Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-05, 12:48 PM   #25
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Lame :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
hahaha...well, I have to update to the latest BIOS until the core is recognized correctly. And I have no idea how to OC a 64 with all the crazy HTT and stuff. I'll have to look into it and make sure I don't screw anything up.

I guess this baby can be pushed pretty far with minimal increases in vcore and minimal temperature increases all on the stock HSF. w00t!
Yeah, you shouldn't have to go past 1.5 to get your O/C target. Anyway, as for the HTT stuff, it's pretty much the same as the FSB (as far as you need to be concerned for OCing), just don't forget the hypertransport bus is set on a ratio of the HTT (1x, 2x, 3x, 4x, or 5x, 5x is set by default). Lowering the ratio does not seem to affect performance but it does help stability. I'd set it to 4x to start with. Other than that you should be in familiar territory. Good luck!
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:11 PM   #26
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

yeah, it's nFORCE3 Ultra and I hope there aren't any issues, either. But Zoomy said he had no problems with his board at all, and I feel pretty confident in Epox.

And so, Ninja, I should put the multiplier at 4x and start OCing the HTT from there?

How does it work then? Like, if I put the mult. at 4x and bump HTT up to 300...that's 1200? That's 600MHz slower...

Oh wait, it's doubled right? So that would be 2400?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:25 PM   #27
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Lame :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by superkyle
How does it work then? Like, if I put the mult. at 4x and bump HTT up to 300...that's 1200? That's 600MHz slower...

Oh wait, it's doubled right? So that would be 2400?
No no, the hypertransport bus is not your CPU clockspeed. It works off a seperate multiplier. It's sort of an FSB multiplier, so to speak. Your CPU still has its own multiplier. So there are two multipliers to remember - the hypertransport and the CPU. Raising the HTT will raise your effective "FSB" and CPU speed as well. The default hypertransport ratio is 5x (for 1000MHz) so changing it to 4x is a good place to start for overclocking, since you cannot go beyond the 3000's 9x CPU multiplier.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:29 PM   #28
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
No no, the hypertransport bus is not your CPU clockspeed. It works off a seperate multiplier. It's sort of an FSB multiplier, so to speak. Your CPU still has its own multiplier. So there are two multipliers to remember - the hypertransport and the CPU. Raising the HTT will raise your effective "FSB" and CPU speed as well. The default hypertransport ratio is 5x (for 1000MHz) so changing it to 4x is a good place to start for overclocking, since you cannot go beyond the 3000's 9x CPU multiplier.
Okay, then I guess I still don't get it. How is lowering the HTT multiplier going to help me OC?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:44 PM   #29
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Lame :(

Because if you leave it too high then it will clock your FSB too high and make your system unstable. Remember it is set at a default 5x @ 1000MHz so if you set your HTT to 250 your effective FSB becomes 1250MHz, but if you set the multiplier to 4x it would be 1000MHz, and so on. I think 250 HTT for 2250MHz and 4x hypertransport would be a good starting point for you.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:53 PM   #30
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

hmm...okay...is tehre a guide I can read up on this somewhere?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 08:25 AM   #31
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

Everything is setup and working great! I just have to finish going through and installing some various drivers, apps, etc., but man...I love this computer already. The heatsink was SO EASY to put on! I love it!

The CPU runs so cool (and at 1.37v) and it was recognized no problem right out of the box. EPoX support told me I would have to flash to the latest BIOS, but I don't know if I actually need to. I suppose I should though, just to be on the safe side, right?

I'l have to mess with OCing tonight or maybe just wait until this weekend. I don't know...but man, it's great.

The motherboard is phenomenal, too! At the post, it displays all my fan speeds, plus my CPU temp and the case ambient temp, the memory CAS and timing (I'm at 2T by default. I'll have to change that)

Man, this system is going to ROCK.

EDIT: And Ninja, I understand what you were talking about now. I just wasn't putting together that the HTT should stay at 1000MHz when OCing. I don't know why it was so hard to get, but yeah...
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 08:46 AM   #32
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

I never ran those programs because I never saw them as meaning anything. More often than not, those scores have no correlation to gaming/real world performance.

All I know is that I could run FarCry at 1280x1024 with 4xAA and 8xAF at a minimum of 40FPS.

That was the most graphically demanding game I had. Everything else was cake for my machine.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-05, 08:54 AM   #33
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Lame :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
EDIT: And Ninja, I understand what you were talking about now. I just wasn't putting together that the HTT should stay at 1000MHz when OCing. I don't know why it was so hard to get, but yeah...
It's all that NIN man, it's rotting your brain.

Glad your system is working good, enjoy it!
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 08:54 AM   #34
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Lame :(

Well, since you have no scores to go by, can you at least notice any difference from your old Barton cpu?
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 09:16 AM   #35
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,336
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Lame :(

i am glad you are enjoying that epox board! enjoy your setup!
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 09:27 AM   #36
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Lame :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
Well, since you have no scores to go by, can you at least notice any difference from your old Barton cpu?
I just installed the nFORCE and ForceWare drivers this morning before work. I got...sidetracked last night and was unable to do much after installing Windows. So, as of yet, besides the blazing fast bootup time, no, I haven't noticed a difference.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starcraft Ghost - How lame is that?!?! DenverBuc Gaming Central 2 09-19-02 09:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.