Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-08, 06:11 PM   #1
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

* Tile, Dock and Grid modes (Exposť = Tile)
* extremely fast
* fully uses Vista Aero API, ie. windows are active, video is playing, etc.
* just 400KB
* Vista x86 and x64 support
* fully configurable (behaviour, colors, keys, etc)
* possibility to activate by moving mouse to monitor corner
* full usage possible by keyboard only and/or mouse only (or combination)
* searching for windows by starting typing or pressing Ctrl+F

Simply a must have app. And free.

Get it here: http://www.insentient.net/
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 01:41 AM   #2
OliverRedfox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 77
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Personally I'm fan of Vista/XP Virtual Desktop Manager. http://www.codeplex.com/vdm Under Vista, it uses the Aero API to handle live previews. Beside letting me run with a ton of virtual desktops, it has expose type functions too.
OliverRedfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 06:54 AM   #3
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Switcher uses Aero, of course, and it has much more "Exposť" (without "spaces") functionality than the real thing. I love pressing Win+; followed by appname (e.g. "vm" for VMware) and pressing Enter. Nothing could be faster.
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 08:51 AM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Switcher seems pretty damn nice. Thanks for the heads up.

I tried the Vista/XP VDM, but it doesn't handle dual monitor environments as gracefully as I would like. For example, Steam remained open in EVERY desktop.


Edit: With Switcher, I'm cycling through the windows as you would with the Vista Rolodex. When you let go of Win+Tab, it restores the window you have active to the desktop. With Switcher, you have to click the window, press the number assigned to the window, or press enter. Is there anyway to reproduce the "let go and restore" behavior.


Edit 2: Nevermind. By default, Win+` just brings up the Switcher while Win+CAPSLOCK does what I want.

Edit 3: AND there is a shorcut option that activates on shortcut release.

Edit 4: I like edits.

Edit 5: I like this program. I feel Maciful.

Edit 6: How are these edits going?

FINAL EDIT: Wow. This really is one hell of utility. Thanks again.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 09:48 AM   #5
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Tip: setting "Transition duration" to 0.0s makes it extremely fast (but not so impressive to watch)
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 11:02 PM   #6
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Nice find! I'm liking this utility so far.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 11:46 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

does it work with x64?

also, what does it really do? still cant tell...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 04:27 AM   #8
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
does it work with x64?

also, what does it really do? still cant tell...
Yes it works with x64. It's basically Expose for OSX. Where all your windows get tiled up on the screen, but with live previews.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-18-08, 07:57 AM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q
Yes it works with x64. It's basically Expose for OSX. Where all your windows get tiled up on the screen, but with live previews.
how is this different than me hitting the windows button on my mouse (Mx518) and having the windows tiled up on the screen where I can scroll them with the mouse wheel and choose which ever one I want?
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 08:09 AM   #10
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
how is this different than me hitting the windows button on my mouse (Mx518) and having the windows tiled up on the screen where I can scroll them with the mouse wheel and choose which ever one I want?
It's similar. I haven't used the Logitech software under Vista... do the windows have a live preview like playing Video? It's a bit more stylized, bigger windows, etc. At the very least, its worth trying, I think. I mean, its free and is a small download and quick install (and uninstall).

Plus, I've never liked the placement of the Menu button on my MX510.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 09:30 AM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

didnt work for me.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 10:07 AM   #12
LovingSticky
plenty of work, no games
 
LovingSticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 559
Default Re: Switcher - much better than Exposť in OS X

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
how is this different than me hitting the windows button on my mouse (Mx518)
Have Logitech SW myself, but Switcher is much more configurable, has live previews, more display modes (Tile, Dock and Grid), and can be fully operated by keyboard shortcuts (which is programmers heaven).
LovingSticky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.