Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-05, 08:17 PM   #25
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

On the other hand CoD2 for the XBox 360 isn't a port like Quake4. It was built form the ground up for the XBox 360 which is why it's running better then the PC version.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 01:35 PM   #26
Nitz Walsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 622
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The Framerate looks smooth because it is captured on a camera. A direct feed video would be a better indicator of FPS.
The framerate looks smooth because it is - it's locked at 60fps. I've seen it played live on G4, and it looked a heck of a lot smoother than that video.
Nitz Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 01:44 PM   #27
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by toxikneedle
Well either way, console designed vid cards are completely different from desktop cards. For example consoles will never run games at high resolutions.
Yeah, 1920 x 1080i isn't high at all.

From what I've read the RSX is very smiliar to the GTX, but is clocked higher.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The Framerate looks smooth because it is captured on a camera. A direct feed video would be a better indicator of FPS.
You have a point here. When you capture something on camera it adds motion blur to help make the video smoother. Remove that motion blur and TV would look very choppy.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 02:33 PM   #28
Acid Rain
What a sweet little...
 
Acid Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Coast, USA.
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Actually its weaker then both the Xeon and the RSX so no... current gen Desktop GPUs are behind nextgen Console GPUs.
I thought it was common knowledge that in order to compete with the 360, you really need GTXs in SLI. A single GTX doesn't stand a chance, not on paper. Either way, all this new tech and particularly these upcoming games are very exciting.
__________________
MY PIG
MB: GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Q6600 (SLACR)
RAM: 4GB KHX6400D2LLK2
3D Porkware: Radeon HD 4890
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 with MSE
Aux Equipment: Phase-B Nanocycloptics
Acid Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 04:40 PM   #29
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Doesn´t 1080i equal a non-interlaced resolution of 960x540??? And since every game has got to be at least 720p, what kind of comparable resolution on the PC is that (1280x720)???

If the above is correct (which I´m not sure), and considering that a standard PC resolution is 1280x1024, then a PC is rendering at its standard resolution more than the console ever will in any of its games.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 08:09 PM   #30
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Doesn´t 1080i equal a non-interlaced resolution of 960x540??? And since every game has got to be at least 720p, what kind of comparable resolution on the PC is that (1280x720)???

If the above is correct (which I´m not sure), and considering that a standard PC resolution is 1280x1024, then a PC is rendering at its standard resolution more than the console ever will in any of its games.
The PS3 will have 1080p (1920x1080) as a standard but will degrade to 720p or 1080i if the TV cannot support it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 08:28 PM   #31
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Doesn´t 1080i equal a non-interlaced resolution of 960x540??? And since every game has got to be at least 720p, what kind of comparable resolution on the PC is that (1280x720)???

If the above is correct (which I´m not sure), and considering that a standard PC resolution is 1280x1024, then a PC is rendering at its standard resolution more than the console ever will in any of its games.
I think that 1024x768 is still pretty much standard PC resolution for gaming. Sure there are those who can go higher, but I'm going to go out on a limb and say the majority of PC gamers are still playing at 1024x768 which would put PC resolution and next gen console resolution pretty close.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 08:57 PM   #32
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

The majority of gamers do play at 1024x768, the majority of gamers here play at higher resolutions. I only play at 1600x1200
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-05, 09:34 PM   #33
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The majority of gamers do play at 1024x768, the majority of gamers here play at higher resolutions. I only play at 1600x1200
Same
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-05, 10:26 PM   #34
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The majority of gamers do play at 1024x768, the majority of gamers here play at higher resolutions. I only play at 1600x1200
I'm glad we could agree.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 01:51 AM   #35
lightman
Registered User
 
lightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,026
Send a message via ICQ to lightman
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Doesn´t 1080i equal a non-interlaced resolution of 960x540???
1080i "equals" 1920x540 ... The interlace means that you have alternating odd and even lines frames (I wonder if this makes sense at all ).

1920x540 = 1036800 pixels ≈ 1280x810 ≈ 1280x800 = quite standard widescreen resolution (in 16:10)

That said, you have to put AA and eventually HDR in the equation... I doubt both XBOX360 and PS3 will apply no AA to their resolution.
lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-05, 02:36 AM   #36
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: omg bbq lol (call of duty2 releated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
The majority of gamers do play at 1024x768, the majority of gamers here play at higher resolutions. I only play at 1600x1200
Me to, nothing less than 1600 x 1200 will do
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.