Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-05, 09:23 AM   #97
fugu_fish
Registered User
 
fugu_fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxikneedle
To those looking for WS resolutions. It's possible for sure and as EA said in one of the interviews, you just have to edit one of the con files. Now, all the BF2 forums I checked haven't figured out exactly how just yet. But, it is possible so I'm sure eventually (day or two) they'll figure out. Here's a pic to prove WS tho:
http://forgottenhope.bf1942files.com...%20London3.jpg
I've been over on widescreengamingforum.com and so far no one has been able to get it to work. You can edit the .con file but then the game won't start.
__________________

|Antec 900/GB X58A-UD3R|i7-930 @3.6|6GB OCZ|Corsair TX850|Hannspree HF289H 28" monitor |GB GTX460 SLI|Xonar DX|Seagate Hybrid 500GB| WD6400AAKS 640GB/SG 320GB|WD Caviar Black 1TB |Samsung SH-203B |Windows 7 Pro x64 |Sennheiser HD-280
fugu_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 09:28 AM   #98
Sk8erian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 29
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

I'm downloading it right now, but I'm curious about one thing.

Has anyone tested the game with an SLI system with SLI turned on and SLI turned off? I would like to know how much BF2 takes advantage of SLI since I know there is a profile for BF2 already.
__________________
Main Rig:
|MoBo| ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe |PSU| PC Power & Cooling TurboCool 510 SLI |CPU| AMD FX-55 cooled by Zalman CNPS 7700 Cu & Arctic Silver 5 |Graphics| x2 XFX GeForce 6800 Ultra's-SLI |Monitor| ViewSonic 20.1 inch LCD|Memory| x4 512mb PC3200 DDR400 |Storage| x2 Western Digital 74.4GB Raptors-RAID 0 & WD 250gb External|Sound Card| Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum |CD/DVD| NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive|Case| Lian-Li V1000B
3DMark05: 10578


Other Rig:
|MoBo| Intel 865G |PSU| 400W Power Supply|CPU| Intel P4 3.0GHz (Prescott Socket 478) |Graphics| ASUS 9800XT |Monitor| LG Flatron 17in|Memory| x4 256mb PC3200 DDR400 |Storage| Maxtor 160gb 7200RPM|Sound Card| Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit 5.1|CD/DVD| NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive|Case| Cool Window case (not sure name of case)
Sk8erian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 09:37 AM   #99
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

If you want to play without time limitations search this file "gpm_cq.py" and open with notepad and find the line that says:

host.registerHandler('TimeLimitReached', onTimeLimitReached, 1)

put a # infront of it so it says now:

#host.registerHandler('TimeLimitReached', onTimeLimitReached, 1)

save and enjoy i tryied SP and it worked there so maybe MP will work too
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 09:39 AM   #100
Pandora's Box
Registered User
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to Pandora's Box Send a message via MSN to Pandora's Box
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

plays really smooth here! not a single lag or a skip. 1280x960 4xaa 8xaf all settings on high.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.00 | AMD Athlon XP 2700+ | 1.5GB DDR333 RAM | OCZ PowerStream 520Watt | eVGA GeForce 6800 GT 256MB Zalman VF700 CU | Western Digital 120GB 8MB Cache 7200 RPM | Western Digital 60GB 2MB Cache 7200 RPM | Athenatech A602 Case | Linksys WMP54GS SpeedBooster Wireless Card
Pandora's Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 09:44 AM   #101
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by fugu_fish
Where did you hear that? I heard the exact opposite in a thread on totalbf2.com.

link
I don't know the point of your post... I never said it wasn't in the game, I just argued that Widescreen gaming is not a standard in gaming yet. Your post offers nothing to mine or riptides post. All it says is that the game supports widescreen resolutions (which the demo obvisously doesn't so your link seems to be inaccurate as of now).
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:05 AM   #102
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
No its not a standard, not by a long shot. Either deal with it or don't bitch/play.
Give me a break. UT2004 supports widescreen but this, a newer release doesn't? It's a legitimate complaint whether you want to hear about it or not.
Quote:
they chose to not support it because people using widescreen get a large field of view then normal 4:3 users, so it would make it unfair in MP.
LOL unfair my rear. I guess it's unfair when someone else has a nicer ping than me to then?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:05 AM   #103
Assassin
Registered User
 
Assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S.
Posts: 84
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

You need to add this to the shorcut to have custome resolutions/widescreen: "+szx 1680 +szy 1050". Here is an example of my target line ""C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2 Demo\BF2.exe" +menu 1 +fullscreen 1 +szx 1680 +szy 1050".
Assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:09 AM   #104
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,911
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

wow i guess the last posters like missed my post. :/
i said the same thing there.
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-05, 10:10 AM   #105
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Yea if you have a widescreen monitor, playing a game at the standard res is a joke. Games just look downright crappy at standard res on a widescreen monitor. A game as big as this I would expect to support widescreen resolutions. (especially a game that is targeted at enthusiasts machines)
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:13 AM   #106
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

This game will be cool... when its finished.

Crashes to desktop on load for some people.
Server list if buggy and can often hang the entire game.
Shadows and other graphical glitches.
Stuck in f***king 60hz!

And I must say that I feel REALLY good about the fact that the game went gold before this demo was released...
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:15 AM   #107
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Boy
wow i guess the last posters like missed my post. :/
i said the same thing there.
Changing the shortcut doesn't seem to fix it for me. It still sends me back to the desktop.

Here's a thread on this from wsgaming.
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...hp?p=6313#6313
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-05, 10:21 AM   #108
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: BF2: Impressions/Questions

Does anyone know if this game uses over 256mb of Videocard texture memory? Maybe thats why the system memory demands are so high?

I'm playing at 1600x1200 2x/4x all options maxed and the texture swapping is getting to me...
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.