Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-05, 08:25 AM   #1
Lomarticus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default FS2004 menus screwed up in new PC

I just finished building a new PC for myself with...
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+
Asus A8N-SLI Premium N-Force 4 SLI mobo
XFX 7800GTX video card
4 HDDs in Raid0 off the nVidia sata connections.
WinXp Sp2 + latest updates

I installed FS2004 and when I go into the settings-Display options the sliders do not work and the tabs across the top for the different sections are missing. Just noticed that the sliders ARE working if you click on them and use the keyboard to change them, even though they do not display the setting they are at (allways pegged to the left).
The only way to change settings reliably is to edit the FS9.cfg file.

I removed FS2004, rebooted and reinstalled to a different directory, same probs.
I have tried disabling All graphics driver options, still same prob. I tried running FS2004 in safe mode, still same prob.

I am running Chipset drivers 6.66, Forceware 77.77 and the AMD X2 XP driver.

Any ideas? I'm lost at this stage.

Last edited by Lomarticus; 08-12-05 at 09:09 AM.
Lomarticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 09:33 AM   #2
S.I.N
UnRegistered User
 
S.I.N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: All over
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: FS2004 menus screwed up in new PC

Have you tried a different driver besides the 77.77?
S.I.N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-05, 09:57 AM   #3
Lomarticus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: FS2004 menus screwed up in new PC

yea, the last WHQL ones (that came with the card)
Same problem.

I'm not ruling out this being something stupid though as even though I build PCs for a living, this is my first nvidia in 3 years, my first Athlon, and my first nvidia chipset so if there is a special installation order or anything, please feel free to throw "baby" level suggestions at me that are specific to the above hardware.

edit:
OK, this is wierd.
I have, already tried reinstalling FS2004 (after uninstalling) to a new directory without solving the problem, now I uninstalled Forceware and rebooted without nVidia drivers for the VGA, Ran FS2004, it started in software mode, and still the same problem.
Since everything else other than mobo and CPU are the same as I have always had, I presume I need to to eliminate these from the problem next and forget about the VGA card being the problem.

Last edited by Lomarticus; 08-12-05 at 11:14 AM.
Lomarticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Men, Women, Mechsuits & Menus of PlanetSide 2 News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.