Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-05, 09:09 PM   #85
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I can't believe you can't figure out what is wrong with such a descriptive error dialog. Sheesh...

That has to be the worst error dialog I've ever seen. Does it show anything more descriptive in the WinXP event log or maybe see if the game directory has any error logs that might help a little.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 09:15 PM   #86
Aphot
lol wut?
 
Aphot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to Aphot Send a message via MSN to Aphot
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Ive been waiting for this for a long time

/me dl's
__________________
Intel I7 920 4.0GHz (Noctua NH-D14)
Asus P6X58D Premium
6GB G.Skill PC12800 (2GB x 3)
2 HIS HD6970's in Crossfire
Western Digital;
2 Velociraptor 300GB in Raid 0
2 Caviar Black 1.0TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Denon PRA-1000 , POA-1500
Celestion Ditton 442's
Corsair HX 1050
Antec P183
Dell U2410
Sennheiser HD 555
Razer Deathadder / Razer Lycosa
Aphot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 09:16 PM   #87
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Anybody investigate SLI settings for the demo yet?
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 09:18 PM   #88
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust
Anybody investigate SLI settings for the demo yet?
I'm using SFR. I initially tried AFR but it left me at the desktop when launching it the first time. It could have been a fluke but I just switched it to SFR and haven't gotten around to trying the other modes again.

Edit: Actually, it appears it was a fluke. I just tried AFR and it worked. On the first screen, once the game starts in skirmish mode, the framerate was around 70'ish with AFR (1600x1200, all options maxed). With SFR, I was at around 100 or so fps.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-05, 09:44 PM   #89
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Just got done playing a skirmish... it is awesome because when you are destroying a wind mill... the blades start coming off and it when you get to like 2 fans it slows down when the blades are going up and speeds up when they are going down... very awesome.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 02:21 AM   #90
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

I just love how every unit has a torch or flaming weapon whilst attacking buildings. it's a nice, small--but awesome--touch they added.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 04:38 AM   #91
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
I just love how every unit has a torch or flaming weapon whilst attacking buildings. it's a nice, small--but awesome--touch they added.
yeah it sure beats having them hacking at a building with a sabre or shooting at it with a musket.. which is just plain silly..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 05:41 AM   #92
muaddib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 702
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

True. It's a brilliant point of the game.
Attacking a brick wall with a sword won't do anything that's for sure..
muaddib is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-09-05, 05:50 AM   #93
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

According with AOE3 developers interview they had a full time programmer working in anything but water.. To make it look as good as possible at playable frame rates. Hopefully will get my hands on the demo soon.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 06:55 AM   #94
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nv40
According with AOE3 developers interview they had a full time programmer working in anything but water.. To make it look as good as possible at playable frame rates. Hopefully will get my hands on the demo soon.
Wish they had someone looking into proper error dialog boxes. I get the blank box... downloaded three times already.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 06:57 AM   #95
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
I'm using SFR. I initially tried AFR but it left me at the desktop when launching it the first time. It could have been a fluke but I just switched it to SFR and haven't gotten around to trying the other modes again.

Edit: Actually, it appears it was a fluke. I just tried AFR and it worked. On the first screen, once the game starts in skirmish mode, the framerate was around 70'ish with AFR (1600x1200, all options maxed). With SFR, I was at around 100 or so fps.
Thanks, I set up a SFR profile in nHancer and am now getting about 10 fps more than before.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-05, 10:14 AM   #96
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: *** Official Age of Empire 3 Demo Thread ***

Downloading now at 774kb/s. Yay.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Feedback on Battlefield 1942 demo nin_fragile14 Gaming Central 23 09-12-02 11:44 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.