Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-05, 10:55 AM   #1
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

I recently installed the nVidia driver for my Dell Latitude C810 laptop running Fedora Core 4. I should mention that the default resolution for my laptop lcd is 1600x1200.

The install went smooth and I also made the needed changes to my xorg.conf file to use the new driver. Everything works perfect at the native 1600x1200 resolution, but when I try to go to a smaller resolution like 1024x768 it appears that the color depth is being reduced or something. I have a desktop background that has a blue gradient fill and it looks "banded" as if I had dropped back to 256 color or something. This is all despite the fact the I have X configured to run at 24 depth. Why are these lower resolutions appearing to drop my color depth and not "blend" color gradients?

Here is my current xorg.conf setup:

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
#Load "dri"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Dell 1600x1200 Laptop Display Panel"
HorizSync 31.5 - 90.0
VertRefresh 59.0 - 85.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection



Thanks in advance!
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 12:04 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

cryptic_blade,
While I don't think this is causing your problem, you've got an error in your xorg.conf:
#Load "dri"
Load "dri"

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log while this problem is present. Also, can you post a screenshot that illustrates the problem?

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 12:13 PM   #3
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
While I don't think this is causing your problem, you've got an error in your xorg.conf:
#Load "dri"
Load "dri"
The instrcutions said to remove that line...
Per the official nVidia instructions:

<begin snip>

If you have a working X config file for a different driver (such as the "nv"
or "vesa" driver), then simply edit the file as follows.

Remove the line:

Driver "nv"
(or Driver "vesa")
(or Driver "fbdev")

and replace it with the line:

Driver "nvidia"

Remove the following lines:

Load "dri"

Load "GLCore"

In the "Module" section of the file, add the line (if it does not already
exist):

Load "glx"

<end snip>

Regards
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 12:40 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

cryptic_blade,
Exactly. Please review your xorg.conf and you'll see that you have two dri lines, one that is commented out and one that remains active.

Thanks,
-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 12:52 PM   #5
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Good eyes..lol

I removed those 2 Load "dri" lines and rebooted my laptop. The problem still exists though.

I am attaching my nvidia-bug-report.log file. Maybe you will find something in there.

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.log.txt (82.9 KB, 154 views)
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 01:06 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

cryptic_blade,
Can you post a sreenshot that illustrates this problem?

The bug report that you submitted shows that you're running at 1600x1200:
Virtual screen size determined to be 1600 x 1200

Can you please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5
and then generate and post a new bug report.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 01:38 PM   #7
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Can you post a sreenshot that illustrates this problem?
No, the screenshout does not show "true output" from the lcd monitor. What I see on my lcd and what the scrrenshot shows are different. The screenshots I tried capturing earlier would not should the problem I am describing. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
The bug report that you submitted shows that you're running at 1600x1200:
Virtual screen size determined to be 1600 x 1200
Yes, right now I am running at the native 1600x1200. Do you want me to switch to 1024x768 and recapture the debug log? Or, should I continue at 1600x1200 and generate a verbose log?
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 01:41 PM   #8
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Please switch to 1024x768, then generate the debug log with the startx command I requested.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-05, 01:44 PM   #9
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Please switch to 1024x768, then generate the debug log with the startx command I requested.
What is the correct procedure for switching to 1024x768?
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 01:47 PM   #10
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Edit your xorg.conf and add "1024x768" before "1600x1200"
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 02:13 PM   #11
cryptic_blade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
Edit your xorg.conf and add "1024x768" before "1600x1200"
ok, here is my nVidia log using 1024x768 with the startx -- -logverbose 5 command
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.log.txt (87.1 KB, 158 views)
cryptic_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-05, 02:17 PM   #12
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nVidia on Dell Latitude C810

Thanks for the log. I think the problem here is that the only reported native resolution of your display is 1600x1200:

(II) NVIDIA(0): clock: 162.0 MHz Image Size: 322 x 241 mm
(II) NVIDIA(0): h_active: 1600 h_sync: 1664 h_sync_end 1856 h_blank_end 2160 h_border: 0
(II) NVIDIA(0): v_active: 1200 v_sync: 1201 v_sync_end 1204 v_blanking: 1250 v_border: 0

And you're not really getting 1024x768:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1024x768" (bad mode clock/interlace/doublescan)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1024x768" (no mode of this name)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1600 x 1200

So effectively you're getting resized in software and is therefore sub-optimal (as you're reporting).

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450 Cr0t NVIDIA Linux 9 08-16-12 02:53 PM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Getting X up on Dell Inspiron 2650 with NVIDIA GEFOrce 2 GO tmsriram NVIDIA Linux 4 08-15-02 07:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.