Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-02, 04:34 AM   #13
pgn.inertia
NV_point_sprite
 
pgn.inertia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Middelharnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 130
Default

Please say again...
__________________
Avé...
pgn.inertia

- Ter leering ende vermaek -
pgn.inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 11:28 AM   #14
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default

Why is it that on the ATI site it says the max resolution is 2048x1536?

Monitor Resolution
Hz


640x480
200


800x600
200


1024x768
200


1152x864
100


1280x1024
160


1600x1200
120


1920x1080
100


1920x1200
100


1920x1440
85


2048x1536
75
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 12:15 PM   #15
swamped
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

That's the highest VESA standard resolution, and the highest ATI supports directly. You can use 3rd party utilities to go higher in both resolution and refresh rate.
swamped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 12:57 PM   #16
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default hmm, interesting.

anyway to do that on a nvidia? and can you give me some links to the utilities? thanks
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 02:02 PM   #17
swamped
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

http://www.entechtaiwan.com/files/pstrip.exe
PowerStrip menu > Display profiles > Configure > Advanced timing options > Custom resolutions

But its not going to help you break the limits of an nv driver, which is 2048 and 1536. You can get 2040x1536 or 2048x1534, but nothing higher than 2048 horizontally and 1536 vertically.

Note that the hardware itself can do higher, so the driver ceiling could be lifted in future.
swamped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 09:03 PM   #18
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default darnit

for some weird reason it when i add a mode 2560x1920 it wont show up in windows, 1800x1440 did, and 3840x2400 or whatever did too, but 2560x1920 wont.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-02, 09:11 PM   #19
swamped
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

That's often the case: this or that specific driver won't allow this or that specific resolution - I don't know why.

E.g., uou can get 1400x1050 out of the 30.82 NV Win9x/Me drivers, but not with the 30.82 2K/XP ones. 1400x1050 just won't work at all - but 1408x1050 will. Go figure...
swamped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 03:25 AM   #20
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default yeah i found that out

yeah i found that out, but now it just runs at a lower resolution with the "scrolling desktop effect"
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-13-02, 07:57 AM   #21
swamped
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

Are you using a Radeon or GF card? I've never seen a GF card virtualize the screen, but ATI will *if* the resolution you select is higher than what a PnP monitor says it can support.

You just need to break the DDC connection: pluck the pins or use a BNC cable, or something like that...

Setting IDCRegOptionDontUseOSMonitorInfo to 00 00 00 00 (binary) will sometimes work too.
swamped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 03:38 PM   #22
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default maybe i can get it working now?

yeah its the ATI, the card in that laptop is amazing, it can run 2 monitors @ 2048x1536, or 1 at 1600x1200 and 1 at 2560x1920, its pretty awesome, run the LCD at native 1600x1200 and run external monitor at 2560x1920, i think ill try the regestry thing, thanks, but where is that in the registry?
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-02, 04:00 PM   #23
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default darm

on the regestry thing, i found it, and it already has that entry.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti GPU is Out Now, Great for 720p S3D News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 10-09-12 09:40 AM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Why cant I run at 2048x1536 with nvidia drivers Xevious NVIDIA Linux 10 09-16-05 09:48 PM
Unable to select 2048x1536 resolution zack NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 17 09-05-02 09:41 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.