Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-02, 04:54 PM   #1
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default WinXP/Geforce 4 - Sometimes boots to 8-bit color

Does this happen to anybody else? Sometimes when I boot up in Windows XP, it boots to 8-bit color and I have to change it back to 32-bit color. I don't know why this happens. I always have it set to 32-bit color. I'm not doing anything odd when booting up (it didn't just crash or anything).

EDIT: A little more info... I'm using the 30.82 reference drivers (but this did this with earlier drivers too). I'd say it does this one out of 5 boots.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553

Last edited by monkeydust; 08-07-02 at 05:06 PM.
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 09:24 AM   #2
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Default

I sort of had this issue with my GF3 and WinXP. But you said that you're able to simply set it back to 32bit color, and I couldn't do that. In fact, if I tried to increase the color settings, I had only 256 available, and the resolution got bumped much lower when I'd select the higher color setting. This just started out of the blue too, no driver changes or anything at the time.

In fact, my WinXP gave me a nice '!' under Device Manager for the video card, telling me it had been unable to initialize the device (Code 10.). Fortunately this started occuring right about the same time as I was ready to make my yearly upgrade, so I ended up with both a new motherboard and a new video card. I had thought my GF3 video card was to blame (the driver version didn't seem to make a difference- trust me, I tried a bunch), but I tested the system using the new GF4 and had the same issue. I later found that it is my Asus A7M266. For some strange reason, AGP4x mode no longer works properly on that motherboard. When I set it to use 2x mode, everything is fine, but if I force 4x or set it to auto in the bios the issue starts up again.

(My wife's using that motherboard AND that video card now, but only under 2x mode, which btw doesn't seem to have made much difference to overall performance- it was / is just annoying knowing that a feature that's is supposed to be [and was] working doesn't any longer)
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 11:05 AM   #3
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

Yeah, it still recognizes my video card properly when I boot up. It just switches to 8-bit color once in awhile on boot and I have to change it back to 32-bit. Not a big deal really, just was wondering if there was anything that I could do to fix it.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 01:27 PM   #4
sancheuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 186
Default

Do you have a tweaking program running in the background such as nvmax. It happened to me too, i underclocked my video card with nvmax, and sometimes for some reason it would boot up in 8 bit colors. Then when i uninstalled nvmax, it stopped doing it.
__________________
huh?
sancheuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-02, 01:41 PM   #5
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

I have NVMax but I don't have it start when windows starts. I don't have any tweaking program resident at bootup. The only things that I have run at bootup are Zone Alarm and Norton Antivirus.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 06:59 AM   #6
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

Well, I was able to find a copy of the version of the BIOS that came with my video card (I believe v. 4.25.00.22) and reflashed to that version. Things haven't been quite right since I flashed to the newest BIOS (v. 4.25.00.28) - such as refresh rates off by 1 mhz and the occasional 8-bit color thing. So, I believe this BIOS is the one I originally had because it flashes green at POST instead of displaying which card is in there. I bet this is going to fix my problems (so far, so good).
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 02:07 PM   #7
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default

I would guess your windows registration is messd up with driver installation , it happend to me in Win 98Se but then again you haveing this problem in XP
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No color with TV-out on GeForce4 MX mdm NVIDIA Linux 4 06-16-06 06:04 AM
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM
GeForce4 Go 440 and Windows 2000 refresh rates vitocorleone NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-03-02 03:38 PM
Driver support for GeForce4 420 Go and Windows 98? h_happy NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 12 08-25-02 11:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.