Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-05, 01:36 PM   #1
Ryeyoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 89
Default matching ram

I bought a Dell 4700 and it uses DDR2 -400 Ram, I was thinking of adding another stick or two to it..but I was wondering if I would have to buy DDR2 or would DDR1 be fine as well? Also can i buy faster ram? And would it just be forced to run as the same speed as the slower ram?
Ryeyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:43 PM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: matching ram

Buy DDR 400mhz ram. You will see no benefit from faster ram unless you overclock, and ddr2 will not even fit in the same slot.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 01:59 PM   #3
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: matching ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Buy DDR 400mhz ram. You will see no benefit from faster ram unless you overclock, and ddr2 will not even fit in the same slot.
lol jakUp, he has DDR2 now. DDR wont fit.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 05:44 PM   #4
mx125race
Registered User
 
mx125race's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to mx125race Send a message via MSN to mx125race
Default Re: matching ram

get the same type of ram and speed, any manufactuer is ok. if u get a higer speed then ull just be wasting your money becuz it'll just run at the slowest speed possible unless u overclock...some good manufacturers IMO are:
OCZ, Corsair, and GeIL. too bad u dont have DDR becuz then u would be able to get the corsair 2x512 dual channel on sale for 80 bukcs at newegg which ends...today! lol


buy most of ur pc stuff from: www.newegg.com / www.frozencpu.com
mx125race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-05, 08:28 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: matching ram

crucial would work as well. you could even use their memory matcher to make sure you get the right stuff
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 01:23 AM   #6
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: matching ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
lol jakUp, he has DDR2 now. DDR wont fit.
lol whoops, yea DDR2 is what you need

See what happens when I read too fast?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 08:43 PM   #7
Ryeyoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 89
Default Re: matching ram

ah okais thx for the answers folks... doh ddr2 seems to be a little harder to find usually though. The reason i was asking about buying faster ram was that I was thinking of buying faster now and eventually just replacing the slower ram. I check my motherboard and it does support up to 533.
Ryeyoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computex: ASUS Mars III Dual GTX 680 Card Comes With 8GB RAM News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 01:40 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable muelo1000 Microsoft Windows 7 29 05-01-12 10:08 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.