Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-02, 04:53 PM   #1
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Post SuSE8.1 - 4191 -WORKING AT LAST- SRC.RPM

Hi all,
First of all Thanx Nvidia for everything! Keep up the good work.

:Specs:
SuSE 8.1, AMD Athlon 900, Geforce 2MX/MX400, ASUS A7V

Ok i have just installed the 3123 drivers with src.rpm recompiling and installing i got this message.:

Module NVdriver loaded, with warnings!

Anyhow i cant figure out why this message is shown everytime i install the drivers.
I have to say the (SRC.RPM) 3123 are doing good! no more X Crashes. much beter then the precompiled rpm.
GLXGEARS::
5786 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1157.200 FPS
6420 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1284.000 FPS
6254 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1250.800 FPS
6494 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1298.800 FPS
6483 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1296.600 FPS
6596 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1319.200 FPS
6517 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1303.400 FPS
6652 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1330.400 FPS
Is this a good result?

I am gonna try the 4191 (again) but now the SRC.RPMS. lets c whats gonna happen
Keep you updated.

Peace.

Last edited by feeyo; 12-21-02 at 05:32 PM.
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-02, 05:27 PM   #2
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Post src.rpm 4191

Hi i am back again.

I have installed the src.rpm 4191 and still no X crash!! wow...its going better then the other times that i have installed the 4191.
it seems my x server is stable.

but still same warning!

"Module NVdriver loaded, with Warnings!"

glxgears :
6494 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1298.800 FPS
7727 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1545.400 FPS
7721 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1544.200 FPS
7735 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1547.000 FPS
7724 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1544.800 FPS
7731 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1546.200 FPS
7725 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1545.000 FPS
7727 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1545.400 FPS

Is this good? Please let me know what it means.

For people having same troubles in installing the 4191 drivers.

this is how i did it:
1. First of all you need to have the "kernel source" installed.
2. Get out of your "X" reboot and start in txt mode.
3. rpm -e NVIDIA_GLX
4. rpm -e NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123 or other version you have installed.
5. rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.src.rpm
6. rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.src.rpm
7. seek the line:
Wrote: /usr/src/packages/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.rpm
or could be other path for you but seek for the path after the "Wrote"
8. rpm -ivh /usr/src/packages/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4191.rpm
9. rpm -ivh /usr/src/packages/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-4191.rpm
And install is completed. please check your XF86Config (/etc/X11/) try to open it with emacs.
Edit the "Device Section"
Driver "nvidia"
And the "Module Section"
Remove the Load "dri" or Load "GLcore"
and add the Load "glx" if its not done already

You can try to add Load "NoRenderAccell"
Save the XF86Config file.

I have to say these settings and stuff i did are made on my SuSE8.1 configured system.
Anyhows... Goood Luck!.

Peace..
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-02, 05:43 PM   #3
rnf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Module NVdriver loaded, with warnings!
I think this is due to the fact that the NVIDIA kernel driver isn't licensed under the GPL and thus is "tainting" your kernel. Nothing to worry about.
Quote:
7727 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1545.400 FPS

Is this good? Please let me know what it means.
It means that the 'glxgears' program computes 1545 frames/images per second. It's not the panacea but at least it indicates that you're probably using the hardware for OpenGL rendering. You might also try "glxinfo" to check the status of your setup, it gives plenty of useful information.
rnf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 05:15 AM   #4
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Post glxinfo

Thanks,.
So thats what i saw to yes about the license. ok now i know its no big deal.
this is my glxinfo:

