Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-05, 01:06 PM   #1
finalzero
Registered User
 
finalzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Default Bogus 5600 256MB DDR? Need help to identify

Hi,

New to this forum Just got myself a Leadtek 5950 Ultra replacing my old 9600 Pro card.

Don't know why the reviews said this card was bad, I went from average framerates in World of Warcraft with medium settings to very high framerates at full settings with every graphics option set to full... at 1280x1024 and the game looked amazing!

Okay I need help identifying a card as I think its been reflashed to look like 5600 256MB DDR card when I blieve its actually something lower specced.

The card in question is a PNY Verto 5600 256MB DDR, I purchased this for relatively no money to fit into a Linux box I am building. On initial tests the card seemed to work fine, 2D desktop performance is not an issue and the graphcis are crystal clear; even the DirectX 9c tests I ran worked and there were no artifacts on the screen (at stock speed.. I think).

To make sure the card was working as intended I ghosted a test image of Windows XP to the soon-to-be-linux box which was setup with SP2 and DX9c; after installing the latest nVidia drivers I installed a few games and put the card through its paces.. and thats where the problems began.

I tested some old games like Soldier of Fortune which should be okay for this card but after about 5 minutes into the game the screen appeared to freeze monetarily and then the graphics started to break up.. first I got lots of artifacts where certain blocks a fex pixels in size were missing or showing a flat colour... later the image started to mess up and then the whole system just slowed down - only option was to reboot.

I also tried Far Cry at low settings and same problem - the system I am testing on is a modest AMD Sempron 2400+ on an MSI motherboard with 512MB PC3200 DDR RAM, I am using a 350W power supply which should be more than enough and the machine is at stock settings.

To rule out the PC I tested the same card on an intel box and I experienced the same problems; after reading up on some forums I understand some not so genuine induviduals have been flashing GeForce cards to appear as something else i.e in this case a lower spec card flashed to appear like a 5600 with 256MB DDR ram.

Here are the pics from eBay (sorry no digital camera):





I am sure its been reflashed so can anyone shed any light on this card? If I can find out what it should be at least I can reflash it back to the stock BIOS image or a suitable image. I checked the PNY Verto products and as far as I can tell they never made a GeForce 5600 with 256MB DDR ram (I think there was a 128MB version though).

Thanks in advance,

FZ

__________________

Dual P4 Xeon Workstation
2 x Intel P4 Xeon's OC'ed @ 3.45Ghz
ASUS PC-DL Deluxe Motherboard with Custom FZ BIOS
4 x 512MB Mushkin PC3200 DDR-RAM
Leadtek 5950 Ultra 256 OC'ed to 500Mhz/1000Mhz
Creative-Labs Audigy 2ZS 7.1
2 x Eizo Nano F930 21" Monitors @ 1600x1200+105Hz each
1 x 40GB Maxtor Ultra IDE (BOOT)
4 x 250GB SATA Drives in RAID 0+1
"lots-o-cooling-fans"
Borg Cube Case (Ying-Yang Server Cube Black)


Last edited by finalzero; 07-10-05 at 01:22 PM.
finalzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-05, 07:02 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Bogus 5600 256MB DDR? Need help to identify

Im having trouble finding any PNY 5600s that look like that (though there are plenty of 256Mb ones), most are black and silver. One sure way to tell if you have the right card is to take off the heatsink and see what the core says on it. Also, there should be a model number on it somewhere, find it and look it up.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-05, 11:03 AM   #3
mblue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Missouri
Posts: 16
Default Re: Bogus 5600 256MB DDR? Need help to identify

http://images.search.yahoo.com/searc...t=114&ei=UTF-8

looks like it to me. Although, with the blue pcb and the ram sinks it also looks alot like the Albatron version.
mblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-05, 04:30 PM   #4
rohit
Awaiting WGF 2.0
 
rohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,174
Default Re: Bogus 5600 256MB DDR? Need help to identify

-Do you have rivatuner, install it and see what does it say bout your card 64bit or 128bit nv3x. this will determine wheather its a 5600 or no.
-maybe the card you have is this http://www.albatron.com.tw/english/i....asp?pro_id=56 minus the FAN. the fan is replaced with PNY fan (Dont know why though, and also is the BIOS).
-What do the stickers behind the card say?
-does the pcb of your card have a PNY logo anywhere. generally card mfg's put hir logo on the PCB. its not a fixed place though.
__________________
|C.P.U : s939 AMD Athlon64 3200+ (newcastle) |
|MoBo : ASUS A8V Deluxe ||RAM: [512 x 2]MB Transcend DDR400 (pc3200) |
|V.G.A : LeadTek a400GT TDH (350/1000) [GeForce 6800GT] |
|Sound: RealTek Integrated. |
|P.S.U : PowerSafe 450w |
|MISC.: Logitech Cordless DUO(MX700 + Wireless Keyboard)||Lite-On DVD CD-RW Combo 52x16x52
|3dMark'05: 4893 [@ 350/1000]
rohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.