Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-05, 11:44 AM   #1
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

I'm trying to get TwinView to work on my SuSE 9.3 config with the 7667 drivers. I've done a lot of searching and think I have everything configured properly, so I'd appreciate any insight.

Here are some relevant lines from the X log file when it fails:

Code:
(--) PCI:*(2:0:0) nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] rev 161, Mem @ 0xdc000000/24, 0xd0000000/27

(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.o
(II) Module nvidia: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
        compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.7667
        Module class: XFree86 Video Driver

(II) NVIDIA X Driver  1.0-7667  Fri Jun 17 07:03:12 PDT 2005
(II) NVIDIA Unified Driver for all NVIDIA GPUs
(II) Primary Device is: PCI 02:00:0

(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, CRT"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "RenderAccel" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "CursorShadow" "true"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinView"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-80"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-60"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 1280x1024"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling experimental RENDER acceleration
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling cursor shadow
(**) NVIDIA(0): ConnectedMonitor string: "DFP, CRT"
(**) NVIDIA(0): TwinView enabled
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xDC000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce FX 5200
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.34.20.18.00
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 131072 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "CRT-0, DFP-0"
(EE) NVIDIA(0): The requested configuration of display devices is not
(EE) NVIDIA(0):      supported in the hardware.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
Why is it saying the CRT/DFP combo configuration is not supported in the hardware?

If I comment out the "ConnectedMonitor" line, X starts, but only with the monitor on the DB15 connector. The significant differences in the log file

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s): CRT-0
...
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Only one display device connected; disabling TwinView.
even though there is is an LCD connected via a DVI cable to the DVI port on the 5200... from what I can tell, the card never detects anything on the DVI port.

Any ideas?
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 12:58 PM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Note that the monitor connected to the DVI port is the secondary screen and the one to the plain D-SUB (VGA) the primary. (most cards are wired like this) Because of this the secondmontiorvertrefresh stuff needs to become for the screen connected to DVI and so on.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:16 PM   #3
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Thanks for the reply.

Are there "special" refresh rates required for an LCD connected via DVI?

If i use:

Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "UseEdidFreqs"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "UseEdidFreqs"

or even just comment those options out entirely I still get the "requested configuration of display devices is not supported in the hardware" error...

Also, it doesn't matter whether I say:

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, CRT"

or "CRT, DFP", same error... and it always displays:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "CRT-0, DFP-0"

(with CRT first) regardless of the order specified in the xorg.conf file.

Last edited by eddyg; 07-05-05 at 01:45 PM.
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-05, 08:09 AM   #4
nicjo814
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Are you sure that you should use CRT-0 and DFP-0? If I'm not totally mistaken it could be CRT-1 or DFP-1 or some other combination. You might try to remove the "connectedmonitor" option and check the logfile to see what is auto-detected.
nicjo814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-05, 04:47 PM   #5
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicjo814
You might try to remove the "connectedmonitor" option and check the logfile to see what is auto-detected.
Thanks for the reply. I still haven't had any luck getting TwinView enabled. I did try what you suggested (removed the ConnectedMonitor option, see first post) and it only detects the monitor connected to the DB15 connector. It isn't seeing the LCD connected via the DVI cable at all.

As an interesting side note, I just tried using a DVI-to-VGA adapter on the DVI port and I see a "clone" of the DB15 output... is there something special you have to do to enable "digital" mode on the DVI connector (it appears to be in some sort of analog compatability mode since I can see an image when connected with the DB15 adapter, but nothing when connected with a DVI cable?)
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-05, 01:30 AM   #6
nicjo814
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Sorry, my mistake. I got stuck on the first part of your post. Unfortunately I have no idea what else to try if the DFP isn't detected at all.
nicjo814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-05, 09:03 AM   #7
shadowx10sion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Looking at the README is seems you only have to enter
ConnectedMonitor "CRT, DFP"
or
ConnectedMonitor "DFP, CRT"



Remember, that when using twinview, you share a unified framebuffer between both devices (allowing drags and drops between screens), and you get the benefits of OpenGL acceleration on both displays, but I find you might want a secondary X config file to go back to plain device1 LeftOf device2 configuration for some OpenGL apps and games. Certain screensavers and applications try to span (not so gracefully) even with nVidia's Xinerama extension.