feeyo@earth:~> glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: No
server glx vendor string: Brian Paul
server glx version string: 1.4 Mesa 4.0.3
server glx extensions:
GLX_MESA_pixmap_colormap, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_MESA_release_buffers, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
client glx vendor string: Brian Paul
client glx version string: 1.4 Mesa 4.0.3
client glx extensions:
GLX_MESA_pixmap_colormap, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_MESA_release_buffers, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
GLX extensions:
GLX_MESA_pixmap_colormap, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
GLX_MESA_release_buffers, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: Brian Paul
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa X11
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 4.0.3
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multisample, GL_ARB_multitexture,
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_compression,
GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3,
GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_EXT_abgr,
GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_blend_func_separate,
GL_EXT_blend_logic_op, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract,
GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint, GL_EXT_convolution, GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array,
GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_histogram, GL_EXT_packed_pixels,
GL_EXT_paletted_texture, GL_EXT_point_parameters, GL_EXT_polygon_offset,
GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap, GL_EXT_texture3D,
GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3,
GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_vertex_array,
GL_HP_occlusion_test, GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip, GL_INGR_blend_func_separate,
GL_MESA_resize_buffers, GL_MESA_window_pos, GL_NV_blend_square,
GL_NV_texgen_reflection, GL_SGI_color_matrix, GL_SGI_color_table,
GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_pixel_texture,
GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp, GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp,
GL_SGIX_depth_texture, GL_SGIX_pixel_texture, GL_SGIX_shadow,
GL_SGIX_shadow_ambient
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x21 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 0 0 0 None
0x22 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x23 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x24 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x25 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x26 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x27 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x28 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None


I guesse its ok right?
recompiling the source.rpm was really the best method for me, its so stable now. yippeee.
From now on i'll be doing that with the future drivers
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 05:44 AM   #5
rnf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
direct rendering: No
...
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa X11
Aarg, it's not using your hardware probably because it's using the "standard" OpenGL libraries. Here is what I get:
direct rendering: Yes
...
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce4 Ti 4600/AGP/SSE2

Did you install the corresponding NVIDIA_GLX rpm as well?
rnf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 06:52 AM   #6
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default No rendering :(

Yes i have installed the NVIDIA_GLX 4191.
What strange, by the way my x isn't so stable anymore freezes alot

i installed the drivers like i wrote in top messages. did i do something wrong?
or must i activate direct rendering in some way?
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 07:12 AM   #7
rnf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

You probably need to tune your xserver configuration so that the "Module" section contains lines like this:
#Load "GLcore"
Load "glx"
#Load "dri"
The xserver ignores lines starting with #, you can also delete them.
rnf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 07:18 AM   #8
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

I al;ready did. this is what i have.

Section "Module"
Load "type1"
Load "dbe"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "v4l"
Load "speedo"
Load "extmod"
EndSection

Section "Device"
BoardName "GeForce2 MX/MX 400"
BusID "1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
#Option "NvAGP" "1" # use nvidia agp
#Option "NvAGP" "0" # disable agp
#Option "NvAGP" "3" # try 2 than 1
#Option "NvAGP" "2" # use agpgart
Screen 0
Option "Rotate" "off"
VendorName "NVidia"
EndSection
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-02, 07:51 AM   #9
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

ok i think i know what i did wrong all the time
i never uninstalled the Dummy drivers! i thought it would be uninstalled automatically by nvidia drivers but it never did.

earth:~ # glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.3
server glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.3
client glx extensions:

OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce2 MX/AGP/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 1.4.0 NVIDIA 41.91

hopefully its not gonna freeze anymore..

Thanks for yor help
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-02, 08:07 AM   #10
rnf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
I al;ready did. this is what i have.
Oops sorry, I missed that from your initial post.
But now it's becoming tricky. First, I don't understand why it doesn't use the NVIDIA OpenGL libraries. Could you check /var/log/XFree86.0.log for any warning or error and, assuming you're using the kernel AGP driver, /var/log/kern.log for lines related to the agpgart module?

Now, for the instability, do you mean that the X interface freezes periodically? A co-worker had this problem on a PC with a VIA chipset and a GeForce2. He had to tweak some BIOS settings:
  • AGP Driving Value: you might try DA here but be careful not to go too high (I've read that anything under E2 is safe but some chipset require EA), it might damage your hardware
  • disable AGP Fast Writes
  • force AGP 2x
  • disable PCI Delay Transaction
Also look in /var/log/XFree86.0.log for the refresh rate selected by the xserver for the resolution you're using. We've observed problems with refresh rates below 75Hz, no idea why though.

HTH
rnf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake 8.2 Nvidia src.rpm problems Mr_Malcontent NVIDIA Linux 8 09-11-02 09:53 PM
RH7.2 (2.4.9-34) install + src.rpm problem FlyingDutchMan NVIDIA Linux 3 08-08-02 09:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.