Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-05, 10:28 PM   #61
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

more screen that show great texture work







__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:31 PM   #62
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxikneedle
I just got the new 78.05s for DOD:S today and so does he. He has a 6800GT though and I got a 6800NU, but still others too aren't having the same problem as me with my/older video cards.
Maybe the game only applies those highest quality textures to cards with 256MB of memory or more.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:39 PM   #63
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

It doesn't really run well at all on my 9800 Pro.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:42 PM   #64
toxikneedle
this.is.a.chemical.burn
 
toxikneedle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,323
Send a message via AIM to toxikneedle Send a message via MSN to toxikneedle
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rewt
Maybe the game only applies those highest quality textures to cards with 256MB of memory or more.
Well that's lame.... there's no way to override it? I mean personally I don't care cuz I'm building a new rig in 2 weeks with 7800s but still... that's lame cuz I know my card can handle it.
__________________
[cpu]amd.x2.4400 . [ram]crucial.2gb.3200 . [gpu]evga.8800.gts . [hdd]wd.raptor.74gb ::
toxikneedle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:51 PM   #65
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

I'm running at 1600x1200, 4xAA (using in-game setting) and whatever level of filtering is used when setting it to anisotropic in the in-game settings. In AFR, performance seems to be mostly be in the 50s with the occasional dip into the upper 30s/mid 40s but the mouse is laggy. In SFR, I'm mainly in the low 30s, high 20s (same as single-GPU mode). With AFR2 and playing through a lot of the demo in fraps benchmark mode, I got the following:

cod2sp_s -- Avg: 40.471 - Min: 26 - Max: 76

Overall, I really like the tense atmosphere of the demo so I'll definitely be getting the game.

I guess I'll now try the SLI value mentioned earlier to see how that goes.

Edit: These results are not valid since at 1600x1200 it appears to use low quality textures (only occurs at that resolution -- lower or higher works).
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:51 PM   #66
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Some of those shots look really amazing I can't wait to give it a shot.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 10:55 PM   #67
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

I love that the game as a widescreen option!!!!!!!!!

no more changing the .cfg file
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:02 PM   #68
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimBobb
For SLI Users please check Value "6c00001".
Runs good with 1600x1200 4xAA/16xAF HQ and MaximumDetails with ca. 40-50 fps. Before you Start New Game you must in Gameoptions "Optimize for DualCards " enable!
Just wanted to chime in - this actually did work for me, my framerates doubled in FRAPS. However, the game is still processing the mouse input very slowly when SLI is enabled on the system - so slowly that it makes it seem as if it is running slower than it is. With SLI disabled I get lower framerates but better input response. Weird.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-05, 11:03 PM   #69
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Hmm, comparing my screenshots with some of the others in this thread, mine don't look nearly as good. That's probably why my performance seemed fine. I wonder why mine seem to be lower quality. Overheat, do you get a higher setting than normal for model detail?
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:05 PM   #70
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
Just wanted to chime in - this actually did work for me, my framerates doubled in FRAPS. However, the game is still processing the mouse input very slowly when SLI is enabled on the system - so slowly that it makes it seem as if it is running slower than it is. With SLI disabled I get lower framerates but better input response. Weird.
Try AFR2. AFR was very laggy for me but AFR2 seemed to help the framerate and the mouse was still responsive.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:09 PM   #71
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

nope only normal
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:15 PM   #72
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Hmm, well, that looks the same. I'm not sure what is going on.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.