Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-03, 05:03 AM   #25
thejpster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Leamington Spa, England
Posts: 2
Default TV out tearing fixed

Aha! I was having the same X crashing on logout problem. I'm on 4191 atm. I'm just about to switch to the new ones to see if that helps.

To change which device gets the Video overlay, you do not need to mess with your X screens.

This was my config before...

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        # Screen 0.0 first
        Screen         "PCScreen"
        # then screen 0.1
        Screen         "TVScreen" leftOf "PCScreen"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "PCCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "TVCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 1
EndSection
and xvinfo said

Code:
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
  Adaptor #0: "NV17 Video Overlay"
...
screen #1
  Adaptor #0: "NV05 Video Blitter"
Swapping over teh screen numbers /only in the Device sections/ fixed the problem.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        # Screen 0.0 first
        Screen         "PCScreen"
        # then screen 0.1
        Screen         "TVScreen" leftOf "PCScreen"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "PCCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "TVCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 0
EndSection
and xvinfo says

Code:
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
  Adaptor #0: "NV05 Video Blitter"
...
screen #1
  Adaptor #0: "NV17 Video Overlay"
So now my TV-Out has the video overlay and all the tearing in my videos has moved to my CRT.

Was driving me mad. Coupled with the crash-on-exit bug I had to reboot an awful lot to figure it out!

[Edit: just to say that KDE still loads on :0.0 and :0.0 is still my CRT. The only thing that seems to have changed is which screen gets the video overlay.]
__________________
--
theJPster
thejpster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 05:29 AM   #26
clockworks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 17
Default Re: TV out tearing fixed

awesome, thanks for the info...=)

-- christopher

Quote:
Originally posted by thejpster
Aha! I was having the same X crashing on logout problem. I'm on 4191 atm. I'm just about to switch to the new ones to see if that helps.

To change which device gets the Video overlay, you do not need to mess with your X screens.

This was my config before...

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        # Screen 0.0 first
        Screen         "PCScreen"
        # then screen 0.1
        Screen         "TVScreen" leftOf "PCScreen"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "PCCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "TVCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 1
EndSection
and xvinfo said

Code:
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
  Adaptor #0: "NV17 Video Overlay"
...
screen #1
  Adaptor #0: "NV05 Video Blitter"
Swapping over teh screen numbers /only in the Device sections/ fixed the problem.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "XFree86 Configured"
        # Screen 0.0 first
        Screen         "PCScreen"
        # then screen 0.1
        Screen         "TVScreen" leftOf "PCScreen"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "PCCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "TVCard"
        Driver "nvidia"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
        Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
        Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
        # This is an nVidia hardware screen
        Screen 0
EndSection
and xvinfo says

Code:
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
  Adaptor #0: "NV05 Video Blitter"
...
screen #1
  Adaptor #0: "NV17 Video Overlay"
So now my TV-Out has the video overlay and all the tearing in my videos has moved to my CRT.

Was driving me mad. Coupled with the crash-on-exit bug I had to reboot an awful lot to figure it out!

[Edit: just to say that KDE still loads on :0.0 and :0.0 is still my CRT. The only thing that seems to have changed is which screen gets the video overlay.]
clockworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-03, 06:53 PM   #27
Se7enLC
Geforce2 MX
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to Se7enLC Send a message via AIM to Se7enLC Send a message via Yahoo to Se7enLC
Default Me again

Same problem, new driver, new install

This time it's Gentoo, kernel version 2.4.20, nvidia driver version 4363. I can get X to start with the "multiple X" screens, but only the first one appears to work. When I try to send something to the second one, it just hangs (X, that is, not the computer).

Any suggestions?
Se7enLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-03, 08:22 PM   #28
xiphmont
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to xiphmont
Default

Ah, I see now that my problems trying to use two heads without twinview are not in isolation. I had been trying to set two screens on one card with no great success myself (driver 4363, Asus Geforce FX5200VS dual DVI out).

I say had been, because the card blew output 1. Although I *think* this was just a random failure, now I'm not certain given the talk of the XFree86 shutdown bug leaving PCI registers flapping in the wind. I've posted about it in a seperate thread, hopefully we'll get a yea or nay from nVidia soon on that possiblity.

If anyone had a dual head card fail trying this please post! I don't want want to give up trying to get this to work, but I also don't want to blow another card. It would be nice to know for sure if it was or wasn't the reason for the card dying.


