Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-05, 12:47 PM   #1
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Unhappy Big problem with new WD 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

I build a new system yesterday with the spec:

Athlon 64 X2 4400+
ASUS A8N-E Rev 2.0
Gainward Geforce 7800 GTX 256Mb
2x Corsair Value Select 1Gb PC3200 DDR RAM
Western Digital 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

Everything went fine first time, the mobo came with BIOS 1004, it detected the hard drive but when I format the hard drive from XP SP2 CD, it stuck at 0% on the progress bar all the time and wait for 30 mins and then 1 hour, it still at 0%. I also tried Fdisk but couldnt accessed to the hard drive and restarted PC, the BIOS did not recognised the hard drive as it did first time, it recognised as 8Gb "WD ROM HAWK". Then I flashed the BIOS to 1005 but it still the same result and tried ran Western Digital SeaTools to format the hard drive but SeaTools did not recognised the hard drive and the program crashed. The last thing I tried to boot XP SP2 CD and run the setup but XP told me that Windows didnt detected any hard drive.

After that, I put in 120Gb Maxtor hard drive from other system but XP failed to loaded, realised it will not run with different mobo, videocard, memory and CPU. Now typing on laptop, I will try create Bart WinPE CD to access my hard drive to backup important data to DVD-RWs and CD-RWs, I hope I have enough disks for it.

I now got the RMA number from Overclockers UK for the hard drive, I will post it tomorrow and hope the replacement will not suffer the same problem with the first one, I dont know why it cant format, if it still happen then I will never buy Western Digital again and get Maxtor SATA NCQ hard drive instead.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-05, 01:00 PM   #2
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default Re: Big problem with new WD 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

Maybe try a different sata drivers?
__________________
Pentium 4 2.4ghz @ 3.6ghz
ABIT IC7
Maxtor 200gb IDE
2GB OCZ PC3200 EL platinum.
ATI X800XL
SB Audigy gamer
NEC 2500a 8x8x32
Liteon 52x24x52
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-05, 01:23 PM   #3
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Big problem with new WD 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonized
Maybe try a different sata drivers?
I cant find Western Digital or any SATA driver at Western Digital website, where can I find it?

Edit: I searched and found a site with guide for SATAII hard drive, it lead to Nvidia driver download section for Nforce 4, I hope this driver will help. I will get back for result.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.

Last edited by AthlonXP1800; 08-10-05 at 01:35 PM.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-05, 02:14 PM   #4
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Big problem with new WD 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

I had a brand new Maxtor 200Gb do the same think, it was borked.
The mobo detected it fine but it would format upto 3% and just sit there.
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-05, 04:34 PM   #5
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Big problem with new WD 250Gb 16Mb cache SATAII hard drive

Oh well the Silicon Image and Nvidia SATAII drivers did not help, the setup still not detected it, I tried all hard drive diagnostics tools, all had so far failed. The only thing is to RMA it tomorrow.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.