Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-02, 09:39 PM   #1
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default SuSE Install Help

For some reason, I can't get SuSE to install, I enter the info for the FTP and it says File Not Found on Server or something to that effect, I looked at the Installation Guide and the Install Howto. I tried SuSE's FTP server as well as two different mirrors that were Complete(listed complete on mirror list). All had the same error. Can someone give me a howto with a FTP server to use and the correct paths. I want to install it but it blowing my brains out trying to install it. BTW, I'm booting the installation from a CD.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 09:46 PM   #2
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

It sounds like the ftp address isnt being typed in correctly. I think I had this problem when I was installing SuSE via FTP but I mistyped one of the letters.... are you manually typing in the server?
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 09:50 PM   #3
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Yes, I am have to do a manual install since I don't have Disk 1. I've tried 3 different FTP Servers, I don't think I typed all 3 wrong. It connected all the servers correct, so its a directory problem.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 09:52 PM   #4
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Are you sure you went down into the i386 folder?
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 10:06 PM   #5
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Yes, I did here are the three I used

IP 152.2.210.121
/pub/suse/i386/current

IP 130. 207.108.134
/pub/linux/distrobutions/suse/suse/i386/8.1

IP 216.254.0.38
/linux/SuSE-Linux/i386/current

I'm getting tired I was up at 3:00A.M. so I'm going to bed I will check it in the moring.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-02, 10:36 PM   #6
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Try this:

ftp://ftp-linux.cc.gatech.edu/pub/li...i386/8.1/boot/

If that doesnt work, try the dir right above it. I think I remember putting in /boot/ as part of the ftp install...

Hope that helps!
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 09:29 AM   #7
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Still doesn't work, I've never had a problem like this. WHAT IS WRONG!!!
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 02:20 PM   #8
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Did you try that directory and the one above it?
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-27-02, 05:29 PM   #9
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

I got it to work after I found out the right IP addresses.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 08:18 PM   #10
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

Excellent.
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-02, 09:50 PM   #11
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Though I have one more problem, I can't get into X because the Vert Refresh is too high, how do I fix it? I tried sax2 but it goes into X and the Vert Refresh is over the frequency. Do I let it sit there and will it do something eventually?
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?

Last edited by The Analog Kid; 12-27-02 at 10:35 PM.
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-02, 01:38 PM   #12
Mandarb1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 113
Default

You can change the vert frequencies by going through YaST2 and in the monitor section. Sorry I cant provide detailed areas because im in Windows right now and I wont be back for a few months...
Mandarb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mageia 2 Cannot Install 71.86.15 for Riva TNT/TNT2 kbulgrien NVIDIA Linux 3 06-29-12 08:27 AM
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 02:20 AM
Red Hat null(limbo beta 3), guide to install Nvidia Drivers utiel NVIDIA Linux 21 09-30-02 05:32 PM
How to install Divx+player to SUSE linux guide... kaarelcool NVIDIA Linux 1 08-27-02 07:54 AM
Trouble with SuSE 8 & NVIDIA latest driver bughill NVIDIA Linux 3 08-20-02 12:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.