Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-05, 09:54 PM   #13
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

If you run some form of virtual CD program, then Quake4 will problem running. It says so in the readme file! It was acting funny with daemon tools loaded. So I unloaded Daemon tools and Quake4 started playing nice.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-05, 10:44 PM   #14
skoprowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Canton, OH USA
Posts: 495
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

Update!!! Installing the new beta drivers for my Audigy 4 solved the problem. They are the beta OpenAL drivers dated Sept 21 on Creative's site.

Off to play Quake
__________________
AMD 6000+ X2
Gigabyte 570-SLI
4096 DDR2
eVGA 8800GTX
BFG Ageia PPU 128 pci
Audigy X-fi Audio pci express
Coolermaster 850w
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit
Windows XP Pro 64bit
skoprowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-05, 11:21 PM   #15
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by skoprowski
Update!!! Installing the new beta drivers for my Audigy 4 solved the problem. They are the beta OpenAL drivers dated Sept 21 on Creative's site.

Off to play Quake
Thanks for the info! gonna download'em just in case. i have a 2ZS.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 12:00 AM   #16
NWCook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 32
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

OK finally got it to work. Reading how skoprowski got it up and running by installing new sound card drivers I remembered how I bought a cheap refurbished Audigy 2 a few months ago. Unfortunately I was getting an annoying popping sound with the card so I took it out and went back to on-board sound. On a whim I decided to pull the card out of storage and try it again. It works. So on my rig at least it looks like an issue with the on-board sound. Hopefully I can figure out a way to get rid of this popping sound.
NWCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 05:38 AM   #17
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

I have a fresh XP instalation.....I have installed Q4 the way it was ment to be (no virtual CD etc.) all the drivers were installed clean and are as up to date as I could get.
I didn't wake up with any good ideas on what could be wrong
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 07:57 AM   #18
Stakes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

I had the same problem until I disabled my SB Extigy, just ordered a new sound card. My friend has had the problem of Q4 asking for cd1 and not responding to it. She tried a friends install and still the same thing,she has a dvd-rom and a cd-rom and both keep asking for cd1. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 08:27 AM   #19
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stakes
I had the same problem until I disabled my SB Extigy, just ordered a new sound card. My friend has had the problem of Q4 asking for cd1 and not responding to it. She tried a friends install and still the same thing,she has a dvd-rom and a cd-rom and both keep asking for cd1. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Does she have virtual drive emulation software running like Alcohol 120 or Daemon Tools? Other than that I don't have a clue. That really sucks, I don't have any problems here and I'm running D-Tools in the background all the time.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 10:12 AM   #20
Stakes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

She had Alcohol 120 installed but uninstalled it and it still askd for cd1.
Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-05, 11:16 AM   #21
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stakes
She had Alcohol 120 installed but uninstalled it and it still askd for cd1.
You might have reinstall the game...

I'm going to try a radical fix for my own troubles.....going to Intel
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 11:22 AM   #22
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

Wow sounds like this game has a few problems then. Bummer.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 12:10 PM   #23
alucard_x
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 210
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

i'm willing to bet money that you guys have the dvd version. i was on #quake4 yesterday and there was 3-4 people that were having the same issue where it drops back to desktop and they had the dvd version and it kept asking to have the dvd in the drive.

from what i read, this was an issue with doom3 as well and was on activisions support site, and it had something to do with the copy protection and winxp sp2.

i'm not sure of a fix, and i made sure to get the cd version.

for the person above where it keeps saying insert CD1, you have to reboot your computer after you install Q4. i had the same issue, and the game doesn't make you reboot for some reason. again.. i think its this copy protection bull****
alucard_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-05, 12:26 PM   #24
extreme4377
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 360
Default Re: Some trouble with Q4

You guys go through so much just to get a game running. Why not leave your clocks at stock? O/C'ing is sick and lets you take advantage of you investment but seriously, it gives you more problems then it solves. Anyways, good luck!
extreme4377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POSSIBLE AGP TROUBLE (mandrake 9.0) chrono86 NVIDIA Linux 4 10-12-02 12:09 PM
Trouble with SuSE80 & NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.tar.gz mosquis NVIDIA Linux 6 10-08-02 07:20 PM
NVidia Trouble ixion NVIDIA Linux 4 09-27-02 08:08 AM
Gentoo and agp trouble john36 NVIDIA Linux 2 09-12-02 10:36 PM
trouble enabling 3d mukluk123 NVIDIA Linux 3 08-12-02 01:52 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.