Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-05, 11:18 PM   #73
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by OWA
Hmm, well, that looks the same. I'm not sure what is going on.
Heh, seems like this demo is a little wiggy. That's actually pretty reassuring, I have to admit I was pretty shocked at the lack of scalability in the video options. Of course, I'm a little indignant about having to even worry about that since I just moved to SLI and CoD2 was one of the games I'd hoped it would improve greatly.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:20 PM   #74
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Im sure nVidia or the COD2 will iron out the SLI issues..
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-05, 11:29 PM   #75
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

It appears to be related to the resolution. If I try to run at 1600x1200, I get low-res textures. If I drop down to 1280x1024 or 1024x768, I get textures like Overheat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Im sure nVidia or the COD2 will iron out the SLI issues..
Yeah, especially since it seems to be dual-card aware. Hopefully a lot more games will end up doing that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
Heh, seems like this demo is a little wiggy. That's actually pretty reassuring, I have to admit I was pretty shocked at the lack of scalability in the video options. Of course, I'm a little indignant about having to even worry about that since I just moved to SLI and CoD2 was one of the games I'd hoped it would improve greatly.
Actually, I think I had better performance b/c my textures were of lower quality. Now that I've dropped down to 1280x1024, everything looks really good but performance is lower.

BTW, is the wavy clear effect in the distance simulating heat?

OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:03 AM   #76
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

yep it represent heat.....and 1680x1050 is awful close to 1600x1200 no?
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:05 AM   #77
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Yeah, it's close so I'll try that res and see how it goes.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:07 AM   #78
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

its a 16:10 rez its gonna work on your 4:3 monitor?
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:09 AM   #79
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Downloading now from NZone. Pulling constent 623 KB/Sec.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:13 AM   #80
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Does that game have any HDR-like effects? What engine did they use? Months ago I read they would use the Doom3/OGL engine but from the pictures and performance it doesn´t seem like that.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-05, 12:14 AM   #81
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

no HDR, custom engine not doom 3
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:15 AM   #82
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by overheat
its a 16:10 rez its gonna work on your 4:3 monitor?
It appears to be a bug when just using 1600x1200 (for me anyway). Resolutions before that are fine and resolutions after that are fine. I tried 1920x1080 and 2048x1536 and both of those are fine. When I use 1600x1200, I get something like the below pic.


OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:20 AM   #83
overheat
Registered User
 
overheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Laval,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 332
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

weird
how is the framerate at 2048x1536?
funny we almost have the same system
__________________
Gaming is a way of life!

CPU Athlon X2 4400+/ MOBO Asus A8N-SLI premium/ PSU Antec truepower 2.0 550/ VGA 2 BFG 7800 gtx / RAM CORSAIR 400MHZ DDR 2048M TWINX C2 2-3-3-6/ HDD 2x WD Raptor 74GB / DVD Plextor PX-716AL/ Case Antec P180/ Monitor 2005FPW/ Speaker z-2300/ HDD External HDD Maxtor Onetouch II 200 GB/ Keyboard and Mice Cordless Desktop MX 3100/ OS Win XP pro x64 and Win XP pro SP2/ Second Monitor my HDTV lol
My Rig
overheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-05, 12:25 AM   #84
[AK]Zip
New Level Of Epic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Default Re: Call of Duty 2 Demo Feedback Thread

1680X1050 all setting on max no AA. FPS doesn't go below 29FPS. No problems and demo overall was great. I can't wait for the full game to come out.

-Alex-
[AK]Zip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.