sync. NO EFFECT. X still start up at 1024x768. Noticed in nvidia's XFConfig setting. The resolution is set @ 1280x1024. And X server still self set itself @ 1024x768. So the only thing that I can think of is the NVIDIA's driver. There is something inside the nvidia's driver that tend to overide all the custom settings.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.1.log.txt (50.3 KB, 107 views)
NVLinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In The Lab With Seagate's Momentus XT 750 GB Hybrid HDD News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 06:00 AM
GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc support for Quadro4 700 XGL marvin24 NVIDIA Linux 3 08-20-03 09:00 AM
Quadro4 and DGA Xmame.x11 MattD NVIDIA Linux 4 06-22-03 11:53 AM
Stereo and Quadro4 with 3123 drivers rflanery NVIDIA Linux 2 12-18-02 10:03 AM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.