Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-02, 12:06 PM   #1
PerfectApproach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to PerfectApproach Send a message via AIM to PerfectApproach Send a message via Yahoo to PerfectApproach
Question Linux, GeForce4, TV-Output blurry

I'm new to the whole Linux biz. I have a custom-built machine, that I'm multi-booting Win98/XP/Mandrake9 on, and I have the TV set as the default display for all OS's (its a killer setup, really, big screen HD TV, the works).

After jumping through all the appropriate hoops to get Linux and the nVidia GeForce 4 MX 420 (no laughing) to get along, I have discovered that the TV-output in Linux is CONSIDERABLY more blurry than in either Windows installation.

I suspect that there might be 2 problems, but I'm not enough of an expert to figure out which one it is. Either XFree86 is implementing some kind of full-scene anti-aliasing on the desktop (can it happen?), or the "flicker filter" function available to Windows users is misadjusted in Linux, and I haven't figured out how to re-adjust it. Anyone else having problems with blurry TV output in Linux with a GF4 card?
PerfectApproach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-02, 09:44 PM   #2
W3ap0nX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1
Default

When I was running Windows I bought a small utility which did wonders, called TVTool (http://www.tvtool.info/). When I switched to Linux, I was certain I would have to live without all the goodies that TVTool allowed. But -- surprise, surprise -- I found out about a project which offered more or less the same functionality, if maybe in a slightly less polished package. Have a look at http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out/, install it and play around with it, you might just find the right settings.

Good luck!
__________________
______________
Mario
W3ap0nX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-02, 10:12 AM   #3
PerfectApproach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to PerfectApproach Send a message via AIM to PerfectApproach Send a message via Yahoo to PerfectApproach
Default

Thanks. I had actually seen an ad earlier for this tool, and I will be trying the Linux tool to see if this will resolve it.

I was actually hoping there was native driver support for this feature in Linux though, perhaps some settings that are not specified in the readme's or FAQ's. Maybe a line that I can pop into one of the config files and everything will magically work.

Anyone know of any such magic?
PerfectApproach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-02, 03:03 PM   #4
ant
A GeForced Ant
 
ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by W3ap0nX
When I was running Windows I bought a small utility which did wonders, called TVTool (http://www.tvtool.info/). When I switched to Linux, I was certain I would have to live without all the goodies that TVTool allowed. But -- surprise, surprise -- I found out about a project which offered more or less the same functionality, if maybe in a slightly less polished package. Have a look at http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out/, install it and play around with it, you might just find the right settings.

Good luck!
I could never get nv-tv-out to work with my Leadtek GeForce4 Ti 4200. From what I read, this series is not supported yet.
__________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx) and Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net).
ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-02, 04:49 PM   #5
PerfectApproach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to PerfectApproach Send a message via AIM to PerfectApproach Send a message via Yahoo to PerfectApproach
Default Once more into the breech...

Ok, I'm gonna give this nv-tv-thingy a try. Its probably too late to solicit a response, cause this happening tonight, but just for documentation purposes, has there ever been a software conflict consideration with respect to the nVidia drivers themselves? I'd hate to install this neat little doo-hickey on my machine and then suddenly see fireworks on my TV.

If anyone has the nVidia drivers installed, AND has this tv-output config thing installed, and it actually works for them, I could use the advice.
PerfectApproach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 09:28 PM   #6
PerfectApproach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to PerfectApproach Send a message via AIM to PerfectApproach Send a message via Yahoo to PerfectApproach
Default

Well...I installed the nv-tv-out tool. It doesn't do much. In fact, it doesn't do anything at all. It doesn't detect my tv-encoder. For that matter, I can't detect it either. Every indication I have seen is that the encoder has been integrated into the GPU. How much does that suck??

There's lots of talk of the Brooktree encoder and the C-something encoder or whatever...well, mine's inside the damn GPU! So its an nVidia encoder! Does anyone know how to make nv-tv-out work with the cheap-ass GF4 chipsets? I wish I knew C++ so I could do it myself.
PerfectApproach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-03, 10:23 PM   #7
ant
A GeForced Ant
 
ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 348
Thumbs up Try YANC

Quote:
Originally posted by PerfectApproach
Well...I installed the nv-tv-out tool. It doesn't do much. In fact, it doesn't do anything at all. It doesn't detect my tv-encoder. For that matter, I can't detect it either. Every indication I have seen is that the encoder has been integrated into the GPU. How much does that suck??

There's lots of talk of the Brooktree encoder and the C-something encoder or whatever...well, mine's inside the damn GPU! So its an nVidia encoder! Does anyone know how to make nv-tv-out work with the cheap-ass GF4 chipsets? I wish I knew C++ so I could do it myself.
YANC -- http://yanc.sourceforge.net/

I like it. Too bad I still have to restart X server to apply changes like TwinView.
__________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm (http://antfarm.ma.cx) and Ant's Quality Foraged Links (http://aqfl.net).
ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam for Linux Beta Now Available News Archived News Items 0 11-06-12 05:20 PM
Driving a projector with lap-top external video output done NVIDIA Linux 0 11-03-12 06:05 PM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.