Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-05, 09:24 AM   #1
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default High resolution games 2560x1600

It was suggested that I post this thread here since it has a lot more gaming information.

It has been a bit of a struggle running many games and specialized apps at 2560x1600 on an LCD. Obviously first make sure that the LCD can support that as a native true resolution. One of the concerns is the question of could SLI even work well at that setting?

Two 7800 gtx's can indeed SLI 2560x1600, but many games and some apps cannot take advantage of it. For example, I can run Quake 3 at that resolution, but not Doom3. Doom 3 will not hunt above 1600x1200.

Far cry 64 is flawless at that resolution and so is Painkiller (all eye candy); the menu choices include the higher resolution choices. Half Life 2 and Counter Strike will cap at 1600x900 or 1600x1200.

Unreal 2004 64 bit (download the 9Mb patch from AMD) runs great and uses 2560x1600 quite well.

Chronicles of Riddick (64) made use of the higher resolution but required manually typing it into the config file

Many of the nvidia demos do work at 2560x1200 but you have to manually change the ARGS text file in the Bin directory to get them to take advantage of the high rez. Dawn, dusk, and Luna look smashing with the Nude adjustments. (Candy)

Other games just die such as Uru, no great loss here.

With SLI, monster cards, and awesome monitors, I would hope that the cards drivers and games can take advantage of the higher resolutions.

If you are wondering how well the SLI 7800gtx set up performs at 2560x1600, then here is an example.

Painkiller 2560x1600 , all eye candy on using 64bit 81.40

benchmark C5L1 198 FPS
benchmark C5L2 149 FPS


You can always run tha apps and games windowed on an Apple 30" Cinema and this requires no changes, its just not full screen. Then everything looks good with a lot of desktop showing.

Regardless: very impressed with the SLI 7800 gtx set up. My hat is off to Nvidia for awesome hardware.


By the way, if anyone knows how to get doom 3 to play at 2560x1200 it would be most appreciated. I am concerned that Quake 4 might not work at that resolution either and the fix might work for both since they are based on the same engine.
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 09:41 AM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

Why did you think it was necessary to make two identical posts in different parts of the forum?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 09:48 AM   #3
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

Man, you're in a totally different UNIVERSE with that hardware. I couldn't begin to help you out. But if you find any workarounds, let us know. And post some screenshots!
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 10:56 AM   #4
karkrash81
Do you like dags?
 
karkrash81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 742
Send a message via AIM to karkrash81
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

How's the response time on that massive screen?

Care to post a couple of UT2004 benchmarks?

Did you try editing the cfg file for Doom 3?

I think these are the things you need to change in the config file to get custom resolutions and aspect ration going...might want to double check by doing a google search first ...

seta rmode "-1"
seta aspectRatio "3"
seta rcustomheight "1600"
seta rcustomwidth "2560"
__________________
My System: Athlon 64 x2 3800+ overclocked to 4600+/2 GB Geil PC3200/8800 GTS 320 mb/Asus A8N SLI Premium motherboard/Logitech z-680's/Total of 760 GB of Hard Drive Space (2x300 + 1x160)/audigy 2/Two 20.1" Widescreen LCD's (Dell 2005fpw)
Favorite movie: Snatch/Favorite Game: NOLF/Song of the Week: "You Know I'm No Good" by Amy Winehouse/
What I'm Playing this Week: Nothing!
karkrash81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 07:09 PM   #5
Assassin
Registered User
 
Assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: U.S.
Posts: 84
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

Isn't it 2560x1600? I'm pretty sure it's 2560x1600, not 2560x1200...

EDIT: NVM, it's only your title.
Assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-05, 07:30 PM   #6
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

Yeah, you should be able to play Doom 3 above 1600x1200 if you edit the config file:

seta r_customWidth "2048"
seta r_customHeight "1536"
seta r_mode "-1"

is what I use to run it at 2048x1536.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-05, 12:26 AM   #7
karkrash81
Do you like dags?
 
karkrash81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 742
Send a message via AIM to karkrash81
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

oops i forgot the dang underscores in my post...hope he didn't try it without em...haha
__________________
My System: Athlon 64 x2 3800+ overclocked to 4600+/2 GB Geil PC3200/8800 GTS 320 mb/Asus A8N SLI Premium motherboard/Logitech z-680's/Total of 760 GB of Hard Drive Space (2x300 + 1x160)/audigy 2/Two 20.1" Widescreen LCD's (Dell 2005fpw)
Favorite movie: Snatch/Favorite Game: NOLF/Song of the Week: "You Know I'm No Good" by Amy Winehouse/
What I'm Playing this Week: Nothing!
karkrash81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-05, 01:58 PM   #8
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1200

You are correct, I meant to type 2560x1600 in the title,
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-05, 11:05 PM   #9
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1600

Well, I tried all the custom resolution options, but do not go higher than 1600
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 10:34 AM   #10
karkrash81
Do you like dags?
 
karkrash81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 742
Send a message via AIM to karkrash81
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1600

For Doom3? That's weird. I play doom3 at custom res of 1680x1050 with no problems. Have you tried the Widescreen Gaming Forum?

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/
__________________
My System: Athlon 64 x2 3800+ overclocked to 4600+/2 GB Geil PC3200/8800 GTS 320 mb/Asus A8N SLI Premium motherboard/Logitech z-680's/Total of 760 GB of Hard Drive Space (2x300 + 1x160)/audigy 2/Two 20.1" Widescreen LCD's (Dell 2005fpw)
Favorite movie: Snatch/Favorite Game: NOLF/Song of the Week: "You Know I'm No Good" by Amy Winehouse/
What I'm Playing this Week: Nothing!
karkrash81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 11:30 AM   #11
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1600

Yes, tried every trick I know. The custom resulutions seem to work up to a point, but it will not do, for me at least, 2560x1600. It will do lesser cusom resolutions. Also, I have a correction. You can get the Source engine to do 2560x1600 if you change the toggle in the in-game manu to a 16:10 aspect ratio instead of 16:9. Weird.
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-05, 11:50 AM   #12
lumpyhed
Are you ready?
 
lumpyhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 371
Default Re: High resolution games 2560x1600

Go try that with FEAR
__________________
BFG GTX260-OC 896MB in PII-940 @ 3.6, M3A32-MVP Deluxe, Seasonic S80 650w, 4GB DDR2 800mhz ram, lossa storage.
Samsung 3D Monitor & Acer 3D projector
MSI Wind netbook
lumpyhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 - openGL games can't run in resolution different than desktop's one MajkiFajki NVIDIA Linux 6 06-25-12 05:23 AM
High resolution versus antialiasing JemyM NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 43 10-06-02 04:28 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.