Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-05, 11:52 AM   #73
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturNOW
Shader option very high



high

Side by side there is a great difference, fine, but I'm fine with the way my 9800 Pro handles it.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 12:04 PM   #74
ArturNOW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 212
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

It looks good on lower settings, but when you've seen on Very High you don't wanna go any lower With SM 3.0 it's looks very natural
ArturNOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 12:13 PM   #75
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Looks a lot better on high in my opinion... that hdr\bloom effect looks terrible to me.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 12:22 PM   #76
muaddib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 702
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

The game itself is fun and the graphics are good; but it's no where near the pics they've showed us! show biz... go figure
muaddib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 12:41 PM   #77
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I believe some of the more demanding effects in the game were capped or disabled in the demo. Still, it runs smooth with everything on HIGH or Very High here. AA doesn't seem to work though, even with bloom disabled.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 01:35 PM   #78
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***



water effects are really nice and so is the game itself.
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 02:02 PM   #79
Jocomp10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 185
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I like the way buildings get destroyed chunks fall off and sometimes the cannonball comes out the other side of the building it's pretty cool. Plus they never get destroyed the same way twice.
__________________
CPU: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.5 Ghz
MOBO: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x1024MB PC4000 Corsair XMS
VID: XFX Geforce 7900GT @ 560/1700
Jocomp10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 02:27 PM   #80
muaddib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 702
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jocomp10
I like the way buildings get destroyed chunks fall off and sometimes the cannonball comes out the other side of the building it's pretty cool. Plus they never get destroyed the same way twice.
True. It may be scripted be it looks SO real-time. If the cannonball hits the roof, the bricks will fall in the EXACT same spot.
muaddib is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-05, 03:59 PM   #81
carkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 141
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturNOW
Shader option very high



high

What really stands out to me is that on very high settings, the distance blur fades the far buildings to blend much better with the backdrop. That is a huge immersion difference.
carkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 04:33 PM   #82
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Shaders on very high give me weird rendering errors. By the looks of those screens, very high enables HDR which isn't even supported on my card. That would explain the rendering errors.

It also defaults on very high. o.O
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 04:41 PM   #83
Red_Shift
MESA
 
Red_Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leiria, Portugal
Posts: 210
Send a message via MSN to Red_Shift
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Ran it with fraps and it's usually above 20 fps with everything on max on 1280x1024, game runs smooth though. Enabling/Disabling Bloom effects has no effect on performance on my system.
Quote:
AA doesn't seem to work though, even with bloom disabled.
It doesn't work for me either, I've even tried forcing it through forceware cp but nothing happened.

Terrain, trees, water and natural objects look good but buildings don't, they should have higher texture resolution.
Quote:
I believe some of the more demanding effects in the game were capped or disabled in the demo.
I hope you're right.

Edit:
Quote:
By the looks of those screens, very high enables HDR which isn't even supported on my card.
Maybe that's why I can't get AA on, I should test ASAP.
....
Nah, AA doesn't work definitely.
__________________

Asus P4P800 (socket 865PE) || P4 2,6C @ 3,25Ghz|| 1Gb PC3200 Twinmos CL2.5-3-3-8
Asus V9999GT 128Mb DDR @ 400/850
Seagate 80Gb ATA 7200rpm 2mb cache || DVD-RW TDK 16x +/-R, 4xDL || CD-RW Samsung 48x24x48x
Enermax Noisetaker 375W
Red_Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 08:49 PM   #84
RealLifePixelShader
 
RealLifePixelShader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to RealLifePixelShader
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Help Help Please Help I cant get it up and running getting this error Please help I want to play it now!!!!!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error.JPG
Views:	648
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	13244  
__________________
[B][LIST][*]Intel 630 Pentium4 3GHz Processor LGA775 2MB L2 EM64T Hyper-Threading[*]1Gb DDR2 667 Dual Channel Memory[*]Intel Sorento 945G Pentium4 Motherboard[*]2 x 80Gb Seagate 8Mb Cache SATA Hard Drives RAID 0[*]Gigabyte 7800 GTX 265MB[*]19" LG F900B FLATRON [*]Windows Vista 64 Bit[*]Cooler Master Stacker Case[*]2 x 450 Watt Power Supplies[*]Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS [*]Creative Inspire T7700 7.1 Speaker System[*]Wireless Microsoft Keyboard and Mouse With Fingerprint Reader[/LIST][/B]
[URL=http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=10813]/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\[/URL]

Someone once said "[B][COLOR=Indigo]I believe in Fairies I see one everyday![/COLOR][/B]"
RealLifePixelShader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.