Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-05, 12:10 AM   #1
Nexus Scorpion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Signal 11 when using nvidia's drivers

Hi there. I'm a relatively new Linux user trying to get NVIDIA's drivers working. I've been trying for a while with little luck, so I'm posting in the hope that somehow can offer some insight.

My system is a Compaq Presario R3000 laptop with the free version of Mandrake 10.1 (i686). The chipset is the GeForce4 440 Go 64M. When I use the built-in nv driver, the display works. (Well, kind of. It messes up when I leave KDE and stays that way until I reboot, but whatever. Apparently that's known to happen with the nv driver.) However, when I use the nvidia driver (which I've built and installed), KDE crashes due to a signal 11 as it starts up. The signal 11 occurs during the nvidia driver's startup sequence (or maybe it's at the end - I wouldn't know, I've never seen the whole thing).

Attached are the startup log and my xorg.conf (which is based off of one from another Presario R3000 user). Also, here's various output:

$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Audio (rev a2)
00:06.1 Modem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 00d9 (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 440 Go 64M] (rev a3)
02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB21 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
02:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1620 PC Card Controller (rev 01)
02:04.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1620 PC Card Controller (rev 01)
02:04.2 System peripheral: Texas Instruments PCI1620 Firmware Loading Function (rev 01)

$ uname -a
Linux xxxxxxx 2.6.8.1-12mdk #1 Fri Oct 1 12:53:41 CEST 2004 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ unknown GNU/Linux

Suggestions would be *very* much appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (3.2 KB, 154 views)
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (33.8 KB, 162 views)
Nexus Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 11:20 PM   #2
Nexus Scorpion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Signal 11 when using nvidia's drivers

I went to make a nvidia-bug-report.log file and discovered something more. It only gets a signal 11 when I have an external monitor connected. When I don't connect an external monitor, it does a whole bunch of disk drive and monitor activity as if it's starting X, but then just gives a blank screen. I can still Ctrl+Alt+Backspace to kill the X server and even Ctrl+Alt+F# to my text terminals and back, but all I get from the X terminal is that blank screen. I've attached the nvidia-bug-report.log and Xorg.0.log files for both of the cases. (For the case that gives the blank screen, the files were made _after_ killing the X server.)

Also, I forgot to say that the version I'm using is x86-1.0-7174. Just now I tried 7167, 6629, and 6111, but they worked just as little or less.
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.log.xtramon.txt (80.6 KB, 158 views)
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.log.noxtramon.txt (77.6 KB, 167 views)
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.noxtramon.txt (30.8 KB, 154 views)
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.xtramon.txt (33.8 KB, 129 views)
Nexus Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
Creative drivers ? SparrowHawk General Hardware 39 11-18-02 08:03 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
Nvidia Stereo Drivers Soudontsay NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 08-26-02 10:48 AM
Using DRI and nvidia's drivers at the same time...(multihead) r0gu3 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-12-02 09:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.