Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-05, 04:06 PM   #1
electric turd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Default Fix for flickering grass? BF2

Hi everyone, I have the following: a64 4000+, 2gigs corsair, audigy 2, and 1 7800gtx on a sli asus board with an antec truepower 550w. Now my problem. When I play BF2 occasionally when i'm around the grass/weeds they flicker like hell, almost like they jump from low detail to high detail and back and forth. Everything else looks great in the game but the whole grass/weed flicker/jumping is really annoying. It seems to do it the most when there are loud explosions around or gun shots. I have tried diff. drivers and I cant make it go away. Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Lee
electric turd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-05, 06:56 PM   #2
Rayman1968
Hairy and ape-like
 
Rayman1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

I have the same problem...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=56454

Never did get it fixed. Was hoping it would be addressed in the new patch but, nope.
__________________
E6700 @ 3.5 (1.39v) w/Zalman CNPS 9500LED | eVGA 680i | GTX285 | 150 gig WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA | 2 gigs (2 x 1gig) G.Skill F2-6400CL3D @ 960Mhz 4-4-4-12 (2.1v) | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | Silverstone Zeus 850w PSU | Silverstone TJ-03 | BenQ 24" FP241W
Rayman1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-05, 08:23 PM   #3
electric turd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

So you think it is on the game side not computer side? Meaning its the game that needs work not or computers? LOL?
electric turd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-05, 09:28 PM   #4
Rayman1968
Hairy and ape-like
 
Rayman1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

No idea.
__________________
E6700 @ 3.5 (1.39v) w/Zalman CNPS 9500LED | eVGA 680i | GTX285 | 150 gig WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA | 2 gigs (2 x 1gig) G.Skill F2-6400CL3D @ 960Mhz 4-4-4-12 (2.1v) | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | Silverstone Zeus 850w PSU | Silverstone TJ-03 | BenQ 24" FP241W
Rayman1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-05, 10:05 PM   #5
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

This problems seems to occur mostly with AA on. You could try disabling that and see if it helps.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-05, 12:39 AM   #6
alfredog1976
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

I get the same thing, have all settings jacked all the way up (including AA). Probably a driver related issue.
alfredog1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-05, 09:40 AM   #7
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

I thought there was something in reference to the LOD settings in Rivatuner that could help this or am I thinking of something else? *shrugs*
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 08:17 PM   #8
electric turd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Exclamation Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

I HAVE FOUND A FIX!!!!!! Turn on Gamma correct Anti Aliasing!!!!!
It works
electric turd is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-11-05, 09:11 PM   #9
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

Does that fix the jaggy shadows too?
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 10:33 PM   #10
Rayman1968
Hairy and ape-like
 
Rayman1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

Quote:
Originally Posted by electric turd
I HAVE FOUND A FIX!!!!!! Turn on Gamma correct Anti Aliasing!!!!!
It works
This fix didn't work for me. Could it be a combination of gamma aa and something else?
__________________
E6700 @ 3.5 (1.39v) w/Zalman CNPS 9500LED | eVGA 680i | GTX285 | 150 gig WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA | 2 gigs (2 x 1gig) G.Skill F2-6400CL3D @ 960Mhz 4-4-4-12 (2.1v) | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | Silverstone Zeus 850w PSU | Silverstone TJ-03 | BenQ 24" FP241W
Rayman1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-05, 01:33 AM   #11
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

I've heard that gamma corrected AA is broken in 81.84.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-05, 04:08 AM   #12
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: Fix for flickering grass? BF2

This problem used to happen all the time in Joint Ops ( mainly the trees though ) with beta drivers. Newer offcial drivers fixed it...
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI overscan fix for multiple resolutions + Zod Engine Problem. cheechr1 NVIDIA Linux 0 06-11-12 02:27 PM
QIII engines & Dets 40.41 "darkness" fix... sisi NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 6 09-03-02 04:55 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.