Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-05, 09:42 PM   #49
Sorrow
First Person Ownage
 
Sorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 492
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

some movies I made
Cannon ball fight, I lose when I even outnumbered them, damn cannons!
http://media.putfile.com/cannonball1872
little battle with dynamite
http://media.putfile.com/Battle27
Destroying a building
http://media.putfile.com/Building27
__________________
If at first you don't succeed... redefine success.

AMD 64 3000+ (Newcastle) @ 2.25ghz
Gigabyte 6800GT @ 375/1085
Corsair 512x2 DDR400 RAM
Soltek nf3 150 mobo
Currently playing:
--Everquest II(Activated!), WoW (Cancelled), Counter-Strike: Source
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/s0rr0ws.png
Sorrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 09:52 PM   #50
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
Ouch... I'm in trouble then.
As I say - things are very very smooth for me, except when lots of combat is going on, so I could probably push detail levels higher, I just haven't really tested yet.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 10:07 PM   #51
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

Holy crap...that game ROCKS. I had everything maxed and experienced no problems running the game at all. It's GORGEOUS. I love the HDR and not only that, but it's FUN to play. It's nowhere near as complex and involved as the other AoE games (those were almost impossible to win via military means once the game got to the later stages), but still manages to be fantastically complex and fun. they did an awesome job.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 10:16 PM   #52
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subtestube
As I say - things are very very smooth for me, except when lots of combat is going on, so I could probably push detail levels higher, I just haven't really tested yet.
Yeah. I'm playing at 1024x768 at high detail, but shadows on medium. Its pretty smooth.

I'm a huge fan of AoE II. Thankfully the game is everything I expected it to be. The only downside is the UI. Its way too big and clunky. Otherwise, great stuff.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 10:20 PM   #53
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I updated the title of this thread since the demo is now available.
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 10:22 PM   #54
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by anzak
Yeah. I'm playing at 1024x768 at high detail, but shadows on medium. Its pretty smooth.

I'm a huge fan of AoE II. Thankfully the game is everything I expected it to be. The only downside is the UI. Its way too big and clunky. Otherwise, great stuff.
yeah, the UI is pretty big/clunky. I also don't like how it doesn't have your pop limit anywhere...unless I just missed it. The interface isn't quite as intuitive as it used to be.

What happened to the idle villager button, too?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 11:51 PM   #55
anticitizenzero
Registered User
 
anticitizenzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 511
Send a message via AIM to anticitizenzero
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Played it all the way through, with settings on max, didnt have any problems with it, great game, actually reminds me of Starcraft for some reason. Oh well, can't wait till it comes out.
anticitizenzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-05, 11:53 PM   #56
Acid Rain
What a sweet little...
 
Acid Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Coast, USA.
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: Age of Empire 3 demo coming this Sept!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aAv7
this game is going to run like pooh on n40's....so be prepared. I read an interview with the developers 8 months ago and they said they were making the game with next gen cards in mind.
Ohhh aAv7? Hungry? I have a little treat for you! Just like I promised! Eat up, sonny!

I just simply couldn't help myself. I've seen this comment FAR too many times about AoE III in the past months, usually accompanied by a SM 3.0 suxxorz argument.
__________________
MY PIG
MB: GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Q6600 (SLACR)
RAM: 4GB KHX6400D2LLK2
3D Porkware: Radeon HD 4890
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 with MSE
Aux Equipment: Phase-B Nanocycloptics
Acid Rain is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-05, 12:23 AM   #57
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I run it maxed out (aside from shaders, since my 9800 Pro doesn't support SM3.0) and it's smooth as butter on my 9800 Pro @ 1280x1024.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 12:28 AM   #58
Grechie
Powered By nVidia
 
Grechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 554
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

whoa this actually runs good on a 5900XT
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 || XFX nForce 790i Ultra || Corsair XMS3 PC10666 DDR3 2 X 2GB || 2 x GTX 295 Quad SLI || Antec 900 || Thermaltake Tough Power 1200Watt
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 01:22 AM   #59
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

So to verify .. does the demo work with the 87.01/87.03 drivers ??
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 01:36 AM   #60
Buenamos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

yep it works. Running it 1680x1050, 4x/8x easily.
__________________
Gaming PC: KOOLANCE PC3-410BK / SILVERSTONE ST70F 700W Modular / Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 / Swiftech Apogee GT Block /Asus P5Q Pro / 2x2gb 1066 G-Skill / EVGA GTX570 / 2 x Asus VH242 1080p monitors / Audigy Xi-Fi Platinum / Seagate 160gb HDD / Seagate 500gb HDD

Laptop: Inspiron 1520 15.4" LCD/ Intel Core 2 Duo 7300 (2ghz) / 2 gb RAM / 8600m GT / 80gb HDD / N Wireless / Blue Tooth

Media Center: AMD 4400+ / 2 gb OCZ Platinum / EVGA 9800gt / Audigty 2ZS / 42" LG 1080p 120hz / 3 x 1.5tb HDDs

Xbox 360 / Wii
Buenamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.