Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-05, 09:55 AM   #1
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Arrow Official Windows XP64 Thread

I thought it might be a good idea to create a thread where we can all share our experiences with this thing since it's so new. Help each other troubleshoot, etc. if necessary. Maybe a mod might want to sticky this, just a suggestion.

Here are my initial impressions.

The good news is that pretty much every 32bit program I've loaded so far works fine. However, a few needed some tweaking and there are some idiosyncracies. I'll go ahead and make a short list here of some oddities I've discovered.

3dmark2001, 3dmark03, and 3dmark05 produce errors in event viewer every time they are launched. It states two different errors. They are:
Quote:
The ENTECH64 service failed to start due to the following error: The system cannot find the file specified.
Whatever file it wants, it doesn't mention. The second error that shows up:
Quote:
\??\C:\WINDOWS\SysWow64\drivers\PciBus.sys has been blocked from loading due to incompatibility with this system. Please contact your software vendor for a compatible version of the driver.
On the bright side, the programs function and results are pretty much identical to running them in x32.

Electron Microscope III, which is a program I used to monitor the Folding@Home client, would not launch. It complained about missing a file that is normally in \windows\system32 under x32. In x64, that file is missing. The file it wants is msvbvm50.dll. The fix is to copy that from another computer and place it in the EMIII client folder on the x64 machine. Works fine then.

PowerToys for Windows XP also do not install. There will need to be 64bit versions put out by MS before it works. The one exception is the ClearType tuning tool - that works OK.

The only problem I've had so far that is somewhat irritating is that if I create another user account other than administrator and log in as it, even if it has admin rights, the ATI control panel completely disappears. No tabs show up for it after pressing the advanced button. If I log back in as administrator it stays gone. Only after staying logged in as administrator and reinstalling the driver does it show back up. If I try to reinstall the driver as another user even if they have admin rights, the system produces an error about failing to modify some registry key. Seems like a rights issue but that shouldn't be happening since the account has admin. Anyway, I plan on experimenting a bit more with that once I get games and a few other applications shaked down. I am hoping to do some more work with it today and try out Doom3. Possibly load Steam and download CS:S.

I'll post back with any pertinent findings.

Last edited by Riptide; 05-07-05 at 10:20 AM.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 11:50 AM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

I'm still running RC2 because I have not received my final copy yet My order is still "pending"

Has anyone found Winamp for x64, or Firefox? I managed to get a hold of most of the drivers.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 12:15 PM   #3
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

There is no x64 version of Firefox that I found. The x32 version works fine though.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 12:41 PM   #4
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

is there any software that mounts images like dameon tools? thats the only thing holding me from using it
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 01:00 PM   #5
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

I haven't ever used any of that stuff so I don't know. I would expect that might be the sort of program that would run into problems but I'm not sure. You might google "daemon tools xp64" and see what you find.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 02:12 PM   #6
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

I found FireFox 64!
http://www.mozilla-x86-64.com/

Here are also where you can find the latest creative drivers:
http://preview.creativelabs.com/default.aspx

Also, winrar still does not have a .64 version... one is coming soon though.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 03:28 PM   #7
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

Cool that x64 version seems OK. I think I'll stick w/the 32bit version for now though, at least until an official release.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-05, 10:13 PM   #8
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

I'm running the .64 version of Firefox right now, and its a nice browser, I have not had an issues Does not have an installer though.

Also, does anyone know where I can locate Logitech Mouseware 64 drivers?

EDIT:
Nevermind, they are coming in June.

If you have a Logitech Gamepad or Joystick, however, the 64 drivers can be found here:
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/do...ontentid=10442
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64

Last edited by jAkUp; 05-07-05 at 10:27 PM.
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-05, 10:36 PM   #9
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

Played some CS:S this afternoon and it worked fine. I can't tell a difference between running it under x64 and x32. Which is a good thing.

The lack of logitech software doesn't bug me either, I've never been a fan of mouseware.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-05, 12:03 AM   #10
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

I got a nice little message when I tried to fire up the Trackmania Sunrise Demo:



Yes you are reading correctly... that actually does say "Miscrosoft"
This sucks I hope there is a patch soon.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64

Last edited by jAkUp; 05-08-05 at 12:49 AM.
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-05, 12:47 AM   #11
1337_Like_ThaT
O.U.T.L.A.W.
 
1337_Like_ThaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In The Sack ;)
Posts: 2,258
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

ROFL...Pwnd!!
__________________

Gaming Rig
Inte Core 2 Duo 6700 @ 3.2ghz | EVGA nForce 680i | G.Skill DDR2 800mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2.0v | Western Digital RaptorX 150GB | Western Digital 500GB SATA II | EVGA 8800GTS 512MB | Plextor PX-716SA DVD-RW | Plextor PX-755SA DVD-RW DL | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 | Antec 900 BLK | Dell FPW 2005 20.1" WS | IceMat 2nd. Ed. MousePad | Logitech G15 | Logitech G9 |

160GB (60GB) PS3 Owner | DS3 Controllers | PSN: Res215dg
PSP 3000 Black + 16GB Memory Stick Duo *Locked and Ready for Resistance Retribution*
1337_Like_ThaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-05, 12:58 AM   #12
Am_I_Evil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bayville, NY
Posts: 297
Default Re: Official Windows XP64 Thread

i can't install it yet because of the drivers need by my ATA-IDE PCI card....when i get my new SATA drive in i am taking out my old 40gb IDE drive and then moving the drives on the card to the MB IDE connector.....then i will install windows xp64....
Am_I_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.