Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-05, 02:57 PM   #13
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomjscott
The demo ran with beta drivers, but no water effect at all. Anyway, here is my criticism from the images shown. It looks like a cool effect, but it doesn't look like water at all. It looks more like mercury. Water shouldn't look so silvery.
Yeah it does look like mercury. Maybe if the water was transparent and you could see to the bottom of the container. Also, the brown walls of the container aren't reflected in the liquid.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]

Last edited by fivefeet8; 04-29-05 at 03:17 PM.
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 04:54 PM   #14
Abba Zabba
Java Cool Dude
 
Abba Zabba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to Abba Zabba Send a message via MSN to Abba Zabba
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Fixed!!!!one1
No more GLSL for me, not until more mature compilers from ATI and NVIDIA are made officially available .

I also fixed the mercury look a bit, and later on will be adding true dynamic reflection.
Thanks for the suggestions guys
__________________
SXML 3D Engine
Abba Zabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 04:58 PM   #15
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Nice. Looks more like water now.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 04:58 PM   #16
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Hurray! Also works with 71.89 now. Thanks.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 05:00 PM   #17
Abba Zabba
Java Cool Dude
 
Abba Zabba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to Abba Zabba Send a message via MSN to Abba Zabba
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

I'm sooooooooooo happy
/runs away for the night
__________________
SXML 3D Engine
Abba Zabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 05:32 PM   #18
tomjscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Can you post a new screenshot of the improved look. I couldn't get it to run properly so couldn't see the effect in execution.
tomjscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 05:44 PM   #19
|-007-|
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Hey, my compliments. This demo is really cool, and it runs great on my XPS Gen 2 laptop. I gotta show my roommate.
|-007-| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-05, 07:12 PM   #20
hornet
triangle mage
 
hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: .dk
Posts: 13
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Abba Zappa - If you wan't to get around the vs3-dependency, you can use PBO to copy the FBO to a VBO (heheh, abbreviations rule!). You'll get an extra onboard-copy per update, but it'll run on everything and the kitchen sink! I get quite good results with regular displacementmapping using this technique.


\\hornet
hornet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-29-05, 07:29 PM   #21
smallSHEEP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Wow great demo.
smallSHEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-05, 01:16 PM   #22
Danhill
I hate the Cold
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 275
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Wow, awesome demo, you did a great job. It works for me now using the 71.89!!

Keep at it!!
__________________
Mobo: ASUS A8N-SLI Premium, CPU: AMD 64 3200+ (Venice) @ 2,4Ghz Mem: 2 x 512 DDR 466, Vga: 2 x Club 3D 6600 GT in SLI, Hdd1: WD Raptor Hdd2: Maxtor Diamond Plus 9, Case: Antec Plus View 1080, Psu: ThermalTake PurePower 500W, MX 1000, Dell 2001 FP, Aud. 2 SZ
Danhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-05, 02:36 PM   #23
RpPRO
Registered User
 
RpPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hungary
Posts: 123
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

Forgive my lame question. What's the IQ difference between vs3 and vs2?
If I get close to the water it seems to be quite blocky.

It runs fine on my 9700pro.
__________________
1: Inno3D 6800 GT + Nv Silencer5 (XG84.12v2) | AMD Mobile Barton 2600 (@11.5x205=2357) 1.6V| Epox 8rda3 nforce2 ultra | 2x512 (2-3-3-6) Hynix D43 pc3200ddr | Audigy 2zs | 3 x 120GB hdd | NEC2510A dual layer +/- DVD RW | Belinea19" 106080 | Chieftec420W | Windows XP prof. sp1.
2: Ati Radeon9200 | Epox 8kha+ kt266a | AMD Athlon1600+ | 512mb DDR | Tv tuner card | Canon printer | Canon scanner | TFT | Windows XP prof. sp1.
RpPRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-05, 02:57 PM   #24
Abba Zabba
Java Cool Dude
 
Abba Zabba's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to Abba Zabba Send a message via MSN to Abba Zabba
Default Re: New Demo: VS3.0 Displacement Mapping

In a vertex shader 3.0 you can fetch texture data and use it to modify your geometry whereas in previous shaders models you can't (well there is a work around like some have mentioned where you can render your geom to a pixel buffer object and then use it to read back the vertices etc...)

The only visual difference here is that on NV40 hardware, the water mesh actually has some height to it whereas on every other card it's just the illusion of height. An illusion that gets worse when you zoom up close to the water level.

I don't know about the blockiness artifact you're reporting on your Radeon, care to post a screenshot?

You can hit F8 to save an image in TGA format to your harddrive, then you probably should use some free image software like irfanview to compress it into a JPG.
__________________
SXML 3D Engine
Abba Zabba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lego Batman 2?s Dynamic Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 02:40 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 10:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.