Monty
xiphmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-03, 09:33 PM   #29
carpy
NVGF4Ti4200
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greater GrandRapids, MI
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to carpy Send a message via Yahoo to carpy
Angry Nvidia 4363/GF4Ti4200/XFree4.3.0/SuSE8.2Pro X Crash

Dual X works. I can attest to that. I was able to watch Gandalf and Frodo doing a great job on my TV...

X still crashes whenever I:
1) Switch to a text-V
2) Ctrl-Alt-BkSpc to kill X
3) Log out...

Is this EVER going to be fixed? It existed in 4191, and we are now several revisions later. I have not tried TwinView because the README says that both screens must be at same resolution, and while the TV does 800x600 I like my CRT at 1280x1024. There are a lot of tweaks in the driver that I don't know much about, but since I found this thread, I guess I'm not alone in this problem.
__________________
--
Matthew Carpenter
matt@eisgr.com
http://www.eisgr.com/

Enterprise Information Systems
*Network Consulting, Integration &
Support
*Web Development and E-Business
*Network Appliances
carpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-03, 10:09 PM   #30
Se7enLC
Geforce2 MX
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to Se7enLC Send a message via AIM to Se7enLC Send a message via Yahoo to Se7enLC
Default twinview different resolutions

I know twinview will let you pick different resolutions for the two monitors, and you can even create modes where only one is on (switching with ctrl-alt-+ and ctrl-alt--)

Playing a movie fullscreen though might be iffy, and it might just "assume" to use one monitor, and it might black out the other.

Does anyone have multiple X screens working and can tell me what it is supposed to do?

- Jeff
Se7enLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-03, 02:44 AM   #31
danimal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default

OK, so I have 2 X desktops (RH9, KDE), but pretty much NO access to the second one. I can see it, but I can't put my mouse there. How handy is that?

Any suggestions?
danimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-03, 02:51 AM   #32
xiphmont
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to xiphmont
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by danimal
OK, so I have 2 X desktops (RH9, KDE), but pretty much NO access to the second one. I can see it, but I can't put my mouse there. How handy is that?

Any suggestions?
You have two X screens named :0 and :1; that behavior is expected if you do nothing special with them. You can have applications use that display explicitly (eg, tell mplayer to use it via the display option), a special window manager setup handle them as two wholly distinct desktops, or use Xinerama mode (Option Xinerama On) to glue the two screens into a single desktop space.

Monty
xiphmont is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-12-03, 03:12 AM   #33
danimal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default

cool... any pointers on how to enable Xinerama?

or is it simply 'Option Xinerama On'?
danimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-03, 04:58 AM   #34
carpy
NVGF4Ti4200
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greater GrandRapids, MI
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to carpy Send a message via Yahoo to carpy
Default TwinView versus Xinerama

TwinView is a mode of operation where two display devices (digital
flat panels, CRTs, and TVs) can display the contents of a single X screen
in any arbitrary configuration. This method of multiple monitor use
has several distinct advantages over other techniques (such as Xinerama):

o A single X screen is used. The NVIDIA driver conceals all
information about multiple display devices from the X server; as
far as X is concerned, there is only one screen.

o Both display devices share one frame buffer. Thus, all the
the functionality present on a single display (e.g. accelerated
OpenGL) is available on TwinView.

o No additional overhead is needed to emulate having a single
desktop.

__________________
--
Matthew Carpenter
matt@eisgr.com
http://www.eisgr.com/

Enterprise Information Systems
*Network Consulting, Integration &
Support
*Web Development and E-Business
*Network Appliances
carpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-03, 08:39 AM   #35
Se7enLC
Geforce2 MX
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to Se7enLC Send a message via AIM to Se7enLC Send a message via Yahoo to Se7enLC
Default xinerame or twinview

OpenGL does *NOT* work in twinview (see my other posting thread), which is why I am trying to get multiple X screens to work.

I will give the xinerama option a look to see if that will help any.

- Jeff
Se7enLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-03, 12:55 PM   #36
danimal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I had twin view working, trouble is I Have a 19" Monitor @1280x1024 and a 15" @1024x768 - the end result being the right hand edge of the small monitor is out of the viewable area.
Great place to loose stuff.
I just want it to work like it does in windows, except without all the windows junk.
danimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hengeveld: Big Data Meets HPC to Solve Hard Problems and Improve Lives News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 10:10 AM
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 07:37 PM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 01:03 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 02:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.