Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-05, 11:57 PM   #1
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Well I decided to put Wow down for a while and try the new adventure packs in EQ 2. The WoW end game just isnt exciting me at all. Be nice to see more of what EQ 2 has to offer for now. I have 100% vitaility on my 32 defiler so I should get a nice little boost from that.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:30 AM   #2
lognoronon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 264
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Atleast you have a rig that can run the damn game now (I would hope anyway ). That game is coded horribly for how it looks (SOE at work as usual) My rig runs the game like total ass and I don't consider it to be a crap rig. Not top of the line but not crap. But I admit I have not played it since Nov so maybe they made MAJOR performance improvements to it. I have stopped WOW for now because of the same reasons. I have gone back to EQ 1 though
__________________
System

Cooler Master Storm Trooper case
Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3
I7-2600k
8 Gig of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560 TI
Lite On 20x DVD +- RW
WD 160 gig 7200 rpm hd
WD 750 gig 7200 rpm hd
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Razer Naga mouse
Corsair GS700
LG 22" L226WTQ

lognoronon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:40 AM   #3
datamage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 88
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Let us know how EQ2 fares these days. I admit that raiding MC/Onyxia has lost its charm. I've almost been tempted to re-install EQ2 as well.

- D.
datamage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:43 AM   #4
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Well. EQ 2 still runs like a dog lognoronon. I never had the stutter problem but it never ran great to begin with. My average framerates are up and I can now play the game @ 1600x1200 with 4xAA/16xAF. My minimum framerates are still just as bad as my 6800GT SLI setup. ANd Cities still chug for me. I'm gonna have to upgrade my memory to see a sizable improvement to texture thrashing.

Other than that I am fairly impressed. Game has been improving by leaps and bounds really. From a PVE perspective. Splitpaw Saga is a lot of fun and makes me glad I do station access.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:49 AM   #5
lognoronon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 264
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Maybe I'll just get the all access thing and reinstall EQ 2 just to mess with it a little bit and I can still have EQ 1 going as my main game. Is it still a meager 4 character limit? (that pissed me off royaly).
__________________
System

Cooler Master Storm Trooper case
Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3
I7-2600k
8 Gig of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560 TI
Lite On 20x DVD +- RW
WD 160 gig 7200 rpm hd
WD 750 gig 7200 rpm hd
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Razer Naga mouse
Corsair GS700
LG 22" L226WTQ

lognoronon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 02:08 AM   #6
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lognoronon
Maybe I'll just get the all access thing and reinstall EQ 2 just to mess with it a little bit and I can still have EQ 1 going as my main game. Is it still a meager 4 character limit? (that pissed me off royaly).

With station access its a 10 charactor limit. Without station access its a 6 charactor limit.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 02:17 AM   #7
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Grrr, i want eq2 now :d
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 09:41 AM   #8
Marcos
think of me not at all
 
Marcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Americas
Posts: 845
Send a message via AIM to Marcos
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

wait for the WoW xp before you come back i guess.

have you raided MC and Onxyia? You are going to miss blackwing lair coming in a few weeks as well.

Oh well one less alliance.
__________________
[64 3500+][MSI Neo2 Plat] [6800gt][Audigy 2][Hamixada is a fag]


<-- worst. smiley. ever.
Marcos is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-05, 09:46 AM   #9
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Yeah Splitpaw pak was done really well...though with my zerker I cannot beat that Pit Champion..tried like 8 times even with full potions and superb gear
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 10:53 AM   #10
lognoronon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 264
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos
wait for the WoW xp before you come back i guess.

have you raided MC and Onxyia? You are going to miss blackwing lair coming in a few weeks as well.

Oh well one less alliance.
I have beaten MC and Onyxia many many times. The game is still getting boring. EQ 1 is great cause of all the content plus 1 major thing that puts it above everything else. AA's WOW needs some sort of micro advancement for the people just idling at 60 doing the same instance for the 100th time with nothing to gain from it. I am not familiar with the high end game of EQ 2 since I stopped playing in Nov when WOW came out.
__________________
System

Cooler Master Storm Trooper case
Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3
I7-2600k
8 Gig of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560 TI
Lite On 20x DVD +- RW
WD 160 gig 7200 rpm hd
WD 750 gig 7200 rpm hd
Logitech G15 Keyboard
Razer Naga mouse
Corsair GS700
LG 22" L226WTQ

lognoronon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 01:53 PM   #11
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

Wow lost it's luster really fast after lvl 60, even with battlefield. You can only play the few high end instances so many times(me being twice and bored silly after that). And again, my biggest complaint about wow is the community.

I'm also back to eq2. Really a better game imo. I just like the atmosphere, music and art better I guess. Draws me in to my charater more. Also, I think they really have polished up the game a lot since the last time i played a few months ago. Seems to run a bit better and it just seems more user friendly overall for some odd reason. I'll play month to month for now.

BTW, i seem to be running decent with 6xaa/16xaf, 1280x1064, textures at max and the rests at high. Sliders very from option to option though and are really still just set to that old guide that was going around at the beginnig of launch.
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-05, 07:23 PM   #12
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Well back to EQ 2 for now.

I only tried WOW druing beta. EQ2 has had me since I got into that beta. If you guys are ever on Kithicore server, I have a 49 zerker and 24 pally if ya ever need help.
Splitpaw is a blast I must say. I didnt care as much for the vampire one that came before. I got to mess around with the expansion a bit at E3 and that looks great as well. They keep adding high end content like crazy. I have wanted to try wow for a bit, but then SOE turns around and adds more high end stuff...lol...
Nrdstrm
Corbijn - 49 Zerker - Kithicore
Aqot - 24 Pally - Kithicore
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
[Regression] "6 little screens" problem is back with 302.07 (AU0-8428 pannel) mile-igad NVIDIA Linux 6 06-26-12 08:10 AM
New DLC Available: Jagged Alliance - Back in Action: Point Blank DLC News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
PSN Dusts Self Off, Gets Back Online News Gaming Headlines 0 06-10-12 02:30 AM
Thinking about switching back to Windows if I can't get this to work!!! dungscooperdave NVIDIA Linux 7 08-15-02 08:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.