Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-05, 08:46 PM   #1
avirox
Registered User
 
avirox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 290
Default Nexuiz Benchmark

Nexuiz is not a benchmark utility (for those who dont know), but it stil heavily utilizes both GPU (bumpmapping, bloom, and other crazy effects) and cpu (being slightly quake1 engine-based). For that reason it's a very good gamer benchmark and should accurately tell you where your computer stands.

-=| Instructions |=-
*optional* Rename your current config to config_1 or sommit
1) Extract both demo and config to your <nexuiz>\data folder
2) Run nexuiz => console (`) => timedemo bench1
3) Post your min/avg/max here


Official site (DL game from there): www.nexuiz.com
Benchmark cfg/demo: http://www.avirox.devretro.com/nexbench.zip
Nexuiz Forums Bench Thread: http://www.nexuiz.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=147


I got 51.6fps avg (forgot min/max) with my:
amd64 3000+@2.23
1GB pc2700
BFG6800GT
avirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-05, 09:54 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Thanks .. i think i'll give it a go & see ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-05, 11:13 PM   #3
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

WoW it graphically looks good for such a dated engine .. i mean the dynamic lights & shadows & the bloom effects are so cool!

& dang its heavily CPU dependent .. much more than i thought!

heres my results on P4:3.0Ghz,X800XT(480/500),1Gb RAM.
all in-game settings maxed , 1280x1024,noAA,16xAF
Quote:
fps min/avg/max: 7.4626864/14.6596102/111.1111159


gonna try it on the AMD system & see how big the impact ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 02:27 AM   #4
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

1024x768 w/ 8xAF

My system: fps min/avg/max: 18.1818183/48.1106499/333.3333304

This is a very impressive OpenGL engine. It makes use of the same realtime dynamic shadows found in Doom 3 and combines it with OpenGL 2.0. I've uploaded a few screens you might want to check out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
WoW it graphically looks good for such a dated engine .. i mean the dynamic lights & shadows & the bloom effects are so cool!
How is the engine "dated"? The engine it self seems to be great, but it doesnt have the texture artists, modelers, and programmers to take advantage of it. The netcode needs work, but its still pretty good for simple deathmatch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.JPG
Views:	229
Size:	144.7 KB
ID:	12702  Click image for larger version

Name:	2.JPG
Views:	266
Size:	88.0 KB
ID:	12703  Click image for larger version

Name:	3.JPG
Views:	244
Size:	81.5 KB
ID:	12704  
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 08:07 AM   #5
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
How is the engine "dated"? The engine it self seems to be great, but it doesnt have the texture artists, modelers, and programmers to take advantage of it. The netcode needs work, but its still pretty good for simple deathmatch.
I thought the below comment indicated the engine was somewhat dated.

Quote:
(being slightly quake1 engine-based)
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 10:28 AM   #6
avirox
Registered User
 
avirox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

plz use the config provided in the benchmark guys ^^

As to it being dated - it DOES use the quake 1 engine as its base, but it's been drastically changed (almost as doom3 is to quake1). You will notice some snippets of quake-esque, but mainly the engine Nexuiz uses (DarkPlaces ala Quake1) is brand-spankin' new Peace,
avirox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 10:43 AM   #7
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
How is the engine "dated"? The engine it self seems to be great, but it doesnt have the texture artists, modelers, and programmers to take advantage of it. The netcode needs work, but its still pretty good for simple deathmatch.
Yeah i was refering to the fact it uses Quake1 engine as a base .. otherwise its quite impressing.
oh & the netcode is kinda good that i can play it with my slow-ass dialup connection heh..

Quote:
plz use the config provided in the benchmark guys ^^
I would use the defaults but some options were turned off & the res is below my standards
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 11:08 AM   #8
avirox
Registered User
 
avirox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 290
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
I would use the defaults but some options were turned off & the res is below my standards
I meant use the benchmark config for the benchmark
avirox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-05, 12:29 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by avirox
I meant use the benchmark config for the benchmark
yeah i was talking about the benchmark config defualt .. i modified it for the settings of my usuall gameplay . i want to see how it fares in that situation.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 12:36 PM   #10
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by avirox
plz use the config provided in the benchmark guys ^^

As to it being dated - it DOES use the quake 1 engine as its base, but it's been drastically changed (almost as doom3 is to quake1). You will notice some snippets of quake-esque, but mainly the engine Nexuiz uses (DarkPlaces ala Quake1) is brand-spankin' new Peace,
Yeah, even the Source engine has some Quake 1 code left in it.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-05, 11:02 PM   #11
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

at same settings (1280x1024,noAA,16xAFHQ) on 7800GTX/AMD 4000+/2GB RAM i get :
Single 7800GTX min/avg/max fps = 12/30/200
Dual 7800GTX min/avg/max fps = 16/34/499.9999763 :P

i guess the CPU is an important limiting factor here.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-05, 12:43 PM   #12
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Nexuiz Benchmark

Patch 1.2 is out. it should bring some performance improvments.
http://www.3dgamers.com/news/more/1096482667/
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passion Leads Army: DX 11 and GPU PhysX Benchmark News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 09:00 PM
New Release - Nexuiz News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:10 PM
Anyone benchmark KT266, KT266A, KT333 and KT400? Needa916 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-09-02 09:34 AM
nForce2 "First Look" and fly-by benchmark GamblerFEXonlin Feedback Forum 4 10-01-02 08:48 PM
3d benchmark se cricket Benchmarking And Overclocking 3 08-31-02 12:02 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.