Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-05, 03:33 PM   #1
lmetza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to lmetza
Default Age of Empires 3 random crashes

I have done all i can and all i want to do is play my damn game as good as all my other games run. After about 5-15 mins of playing AoE 3 its jsut minimizes and i get an error report dialogue, ive tried disabling sound, minimum graphics, UNDERclocking my video card!!, reintalled the game 5 times already, removed registry entries one time and reintalled, Installed from a downloaded ISO once too, reinstalled ALL system drivers. The damn game will still not run like it is supposed to, FEAR doesnt even crash on me like some people have reported, But AoE 3 doesnt even look that spectacular which is why im surprised its crashing @ all. Anyone able to help me please. I am confident theres nothing wrong with my windows install as HL2, FEAR, Doom 3, everything else runs 100% perfect for me (even age of empires 2 lmao)
__________________
Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
ASRock s939DUAL-SATA2 ULi 1695
Evga 6800
ocz Platinum EL 2gb cas2,3,2,5
SB Audigy2 ZS
lmetza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 03:42 PM   #2
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

have you patched the game??
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 04:00 PM   #3
anticitizenzero
Registered User
 
anticitizenzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 511
Send a message via AIM to anticitizenzero
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

maybe they'll work better if you had legit copies of the games, considering that aoe 3 isnt in stores yet, and f.e.a.r isnt either, but both seam to be out on the net.
anticitizenzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 04:03 PM   #4
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

Well some retailers have sold FEAR early as you can see in the "Official FEAR feedback thread" or whatever... but yeah... as far as I know AOE3 wasn't released in some stores early... but it has been leaked.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 04:10 PM   #5
Superfly
Retired
 
Superfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: gone
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

lol I had no idea it was'nt out yet
__________________
It is not how bad the problem is, but how badly it's hurting the person who has it......
Superfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 06:53 PM   #6
lmetza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to lmetza
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

Got patch v1.01 and i do have a legit copy of the game, picked it up from zellers. Walsmart, zellers and EB have the game here, apparently its been out since monday or tuesday, i just picked it up on friday.
I have tested an ISO i downloaded yesterday and it works just as crappily as the retail does (no surprise there). So im stumped, i think AoE 3 is just a lost cause, ille call up M$ tomorrow and see if their so called "geniuses" can fix the problem, they should be able to after all its their OS and their game.

Well FEAR, lets just say im a little antsy to play that one though i intend to purchase it tomorrow or tuesday along with Quake 4. I always try before i buy, and always will. Ive spent too much money on crap games and dissapointment and have learned from those mistakes.
__________________
Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
ASRock s939DUAL-SATA2 ULi 1695
Evga 6800
ocz Platinum EL 2gb cas2,3,2,5
SB Audigy2 ZS
lmetza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 08:13 PM   #7
Raje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West US
Posts: 172
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

Odd considering the Demo ran without crashing for me. I played the Demo a ton. Only problem was the resolution at first that caused the Demo to not run at all and that was sorted pretty easily.
__________________
Tyan Thunder K8WE (s2895); ThermalTake Armor; Dual AMD Opteron 252; Zalman 7000 AlCu; 4GB OCZ Server DDR400 ECC (4x1GB; 2 per CPU)
300GB Maxtor SATA150 16MB cache HDD (x2); EVGA Nvidia GeForce 8800GTX; NEC DL DVD 3540A; Dell 2405FPW; PCPower&Cooling Turbo-Cool 850 SSI


AquaMark3: 90378; 3DMark01SE: 28563; 3DMark03: 33633; 3DMark05: 8091
Raje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 08:36 PM   #8
lmetza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to lmetza
Default Re: Age of Empires 3 random crashes

I really get the feeling im the only person with this problem.. which really sucks. Cuz on the forums where i downloaded the ISO i decided to give a spin (thought it may have been my disc) and i posted on there too and no one has a clue about this problem. Ohwell ille try aoe3 again on XP 64-bit on tuesday when i get my new parts and see if it decides to run on that. Also will do a fresh install of XP 32-bit.
__________________
Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
ASRock s939DUAL-SATA2 ULi 1695
Evga 6800
ocz Platinum EL 2gb cas2,3,2,5
SB Audigy2 ZS
lmetza is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
random X crash with 295.53 on debian testing kde4 kernel 3.3.1 JenK NVIDIA Linux 0 06-03-12 08:24 AM
Age of Empires Online interview: Tech trees and civ customization News Archived News Items 0 05-21-12 06:00 PM
Age of Empires Online: Premium Celtic Civilization review News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 06:00 PM
Random loot packs are the best-selling item in free-to-play City of Heroes News Archived News Items 0 05-06-12 12:00 PM
Crashes now? Imperito NVIDIA Linux 4 10-10-02 12:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.