Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-05, 07:27 PM   #1
splink
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20
Default Black screen using nvidia driver? Post here! FFS Nvidia !

I would like to know how many people are having this issue. This is using the nvidia driver from the website, or your own disto version of it, and you are getting a black screen when loading X. This seems to be a serious issue, and I am surprised how many people I have talked to in the space of 2 days with the same problem.

thank you

Last edited by splink; 05-09-05 at 01:07 AM.
splink is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 07:40 PM   #2
mforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

Yeah , I'm getting a black screen and monitor goes into standby after a few seconds . What's worse is that I get no error . It says loading nv-glx and RIP .
Specs : custom 2.6.11.8 kernel , Slackware 10.1 ( Vector 5.01 SOHO ) , MX 440 , Hansol 710 P , nForce 2 .
Come on nVidia are you going to try and solve our problems ? or do we have to get hardware from XGI and S3 which have open source Linux drivers ?
mforce is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 08:43 PM   #3
jong0357
Mad Penguin
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 34
Send a message via Yahoo to jong0357
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mforce
Come on nVidia are you going to try and solve our problems ? or do we have to get hardware from XGI and S3 which have open source Linux drivers ?
I've been having a similar problem since 2003.... And no... They are not going to fix it... Don't feed the dog that bites you. Thats my stance.
jong0357 is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 09:08 PM   #4
mforce
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

On second thought nVidia will never release their driver . They've got to many "clever coding" if you know what I mean . When the time are bad from a hardware point of view there's always that tweek in the drivers that seems to work just right , oh yeah . ATI knows about "driver tweaks" too : quak , quak , quak . Pathetic .
mforce is offline  
Old 05-07-05, 09:33 PM   #5
piyush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

I just tried to make my quadro 4400 work
(spent a fortune to buy the card and now i'm
having so much trouble to get it to work)!

I installed fedora4 (3.91) today. Its a dual xeon
(x86_64)machine. I tried the following versions
of drivers from nvidia/pny.

7162 7174 (patched)
7568

All of them freeze the machine.
I also have tried using suse / mandrake
in the past with similar issues. I could make
the card work with suse for a while with the
7162 driver and 2.6.5 kernel but as soon
as I upgraded my kernel, hell broke loose.

Anyone knows how to make my quadro's work?

Thanks for your comments in advance,
piyush is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 01:17 AM   #6
etymxris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

I'm using suse 9.3 with all the latest patches and the latest suse sanctioned kernel. My card is a 6600 PCIe. When I set things up on a socket 939 system in 64-bit mode, everything worked just fine. But on my dual opteron, I've had nothing but problems. I can get the open source nv driver to work with my DSUB connector at full 1600x1200, but not the DVI connector (which only goes to 1280x1024).

I've tried the latest 2.6.12-rc3-mm3, but it panics before it boots up. Oddly, all 4GB will be recognized without problem on 32 bit, but 64-bit has trouble. My broadcom pcie ethernet adapter won't work unless I disable memory hoisting past the 4gb barrier, unless I'm running the OS in 32-bit mode.

Back to the subject. Whenever I start xorg, the screen blanks, though I can log in remotely and reboot the system. The X process is stuck in the RD state, but appears to be a zombie, using 0 megs of memory. Nothing else is running, for example kde isn't, though it would be if X came up properly. I can't recover the console with CTRL-ALT-F1, though again, I can ssh in and reboot.

When I try this in 32-bits, I always get "no screens found". I can't even get the nv driver working. Only vesa works in 32-bit mode, and that's at 1280x1024.
etymxris is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 06:39 AM   #7
splink
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

So it seems that its a known issue then. This sounds exactly the same across the board.

Ok, so if it is, is there a fix from nvidia. If there is not, then is it a distribution fault on some cards? Is there a recall? Are there chipset incompatabilites ?

Has anyone actually had any response from nvidia to say that "yes it is a problem" ?

I all I want to know is what do I do with my card I paied for 2 days ago. Is it worthless, or is it something which is being investigated?

I am a few steps away of sending the card back to where I had it from and going back to ATI - where I never had an issue with those drivers.

Here is my system spec:

Dual Xeon 2.8
Supermicro X5DAE
650w psu
Gentoo 20004.3
Kernel 2.6.11-r4
1.5 gb interleaved memory
2x ide disks
GF6800GT
ACPI is on - although I might look at turning this off to see if it is this.
Hyperthreading is disabled, and I am only using a single processor kernel to get around this issue.

Glibc version is 2.3.4 20040808-r1
nvidia-glx drivers are 1.0.7174-r4 (have tried r3, r1, 6629, and a whole host of other drivers)
Kernel module is 7174, and loads fine on boot

The only thing which I get in my /var/log/Xorg.0.log is this right at the end of the log:

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1280x1024"
(WW) NVIDIA(0): WAIT (2, 1, 0x8000, 0x00000000, 0x000005dc, 1)
This is with or without GLX being loaded.

What is concerning, is that the card will not work on my other computer, an amd 2000xp, with Windows 2003, with some cheap motherboard in it - its a test machine I use. Also, it will not work in a shuttle pc which I have with windows media centre on there, but I am putting that down to possible power delivery issues to the card itself.

Getting really annoyed with this now, I just wish nvidia would come and say "yes the problem is THIS and you cant do anything about it"
splink is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 06:41 AM   #8
splink
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

oh .. and it is an agp card I have, not PCI-E
splink is offline  

Old 05-08-05, 12:59 PM   #9
kgbudz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

I can confirm this. I just bought a brand new chaintech geforce4 mx 4000 a few days ago. I installed it into my system and could not get it to work. It actually worked once, but that was it. Every time after that, I would get a black screen. I tried several different driver install methods too. Luckily, I had another computer running windows with a geforce2 pro. I swapped the 2 cards and didnt even touch a single setting on my linux box and it worked perfectly. Kind of sucks that nvidias drivers dont work with their own cards. I cannot explain why it worked once, dont know enough about this issue.
kgbudz is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 05:08 PM   #10
kimdino
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

The above problem sounds familiar to me. My machine has an XFX GeForce FX5200 card and is set to triple boot. XP, Mandrake 10.1 & Vector SOHO 5.

I have had no problems with video in XP or Mandrake. I have been using Mandrake with the downloaded nVidia driver (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run) for many months with absolutely no problem.

Yesterday I thought I'd give Vector SOHO a try and installed it. I used the same nVidia driver file that I have been using with Mandrake all this time but when I went to start X I got the black screen.

So it strikes me that the problem may actually be with the Slackware kernel. I have also heard elsewhere that the Fedora 3 kernel and the nVidia driver are imcompatible? Could this be the same problem?
kimdino is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 07:25 PM   #11
kgbudz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

makes sense, im running fedora3
kgbudz is offline  
Old 05-08-05, 08:32 PM   #12
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Cool Re: Black screen using nvidia driver ? Post here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by piyush
I just tried to make my quadro 4400 work
(spent a fortune to buy the card and now i'm
having so much trouble to get it to work)!

I installed fedora4 (3.91) today. Its a dual xeon
(x86_64)machine. I tried the following versions
of drivers from nvidia/pny.

7162 7174 (patched)
7568

All of them freeze the machine.
I also have tried using suse / mandrake
in the past with similar issues. I could make
the card work with suse for a while with the
7162 driver and 2.6.5 kernel but as soon
as I upgraded my kernel, hell broke loose.

Anyone knows how to make my quadro's work?

Thanks for your comments in advance,
Welcome to NVIDIA.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[9800gt] Xorg black screen after installing nvidia driver HacKurx NVIDIA Linux 1 06-07-12 01:29 PM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.