Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-05, 06:06 PM   #1
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

I'm using the NVLan for my ethernet connection and I swear to God, I lose connection every 10 minutes, requiring a complete restart of my machine to get it back. I thought it was because the stupid card was set to turn off to save power. So I disabled that AND IT'S STILL DOING IT.

Is there something else I need to do? I'm going to start breaking things if this keeps up...
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 06:25 PM   #2
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

wow...it's doing it like every ****ing minute now. I can't download ANYTHING because the connection is lost and then the download freezes. ****ing fantastic.

What a piece of ****. Who designs these things to automatically turn off? For christ's sake, the ethernet connection is the absolute last thing that should be shut off to conserve energy.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 06:44 PM   #3
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

10 bucks. New NIC card. Problem solved.

=D

It might be an IRQ thing, a driver thing, or "it just broke" thing. Whatever it is, we all love you, so please don't break anything. In a plutonic way.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:08 PM   #4
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qlitchford
Whatever it is, we all love you, so please don't break anything.
I loved him once and now I am stuck paying child support, be careful people.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:16 PM   #5
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

If power management for the device is already turned off then:

1) update drivers
2) try a different cable
3) try a different port on your switch
4) if it's a cabled dorm room maybe the wiring in the wall or at the jack is messed up
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:44 PM   #6
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan
I loved him once and now I am stuck paying child support, be careful people.
hahaha...and I restarted my computer after that last message, went to lift and apparently the problem was fixed after restart. It's amazing how big a piece of **** Windows can be and yet, a simple restart is all it takes to fix it
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:47 PM   #7
Zerocool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 77
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

Try system restore to an earlier date when it wasn't happening. (if its windows)
__________________
A64 3000+ @2.4 /Asus A8N-SLi Delx. /2x1024 Corsair /AudigyZs /PcPower&Cooling 510 /FC5 & WinXP
Zerocool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:54 PM   #8
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

I don't use System Restore. I'm a man's man.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-05, 07:55 PM   #9
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

could be crappy onboard network adapter drivers written by nvidia...
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 07:56 PM   #10
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

No, it's working now. I turned off the option to let Windows turn the NIC off to save power, reset and now it's working just fine.

It's just ****ty AIM 5.9 that keeps freezing, booting and all around being a huge piece of ****.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 09:02 PM   #11
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

Wow, it turns out it was ****ty AIM 5.9 that was causing all of the problems. I'm back to 5.53595 and it's working just fine. I hate AOL so much.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-05, 10:16 PM   #12
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: Okay, this is getting REAL effing old...

Use gaim instead. http://gaim.sf.net
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Op-Ed: E3 games exploit real fears in a tumultuous world News Gaming Headlines 0 06-17-12 08:40 PM
Diablo III's Real Money AH Open For Business In America News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:00 AM
Unreal Engine 4 Real Time Tech-Demo News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:40 AM
Final Fantasy Real Time Tech-Demo News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 09:50 AM
Diablo 3 accounts hacked, items stolen, real money auction house due next week News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.