Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-02, 06:13 PM   #1
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Smile format second drive

OK I installed win XP on a 30 gig drive everything up and running good, I have just decided to install another 30 gig as a slave, But this hardrive has stuff on it. Heres the question, When i hook it up in the computer and all, how do I erase what's on it? do I format it using the winxp bootable cd? or can I use a win98se bootdisk and say format D: or what ever drive letter it is. I just want to erase whats on it
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 08:36 PM   #2
exar
Registered User
 
exar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to exar Send a message via Yahoo to exar
Default

Install the drive and boot to XP. Then just open My Computer, right click on the drive letter you want to format, and select Format. It will open a window similar to formatting a floppy disk.

It's only when you are formatting the boot drive that you need to do all that other stuff.
__________________
Nothing beats the feeling of putting cheap gas in a rental car.
exar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-02, 08:57 PM   #3
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Thumbs up thanks

I was thinking thats all I had to do. Thanks again'
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-02, 09:19 PM   #4
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Default

You could also do it from the "Computer Management" section in the Adminstation Tools area of the Control Panel. I like this method better because formating and partioning through this is FAST. Interactive menus make it a no-brainer.

Although I can still use the old trusty FDISK & FORMAT commands from a boot floppy but it hardens the old arteries.
__________________
[b][i]A man's ambition must be small,
To write his name on a s**t-house wall.[/b][/i]
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-02, 01:01 AM   #5
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

You should be able to go through a cmd window during a Windows session and do something like

C:\format d: /q

(it could also be the \q or -q) (im confusing Linux switches with Windows switches again...)

That should quick format your other hard drive (assuming its d). Since you arent using that hard drive for anything important (like your Windows) you should be fine with a quick format. Regularly formatting a 30 gig will take some time....
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test Drive Shows New Kepler GPUs Offer Instant Performance Boost to Research News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 12-14-12 05:10 AM
Toshiba hatches a hybrid hard drive News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 09-26-12 12:20 PM
Steam finally adds choice of installation drive News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 09-12-12 05:10 AM
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 07:29 AM
cdrw drive died cricket General Hardware 2 08-13-02 09:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.