Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-05, 03:00 AM   #1
Daij-Djan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

Hi I am a total newbie with HDTV,
I bought Samsung's new WS-32Z308P hdtv-enabled TV.
Now I want to make windows xp send a hdtv-Signal to my TV.
(I only get 800x600 at 60Hz via TV-Out)

My video card is a GeForce4 Ti4600 with the Conexant CX25871
My Tv does NOT have DVI but only analog inputs. (YUV component, not RGB!)

(I think I need to to go the internal DVI-I but as the TV only has COMPONENT YUV, I need to make it output as YUV... or use a transcoder

P.S I know I should search but I searched for hours and am simply frustrated
Got my new TV and wanted ONLY to display HDTV! (It appeared so easy to me...)
Daij-Djan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-05, 05:48 AM   #2
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

You need dvi on your card to get full hd potential...I believe svideo is a max of 1024x768 and text is blurry that way and colors are not as good.
some of the older hdtvs had a vga slot I think but if you have anything recent they don't. My 46"sony hdtv didn't even had dvi but rather an hdmi plugin. So I went and bought a 150 dollar monster cable that converted dvi(from my 6800) to hdmi. It looks absolutely stunning and text is quite readable and colors are extremely good.
You are probably going to have to get a card that has dvi.
also you pretty much have to get games that support odd widescreen resolutions because if you don't they will look like crap as they won't scale so well. But the games that do work look absolutely stunning.
Go here for good info (widescreengamingforum.com)
BTW there are also component converters you can buy for around 200 dollars that will work. Just search on google for them they exist. I almost got one.
You should have an hdmi plugin though if your tv is a recent design.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:

Last edited by FearMeAll; 05-23-05 at 06:00 AM.
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-05, 10:59 AM   #3
Daij-Djan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearMeAll
You need dvi on your card to get full hd potential...I believe svideo is a max of 1024x768 and text is blurry that way and colors are not as good.
As thankful as I am for an answer the 4ers ?all/most? have DVII:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daij-Djan
(I think I need to to go the internal DVI-I but as the TV only has COMPONENT YUV, I need to make it output as YUV... or use a transcoder
Daij-Djan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-05, 03:47 PM   #4
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daij-Djan
As thankful as I am for an answer the 4ers ?all/most? have DVII:
hmm..read a little more of my post..you can get component converters that will change dvi to component video. It should look pretty good.
look here at a decent price too: dvi to component
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-05, 04:04 PM   #5
Daij-Djan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearMeAll
hmm..read a little more of my post..you can get component converters that will change dvi to component video. It should look pretty good.
look here at a decent price too: dvi to component
I read all of your post but there was no link! What you found looks okay but is it really DVII (RGB) to Component(YUV)?
Daij-Djan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-05, 07:53 PM   #6
quik_2_win
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 205
Default Re: Gefore 4 ti4600 > HDTV > Samsung WS-32Z308P

no, that cable will not convert DVI to analog component. You would need a transcoder to convert VGA to component...or, most 6600GT (and possibly some 6600non-GTs) have a component-out dongle that will work well for HDTV resolutions by supporting most common formats (1080i/720p/ even older EDTV 480p). That would be the easiest and least costly solution as a (quality) transcoder is about the same price as the card...
quik_2_win is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.