Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-05, 05:46 PM   #1
patrickjs89
Registered User
 
patrickjs89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Default Troubleshoot with overclocking

I have a BFG 6800GT OC and I am having a problem with overclocking. I ran 3dmark05 at 350/1000 and I usually get a score of 46xx and up. When I overclock to 400/1100, 3dmark05 freezes not even 3 seconds into it. I have my AGP rate to 4x because on 8x, all my games lock up. I have fast writes turned off, HOWEVER, when I have it on 8x, there is no way to turn off sideband addressing, on 4x, fastwrites and addressing are turned off. Could this be a problem? I use both RivaTuner and Coolbits to overclock. I know it's not overheating because the temp is at 59-63C within 3 seconds of 3dmark05. Much help is appreciated.
patrickjs89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-05, 03:44 AM   #2
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

Are you sure it's stable at those overclocks, why don`t you try backing of the clocks abit and try again
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-05, 07:14 AM   #3
patrickjs89
Registered User
 
patrickjs89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

My normal clock is at 350/1000 which is default for GT, if I OC to 355/1000, 3dmark just corrupts then like 5 seconds into it. I'm just wondering why I can't OC just 1 MHz?
patrickjs89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-05, 03:08 AM   #4
Diamond_G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hi
Posts: 239
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

What drivers are you using for your motherboard?
__________________
Athlon X2 3800+
1 Gig ddr400 ram
300+ Gig storage across multiple drives
PNY Geforce 6800 (o/c 399/829)
Diamond_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-05, 09:53 PM   #5
patrickjs89
Registered User
 
patrickjs89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

5.10 for my nForce 3 ultra.
patrickjs89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-05, 05:19 PM   #6
Chevyman03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

What kind of temps U getting with that card? Is your powersupply up to the task?
Chevyman03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-05, 06:58 PM   #7
patrickjs89
Registered User
 
patrickjs89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Troubleshoot with overclocking

I get around 55 idle and my PSU a 400W
patrickjs89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
$61.99 - Thermaltake CLP0575 Frio OCK Universal CPU Cooler Ultimate OverClocking King News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 12:00 PM
where is the overclocking tab. demonized NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-20-02 12:40 PM
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 08:52 AM
Does overclocking reduce the life of a graphics card? Cool Barn NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 08-06-02 11:06 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.