Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Rumor Mill

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-02, 08:33 PM   #13
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

i've read that multiple times, and i don't remember that....then again, I have no memory.
What I'm hearing though is that when 64 and 32 bit apps are mixed, its slowed.
It definitely doesn't have a 32 stage pipeline
Slightly longer than the Athlon XP, though
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 08:52 PM   #14
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

you mean like a 64 bit executable and 32 bit dlls?

(sorry if it doesnt make sense, i'm no programmer)

i'll grab a pic ofthe pipeline thingy
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 08:55 PM   #15
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1 copy.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	31  
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 08:59 PM   #16
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Here is what i meant:

notice the following.

1) Best in class 32bit
2) Excellent 64bit

Best in class is a quantifiable statement.

It is THE BEST.

Excellent, however is relative.

Why'd they use excellent instead of "the best" for 64 bit? Because it's not that great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	afa.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	32  
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 09:05 PM   #17
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

not quite what I meant, no. A 64 bit application and a 32 bit application....
beyond that, i can't explain it
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 09:10 PM   #18
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

You mean both types of instructions in ONE program?
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 09:36 PM   #19
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I mean seperate programs...most people run an OS, multiple internet programs, sometimes a game as well at the same time.
If WinXP64 will use some emulation instead of direct 32 bit code, it'd probably help that out immensely.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 10:01 PM   #20
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

because of the Hammer architecture, it will not be as fast as a dedicated 64bit CPU. Intel's 64bit CPU was supposedly going to be faster when running 64bit programs, but since it emulated 32bit code it would be slaughtered there. however, since Itanium has relatively low clock speed, the Hammer might be able to best it at 64bit too. much in the way that the fastest P4 is faster than the fastest Athlon now.

Is Hammer going to be an actual 2GHz? or is that PR?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-29-02, 11:08 PM   #21
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

It isn't PR at all...it's a rumor. They haven't released that information, to my knowledge.

As for Intels 64 bit, I've heard its horribly inefficient (as its cost would suggest) and sure its faster, if you don't mind a. paying for the processors (I would) b. using special software (I would)

anyway, there you go
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 01:05 AM   #22
sebazve
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 421
Default

Is hammer going to emulate 32 bits code? I heard somewhere is going to be like 2 chips in one (one for the 32 bits application and another for the 64 bits).

Also guys how will be this pass from 32 bits to 64 bits, (the same as 16 to 32)? I was very young when the first 32 bits desktop processors came. I remember that my brother had an XT and then we change to a 486 (quite jump).
I think it is going to be a slow process.I guess it is on the hands of developers if they are willing to make 64 bits apps quickly.
sebazve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 01:10 AM   #23
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

The 32 bit is native, as the 64 bit is. But to use them both, you get a tradeoff, as x86 isn't very good at extensions. 32 bit code wouldn't even recognize the extra parts of the processor.

No emulation involoved there, in other words.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 01:20 AM   #24
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
It isn't PR at all...it's a rumor. They haven't released that information, to my knowledge.

As for Intels 64 bit, I've heard its horribly inefficient (as its cost would suggest) and sure its faster, if you don't mind a. paying for the processors (I would) b. using special software (I would)

anyway, there you go
heh, i meant, will that be 2GHz Performance Rating, or will it be the real clockspeed. i would think it would be the actual clockspeed, but you never know.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DOE Doles Out Cash to AMD, Whamcloud for Exascale Research News Archived News Items 0 07-12-12 08:50 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
Amd Hammer Delayed! LORD-eX-Bu CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 09-13-02 12:43 AM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 02:09 PM
Can AMD take back the flagship crown prior to Hammer? savyj CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 13 08-17-02 11:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.