Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-05, 03:19 PM   #1
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

I did some searching, but really could find my answer. I'm wanting to take my FSB (HTT) from 262Mhz, to 260MHz and increase my mutli from 11x to 11.5x. What are the dis-advantages when doing something like this? I read where is screws with your ram divider, etc.... but is all this true...? thank you
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 03:23 PM   #2
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

It's not bad per-se. But if you use a half multiplier for your CPU you won't gain any extra bandwidth for your memory. IOW, 200x10 = the same bandwidth as 200x10.5.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 03:45 PM   #3
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
It's not bad per-se. But if you use a half multiplier for your CPU you won't gain any extra bandwidth for your memory. IOW, 200x10 = the same bandwidth as 200x10.5.
OK, with that said, would you agree with this: "IF" 1 "JUMP UP" in a multiplier = 200Mhz, then a half multi = 100Mhz, then this mean that if I can GAIN 100more MHz (stability being of a concern) and still use my 260+FSB for my memory bandwidth, then wouldn't that 100MHz increase be benificial?
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD

Last edited by newls1; 07-05-05 at 04:05 PM.
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 06:32 PM   #4
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newls1
OK, with that said, would you agree with this: "IF" 1 "JUMP UP" in a multiplier = 200Mhz, then a half multi = 100Mhz, then this mean that if I can GAIN 100more MHz (stability being of a concern) and still use my 260+FSB for my memory bandwidth, then wouldn't that 100MHz increase be benificial?
Ok .. I think what your saying is if you wanna keep the same FSB (for stability reasons) and up the multiplier on the CPU to only gain frequency increase in the CPU and not the FSB... if thats good? Assuming you cant increase your FSB more but can still be stable at a higher multiplier with that FSB .. then yes... its good.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 06:50 PM   #5
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

**UPDATE** I tried to use the 11.5x multi, but the computer wouldn't post. The CPU really needs more Vcore, but 1.636 is all I can do with my cooling. Ol-well, it was worth a try.....
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 07:30 PM   #6
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

This nice chart shows you why you shouldn't, or should

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=41595

You lose memory bandwidth with half multipliers in the higher FSB range.
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 07:38 PM   #7
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

thanks, that is a great chart....
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-05, 11:44 AM   #8
nIghtorius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 236
Send a message via ICQ to nIghtorius
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

The Atlhon64's memorycontroller has a divider..

memory speed=

("FSB" * Multiplier) / (memdivider) = xxx Mhz

memdivider ~= Multiplier, but when multiplier is 10.5x then memdivider will be 11.
when multiplier is 11.5, memdivider = 12, etc.. only when multiplier is xx.0 then memdivider will be xx.0 (equal)

so when running a 260 Mhz "FSB" @ 10.5 multiplier your memory speed is.
memspeed = (260 * 10.5) / 11 = 248Mhz

and @ 10.0 multiplier it is.
memspeed = (260 * 10) / 10 = 260Mhz

see?
__________________
New!
Rig 'Titan': Intel Core Duo 6600 | Zalman 9500CU-LED | 2GB DDR-2 667 | P5N-SLI | BFG 8800 GTX | 24" Dell FPW2407 | zalman ZM600-HP modular PSU | 1050GB TOTAL HDD | Photosmart 7760 | Microsoft Cordless Laser Desktop 5000 | Logitech Z2300 2.1 | MX700 Backup Mouse | Antec Performance One P180B (Black) | Vista Business 32-bits

Laptop: IBM ThinkPad T43 | Pentium M 750 | Wireless b/g | 60GB 7200RPM | DVD Writer | 512MB DDR2 | 1400x1050 15" | WinXP SP2
nIghtorius is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-24-05, 12:10 AM   #9
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

I can't never get it to come out right when I try to use half multiplers.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 08:47 PM   #10
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

Using a half-multi suits mine as I'm using the 1.5 bios for my mobo, which doesn't allow me to post with HTT at above 230. I can't be bothered to flash back to 1.2 again, so I'm running at 10.5x229, ram is at 200 exactly, system seems stable so far.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 09:02 AM   #11
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony
Using a half-multi suits mine as I'm using the 1.5 bios for my mobo, which doesn't allow me to post with HTT at above 230. I can't be bothered to flash back to 1.2 again, so I'm running at 10.5x229, ram is at 200 exactly, system seems stable so far.
And thats all that really matter, a nice stable system.
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 09:20 AM   #12
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Using a 1/2 multi, why is this BAD?

Well, it was stable, I'm back to stock again. System failed to boot and the screen was garbled in Windows. I restarted and Windows reported a critical error on any of 4 things including CPU and motherboard. So it seems it's not stable after all.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Is it bad to leave geforce overclocked all the time? Creole General Hardware 2 09-23-02 11:13 PM
bad refresh rates with 2960 matze42 NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 09:13 AM
so let's try this again in the new forum - bad performance with correctly inst.driver neutrino NVIDIA Linux 11 08-01-02 04:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.