Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-05, 09:54 PM   #1
wrugoin
Smugzilla
 
wrugoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 157
Default 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

I'm starting to research for my next big computer upgrade and I'm deadset on sticking with AMD. For the longest time, I thought the only difference in A64s were that at first they came out in Socket 754, and then repaced by the better Socket 939 version. Now I find that within the 939 version there's at least 4 different "Code name" models. From Anandtech's July 2005 64bit CPU pricing:

AMD Athlon 64 (939) 3500+ 512KB Hammer
AMD Athlon 64 (939) 3500+ 512KB Newcastle
AMD Athlon 64 (939) 3500+ 512KB Venice
AMD Athlon 64 (939) 3500+ 512KB Winchester

I've deleted the prices and vendors....

Now I find 4 different versions of the 3500+ (939). Can someone explain to me the difference? Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks
__________________
Mobo: Gigabyte X58
Power Supply: Corsair 750w
CPU: Intel i7 Core 920 @ 3.2GHz
Memory: 6GB Patriot Viper
Video: GTX 570 @ Stock Speeds
SSD/HDD: OCZ Agility3 240G, WD750G Black & WD 2T Green
Optical:ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe, Pioneer 16X Slot DVD
Sound: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music,
Display1: Dell 2405 PFW 24" Flatscreen
Display2: Samsung 940bx 19" Flatscreen
Input: Razer Copperhead - Saitek Eclipse
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
wrugoin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:04 PM   #2
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

One difference is the Hammer and Newcastle are on the 130nm process and the Winchester and Venice are on the 90nm.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:11 PM   #3
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

The Venice core has improved memory controller and supports new instruction sets like SSE3. Oh and BTW don't waste your money on the 3500+, as the 3000+ can easily surpass it (when overclocked).
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:12 PM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Get the venice
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:21 PM   #5
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Quote:
Oh and BTW don't waste your money on the 3500+, as the 3000+ can easily surpass it (when overclocked).
Unless you're like jAkUp and have lots of money to burn If you don't plan on overclocking then get the 3500+. From reviews I've read they both overclock about the same.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:27 PM   #6
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

The 3000+ is not a sure bet for surpassing a 3500+. I had one that didn't make it over 2.0GHz. It's a risk to assume that it will overclock well.

Get the venice.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:35 PM   #7
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

If you're doing 939 why don't you just hold off a little bit and wait for dual core to come down or for you to save some cash up. To spend a good chunk of cash now when in a few months you can get something much better wouldn't be the best use of the money. In your sig I see a Barton 3200. There isn't going to be THAT big of a difference with the upgrade.

If your set on getting that 3500 now...go Venice. However, if I were you I'd just set on that cash for a little longer and get a dual core later.


After looking at your specs again...I see that you're probably going to have to upgrade your video card too if your going PCI-E. If you're doing a whole system revamp I see why you would want a less costly processor.

Venice. =D
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:52 PM   #8
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qlitchford
If you're doing 939 why don't you just hold off a little bit and wait for dual core to come down or for you to save some cash up. To spend a good chunk of cash now when in a few months you can get something much better wouldn't be the best use of the money. In your sig I see a Barton 3200. There isn't going to be THAT big of a difference with the upgrade.

If your set on getting that 3500 now...go Venice. However, if I were you I'd just set on that cash for a little longer and get a dual core later.


After looking at your specs again...I see that you're probably going to have to upgrade your video card too if your going PCI-E. If you're doing a whole system revamp I see why you would want a less costly processor.

Venice. =D
Meh...$146 for a Venice 3000+ isn't a big chunk of change. I say do it. I'm probably going to.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-05, 12:09 AM   #9
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Meh...$146 for a Venice 3000+ isn't a big chunk of change. I say do it. I'm probably going to.
Actually on ewiz.com you can get a 3000+ Venice for $120. A month ago it was $117 shipped (where I got mine)
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 03:01 AM   #10
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Thats OEM and probably doesn't include the HSF. According to resellerratings.com, ewiz.com's returns/replacements are not nearly as good as newegg's.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 04:52 AM   #11
macatak
Registered User
 
macatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

According to this chart there are five different 3500+ CPUs
http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/Default.aspx
PIC
__________________
WinXP Home Edition SP2/Athlon 3500+Newcastle/MSI K8N Diamond/BFG7800GTX OC/Antec 550TrueControl 2.0/1GIG DDR400Kingmax/Acer AL2016W LCD/SB Live!/Audigy2 ZS
macatak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 08:13 AM   #12
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: 4 different A64 3500+ (939)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
Thats OEM and probably doesn't include the HSF. According to resellerratings.com, ewiz.com's returns/replacements are not nearly as good as newegg's.
Yeah, while NewEgg is often overpriced, I'll gladly take the extra money for the assurance that they have an awesome RMA process, they are easy to deal with, and they ship FAST.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.