Once you get TwinView working, backup the XFree86/Xorg config file to lets say "XF86Conf.twinview" or "xorg.twinview", then make another config file like "XF86Conf.dualview" or "xorg.dualview", then copy over your XF86Conf/xorg.conf file with these two files before starting X to switch modes. You can also configure a TV, then back the configuration file up to another xorg/XF86Conf file, etc... so you can switch between locations and modes with relative ease.

Hope that helps.
shadowx10sion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-05, 09:53 AM   #8
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowx10sion
Looking at the README is seems you only have to enter
ConnectedMonitor "CRT, DFP"
or
ConnectedMonitor "DFP, CRT"
I have tried that... and in the output in my first post, you'll see that it gives an error message about not being supported. Without the above line, no display is ever detected on the DVI port, even though it is connected.

Quote:
Remember, that when using twinview, you share a unified framebuffer between both devices
Yes, I understand the difference between having a single virtual monitor spanning 2 displays on :0.0 vs. configuring X directly with two separate screens as :0.0 and :0.1.

But that really isn't the problem -- the problem is I cannot get my FX5200 and the Nvidia driver to recognize that there is something plugged in to the DVI port. If I leave out the "ConnectedMonitor CRT,DFP" option, the driver will only detect the display on the DB15 (analog) port. If I include the ConnectedMonitor option (trying to "force" the driver to realize there is a digital LCD connected to the DVI port), I get the "not supported configuration" error message.

Very frustrating.
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-12-05, 11:54 AM   #9
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

So is nobody else using a similar config that can at least say "I have the same setup and it works fine for me" or "nope doesn't work for me either"?
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-05, 09:26 PM   #10
Aaack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Aaack Send a message via AIM to Aaack Send a message via MSN to Aaack Send a message via Yahoo to Aaack
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Hey! I have a FX 5900 with twinview working perfeclty well, here's my xf86config-4:



# File generated by XFdrake.

# ************************************************** ********************
# Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Files"
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
#DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "es"
Option "XkbCompat" ""
Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Generic"
ModelName "1024x768 @ 60 Hz"
HorizSync 31.5-48.5
VertRefresh 50-60
Gamma 1.9 2.1 2.1

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "TwinView"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "30"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "4"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "6"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Option "backingstore"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "VertRefresh" "CRT-0:50-60; CRT-1: 50-60"
Option "HorizSync" "CRT-0: 30-48.5; CRT-1: 30-48.5"
Option "Metamodes" "1024x768,1024x768; 800x600,800x600; 640x480,640x480; 1024x768,NULL;800x600,NULL; 640x480,NULL"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "TwinView"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 2048 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Virtual 2048 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Virtual 2048 768
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 2048 768
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "device1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection


Check the screen section.

Hope you find this useful, good luck!!
Aaack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-05, 08:56 PM   #11
eddyg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Thanks for the reply! (Sorry for taking so long to respond, been away for a while working on other projects.)

Looks like you are using "CRT, CRT" which may indeed work.

However, I'd like to know if somebody has it working with "DFP, CRT". This error message:

(EE) NVIDIA(0): The requested configuration of display devices is not
(EE) NVIDIA(0): supported in the hardware.

leads me to believe that you cannot do TwinView with DFP + CRT, only CRT + CRT...
eddyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-05, 06:10 PM   #12
slippifishi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Geforce FX5200 TwinView help!

Hi,

just thought i'd drop a note to say i'm having a very similar problem getting twinview to work on my geforce fx5200. i only installed suse linux for the first time last weekend, and though im enjoying the linux experience so far, this twinview problems is really getting my goat.

im using an ag neovo lcd display, and trying to run my tv off as the second monitor, for playing games and dvds and what have you. however, when i edit my xorg.conf file, and add the "connectedmonitor" option as "tv, dfp" or "dfp, tv", my flat panel refuses to work. i'm getting output on the tv, but no amount of editing or messing around can seem to get my flat panel to work at the same time :@

if anyone has any ideas, do please tell. i'm dying to watch a dvd and the small screen just isnt enough!
slippifishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.