Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-05, 08:46 PM   #1
wrugoin
Smugzilla
 
wrugoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 157
Default No post with new memory

Hey all,

I just got my memory upgrade from Newegg today. 1GB (2x512mb) PC-3200 OCZ Gold, 2-2-2-5 kit. Unfortunately, I can't get my rig to boot with them installed.

Before installing, I went to the bios and set everything to default and shut down. I installed the new memory and hit power. I get 3 long beeps when the system powers on. No post, no boot. I put in my old memory and Im fine.

I went to bios and adjusted my settings, and checked the DRAM voltage. It's set to auto, but only has three settings: 2.5v, 2.6v and 2.7v I found out through some research leading me to the mft's website that it needs 2.8v. I'm kind of upset because Newegg didn't have this info at all on it's website.

So my question is, will Ram not run at all on a Mobo that doesn't meet the voltage requirements? If set at 2.7v, is there any way to get this memory to run? And if not, do you think I have a case to get a swap for different memory because Newegg failed to give a voltage requirement on the purchase page while just about all their other memory clearly displays the Ram's needs?

Granted, I love Newegg. I shop there all the time and recommend them to others, but I feel this lack of information at least justifies them swapping the memory without the restocking fee for memory of equal value. I'd be glad to pay extra for memory that'll work on my system, but I'd be upset having to pay $21 to refund my memory and have to make another purchase. An equal swap seems fair. What do you think?
__________________
Mobo: Gigabyte X58
Power Supply: Corsair 750w
CPU: Intel i7 Core 920 @ 3.2GHz
Memory: 6GB Patriot Viper
Video: GTX 570 @ Stock Speeds
SSD/HDD: OCZ Agility3 240G, WD750G Black & WD 2T Green
Optical:ASUS 20X DVDR DVD Burner with LightScribe, Pioneer 16X Slot DVD
Sound: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music,
Display1: Dell 2405 PFW 24" Flatscreen
Display2: Samsung 940bx 19" Flatscreen
Input: Razer Copperhead - Saitek Eclipse
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
wrugoin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 08:54 PM   #2
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: No post with new memory

I've ordered 3 kits of OCZ memory from newegg and two were defective right out of the box.

Try one stick at a time and see what happens. 2.7v should be enough to POST the system with.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 09:11 PM   #3
wrugoin
Smugzilla
 
wrugoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 157
Default Re: No post with new memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
I've ordered 3 kits of OCZ memory from newegg and two were defective right out of the box.

Try one stick at a time and see what happens. 2.7v should be enough to POST the system with.
THANKS RIP!

I didn't think to test each one individually, I was convinced it was a lack of voltage. But sure enough, I put one in the system, No boot, no post. I put the other in, and BEEP!, Posts fine, boots fine. Put the 1st one back in, no post, no boot. It looks like I have an RMA on my hands. Thank goodness I bought from Newegg and not some 2nd rate company. Although I'm upset I'm going to have to wait another week, at least I know my system can handle the memory until I upgrade to an Nforce4 mobo, and new CPU.

Thanks again
__________________
Mobo: Gigabyte X58
Power Supply: Corsair 750w
CPU: Intel i7 Core 920 @ 3.2GHz
Memory: 6GB Patriot Viper
Video: GTX 570 @ Stock Speeds
SSD/HDD: OCZ Agility3 240G, WD750G Black & WD 2T Green
Optical:ASUS 20X DVDR DVD Burner with LightScribe, Pioneer 16X Slot DVD
Sound: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music,
Display1: Dell 2405 PFW 24" Flatscreen
Display2: Samsung 940bx 19" Flatscreen
Input: Razer Copperhead - Saitek Eclipse
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
wrugoin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 09:21 PM   #4
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: No post with new memory

This Vdimm thing is getting a little out of hand. This is the second instance I have seen about problems with new ram where the required voltage was 2.8V or better. The sellers should specify voltage reqs when they are this high.
2.7V might boot with one stick but I would just rma both and get what you need. Newegg will not charge a stocking fee if you call them and tell them your problem. You might have to talk to a supervisor but that should be all.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 09:42 PM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: No post with new memory

Yea 2.7v will probably be fine, you might have to relax the timings however.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 01:40 AM   #6
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: No post with new memory

/sighs

Yet another bad OCZ kit from newegg. WTF.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 09:17 PM   #7
wrugoin
Smugzilla
 
wrugoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 157
Default Re: No post with new memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
/sighs

Yet another bad OCZ kit from newegg. WTF.

OK, now we have a different issue. I don't think it's the memory anymore, now I believe the one slot on the motherboard is crap. I put the memory that I determined was faluty into the 3rd slot.... and now I have the computer running with both installed. I put one of the sticks back into the bad slot, BAM, no post, no boot.....3 long beep codes. I think I might have a bad memory slot on my motherboard, or the memory controller is shot.

Anyhow, in the two good slots, my memory is running at 2.7v with timings at 2.5-3-3-6 instead of 2-2-2-5 and seems to be very stable. I ran 3DMark 03 and 05 three times each and never crashed or anything. (BTW, anyone have a good memory test to catch faulty memory?)

What sux is if I want to upgrade the motherboard... I'm looking at a new CPU and Videocard also. I can't see spending money to stay with Nforce2, and if I upgrade to A64 w/ Nforce4 mobo, I'll want to switch to PCI-e 16x video which is another $350 for the 6800GT. Oh well.
__________________
Mobo: Gigabyte X58
Power Supply: Corsair 750w
CPU: Intel i7 Core 920 @ 3.2GHz
Memory: 6GB Patriot Viper
Video: GTX 570 @ Stock Speeds
SSD/HDD: OCZ Agility3 240G, WD750G Black & WD 2T Green
Optical:ASUS 20X DVDR DVD Burner with LightScribe, Pioneer 16X Slot DVD
Sound: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music,
Display1: Dell 2405 PFW 24" Flatscreen
Display2: Samsung 940bx 19" Flatscreen
Input: Razer Copperhead - Saitek Eclipse
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
wrugoin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 09:38 PM   #8
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: No post with new memory

http://www.memtest86.com/
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-05, 10:28 PM   #9
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: No post with new memory

By changing slots with the memory is it running dual channel?
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe Western Digital Caviar SE TB RAID 0/1 PowerLink LPK2-30 400W LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVDR/RW/ROM MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM
Best DDR Memory... pelly General Hardware 10 09-01-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.