Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-05, 12:41 PM   #25
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Black and White 2

Can you still make your creatures throw their crap at villagers?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 04:26 PM   #26
HowlingPhoenix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 62
Default Re: Black and White 2

I havent seen my creature throw any...but just last night it was thinking "I'm gonna poo on this villagers head"..lol
HowlingPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 04:55 PM   #27
g30hd3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Black and White 2

AMD64, 2GB RAM, 6800GT ... with an average of 20 FPS or less.. tried official and beta driver.. Nvidia has some work to do...
g30hd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 05:13 PM   #28
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: Black and White 2

Creature AI is definately dumbed down.

Now he just has a bunch of figures:

Probability of pooping on villager
Probability of pooping in field
Probability of eating villager
Probability of eating trees
Probability of harvesting trees

etc.

All these things are initially set at 50% and you can increase or decrease the probability when he is about to do them.

*BUT* what those probabilities are, the actual list of them, is predetermined.

In BW 1 it was different. E.g. your creature wouldn't even get the IDEA to eat a villager, unless you leashed him while he was hungry and had him pick up a villager. Also he wouldn't know to collect wood unless you leashed him and picked up a few trees yourself. Teaching your creature miracles was also done the same way.

In BW2 you teach your creature new stuff by simply "buying" the new skill from the tribute menu.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 10:05 PM   #29
Grechie
Powered By nVidia
 
Grechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 554
Default Re: Black and White 2

this game is good, but it got real boaring for me quickly
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 || XFX nForce 790i Ultra || Corsair XMS3 PC10666 DDR3 2 X 2GB || 2 x GTX 295 Quad SLI || Antec 900 || Thermaltake Tough Power 1200Watt
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-05, 07:35 AM   #30
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: Black and White 2

omg that sucks. You mean you cant teach your creature? I remember spending tons of time just to teach my creature to throw people. He would watch me do it and be amazed. It was so cool *rubs creatures tummy*
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 05:51 PM   #31
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Black and White 2

I just picked up the game & i have to say the graphics are gorgeous though performance is amazingly slow!
i'm playing @1280x1024,2xAA,8xAF & my framerate is in teens-20s !! (X800XT-PE , P4:3.4GHz , 1GB RAM). the game is so heavy on the GPU that it made my XT-PE artifact for the first time at standard clocks !!

gonna try it later on the SLI PC to see how things go.

EDIT .. much faster in SLI .. i'm playing now 1280x1024,4xAA,8xAF smooth!

BTW anyone noticed that you can play with the Lionhead studios logo in the intro screen ?? nice physics !
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-05, 06:57 PM   #32
Annihlist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 183
Default Re: Black and White 2

Well I seemed to notice something the other day. When alt tabbing to windows I opened up task manager and the game was eating more than my available 1gb of ram. That is why I get the crazy stuttering every so often. I also got artifacts at stock with my 6800 ultra. This game is more demanding than f.e.a.r
__________________
Gigabyte K8N Pro - AMD 64 3400+ Clawhammer w/1mb cache @ 2.4ghz - Albatron 6800 ultra @ 442/1.23 - Sony DRU-700A - 200GB Western Digital 8mb cache - Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Mitsubishi Dimondplus 93sb - 1GB PC3200 3-3-8 generic ram at 220/2.9v(max O/C ) - OCZ 470W Power supply.
Annihlist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-05, 07:20 PM   #33
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Black and White 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annihlist
Well I seemed to notice something the other day. When alt tabbing to windows I opened up task manager and the game was eating more than my available 1gb of ram. That is why I get the crazy stuttering every so often. I also got artifacts at stock with my 6800 ultra. This game is more demanding than f.e.a.r
I only get minor stuttering & that was on the 2GB RAM PC. the 1GB RAM PC seems to be fine!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 02:44 AM   #34
alfredog1976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: Black and White 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
I just picked up the game & i have to say the graphics are gorgeous though performance is amazingly slow!
i'm playing @1280x1024,2xAA,8xAF & my framerate is in teens-20s !! (X800XT-PE , P4:3.4GHz , 1GB RAM). the game is so heavy on the GPU that it made my XT-PE artifact for the first time at standard clocks !!

gonna try it later on the SLI PC to see how things go.

EDIT .. much faster in SLI .. i'm playing now 1280x1024,4xAA,8xAF smooth!

BTW anyone noticed that you can play with the Lionhead studios logo in the intro screen ?? nice physics !
SH64,
What are your SLI profile settings for B&W 2? I tried AFR and SFR with no visible improvement.

Thanks!
alfredog1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 12:24 PM   #35
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Black and White 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfredog1976
SH64,
What are your SLI profile settings for B&W 2? I tried AFR and SFR with no visible improvement.

Thanks!
Either try the 81.84 beta FW (they include SLI profile for B&W2) or use the value "0x00404001".
expect an improvment of ~ 70% over a single card!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 03:34 PM   #36
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: Black and White 2

This is the only game that keeps crashing on me, all after 5-15 minutes of play. Random crashing. Crashing, as in the screen goes black, the monitor turns off and I have to hard-reset the PC. Patch 1.1, 81.84 Forcewarez... And I'm not the only one with this problem. F**k this.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$144.99 - ASUS ML248H Black / White 24" 2ms HDMI LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monit News 24-Inch 0 06-22-12 04:00 PM
GeForce4 TV-out only displays black and white dlapo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 12-25-05 04:16 AM
Black and White 2 creature pictures JohnsonLKD Gaming Central 1 08-22-02 01:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.